We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We come to Orlando every September and for the past couple of years we have taken a few days away from our hectic time there to spend a few days on the coast. We love this hotel! We have been lucky enough to get a Groupon but to be honest I would gladly pay full price.

Whilst it I would not class this as a luxury hotel it doesn't matter. It's clean and comfortable with a good little kitchenette area, cable tv and free wifi!! I quite like that the maid service was unobtrusive and you just exchange things in the basket if you need them.

Best of all it has the views.

I could sit for hours on the balcony just staring out at the ocean and people passing by which are few and far between on a late September weekday!! We have seen dolphins both times we've visited. Even watching the storms come in the afternoon is enjoyable!

The beach is gorgeous, it is so clean and fairly quiet when we've been. Never had a noise issue from other rooms and reception staff very helpful. It's also only a few mins walk from Johns Pass which is great for eating out too!! It's nice to actually be able to walk somewhere after spending time in Orlando.

If I had to make any criticisms it would be the air con is a bit noisy and very cold if you're on the put up bed - but I soon got used to the noise. The only other thing is I'm not used to staying on a property that is unmanned overnight. Not that it has been an issue so far.

Love this place and will always be my first choice when visiting this area!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank ClaireDut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Barefoot Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 728 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

After flying the beach from Clearwater to Sarasota, I knew I had to spend one night on the beach. Booked a room for the next night to watch the sun set over the gulf, unfortunately things went south, my room wasn't ready, and mother nature decided to blow in a storm and heavy fog. However Aaron the manager made things better when he upgraded me to a much nicer room. Thanks again for making the most out the situation, also I found Heath to be very helpful and informative, I plan on staying longer when I return next winter, Mark.

Room Tip: Had top room on south east corner, very nice, comfortable, quiet, great view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I realize that I am pampered, but when I stay at a hotel for more than one night, I expect for the room to be "freshened", that is, clean towels, empty the waste basket, make the bed, wash the glasses,etc. You know, standard stuff that EVERY HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN FOR MORE THAN ONE NIGHT DOES! Except this one. They will give you replacement towels, just put your used ones in a basket outside the door. Okay, I can handle that one, but to not even enter the room at all for neatening and to say it is for the "privacy of their guests", is ridiculous. When we found clothes from a previous guest still in the chest they couldn't even send someone to pick them up, asked us to bring them down. Their idea of guest service is to save money at all costs for the hotel. The rest of the hotel was okay, a little pricey, except for the groupon that we had. We will go back to Marriott properties if we ever visit Madiera Beach again.

Room Tip: ASk for a gulf front, not a gulf view or pool view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I would like to first say that I am very sorry that you did not receive daily housekeeping as you were expecting. However we are a smaller property unlike a Hilton or Marriott. The majority of our guests appreciate the privacy and intimacy of our property and no one disturbing them during their stay. This is why we offer our guests exchange on all linens, towels and amenities such as coffee, tea, and paper goods daily. Please keep us in mind for future relaxing stays when you aren't at the Marriott. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great value and even got a special rate. Not a 5 star but comfortable, clean, and quiet. Right on the beach. Parking under the building. Outside wall all glass, with curtains and door open I enjoyed several good afternoon naps. Always something to just sit on the sofa and watch, dolphins playing, pelicans, sailboats, most wonderful sunsets I have ever seen. Queen bed a little hard but new mattress, sleeper sofa, with ottoman, small fridge and microwave mounted under cabinets. Dishes, flatware, cups, and glasses for 4 efficiency with toaster, coffee maker. New flat TV, Wall thermostat controlled heat and air. Ceiling fan!!! Cold slate floor, but clean and probably a good idea for the beach, but a little slippery at times. Fast elevator and SUPER FAST wifi.....new receivers in each room and always great connection.

Room Tip: Beach front!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catsown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful.Room was comfortable with a great view of the gulf. Close to John Pass boardwalk, dolphin sightings each day from the beach, heated pool, free parking under the building. We will return!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank raha39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is really nice. It is better than the new can expect for the price. Is close to on the shops and restaurants and bars. This is a well-kept place. The rooms have glass of wine glasses and immaculate rooms and did I mention the view? We are right on the water listening to the sound of the sea is a speak right now! There might be a better place here somewhere but I don't know if you can beat this at this price.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bobnanneontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I recently traveled from Georgia to Florida for Thanksgiving with family locally. My parents had chosen this hotel for me to spend the two nights. Check-in was a breeze and the hotel staff was very accommodating! They provided several recommendations for restaurants nearby and even provided coupons for use. The hotel is a 4 story building with the ground floor being the parking lot (It is a little tight and cramped, but manageable - Beware the low clearance). I stayed on the 3rd floor in an ocean view studio. It was AMAZING. The room was clean and well kept and the balcony overlooking the beach and ocean was incredible. There is a very large balcony door that can be opened wide to provide the customer with fresh air from the bay. When they say the beach is accessible, it really is! Just a couple steps from the parking lot and you are on the beach!!

One unique feature of this hotel is that housekeeping does not step foot inside your hotel room during your stay (unless you request it). Instead, you place your towels in a basket and can request housekeeping to provide you with fresh towels and other amenities (soap and shampoo). The soap and shampoo provided were Eco friendly and had a faint hint of lemon smell. The hotel provides special beach towels which are larger and meant to be used on the beach. The beach towels are generous in size and well worth asking for. (As a side note, the towels usually found in a hotel room are rather small, so it was a pleasant experience to have larger towels to utilize.) The information folder provided in every room had loads of information relating to the nearby area. The weather was balmy and gorgeous and I was able to leave my balcony door open all night to hear the waves crashing on the shore. Overall my stay was extremely pleasant and I would stay here again.

***Just a side note to the manager - I mentioned on check out for them to check the batteries in the remote control (room 312) - they looked as though they were leaking and could do with a change.****

Room Tip: Definitely invest in an ocean front room!!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbnh31782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
663 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2633
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range: $144 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing