We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beach!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed here 5/29-6/2 after having to cancel our trip to Key West at the last minute. The room was a nice size with a very convenient kitchenette and the view of the gulf was perfect. We did have a huge cockroach greet us one morning in the bathroom but I know that kind of comes with the territory in Florida. The room was extremely clean and is right on the beach. The walk to Johns Pass is short but its not close to much else. We didn't have a car so on the third day we decided to try out the Trolley that runs up and down the coast. What a fun little adventure! My only complaint is that the a/c is a wall type unit and the couch sits right next to it so the air will blow directly on you so it's freezing when you're trying to watch TV unless you're wrapped up in a blanket.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    199
    47
    22
    20
See reviews for
240
343
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location, a very short walk to Johns pass.. But try not to use too many towels or ask for clean sheets they will charge you extra on your bill. The front office closes at 6, so if need any assistance with anything good luck. You would be better off looking for a real hotel on the beach..

Room Tip: Find a real hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dez J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. I would like to start off by saying that we provide towels and linens daily for all guests. We do not charge extra for these towels or sheets. The only reason this guest was charged was because they put Blood soaked/stained towels in the basket for exchange. The damaged linens consisted of 1 king fitted sheet,1 pillowcase,1 mattress cover,2 bath towels,1 hand towel. Pictures were taken of the damaged linens the day they were placed in the basket for exchange We are unaware of the circumstances that led to the blood soaked/stained linens but our registration makes all guests aware that they are liable for all and any damaged towels.
Thank you for giving us this opportunity to inform our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Renovated hotel that is right on the sugar sand beach. They have done a very nice job updating the rooms. Ours was beach front which was terrific. Easy walk to John's Pass to eat and shop. They were nice enough to let us extend our check out time without any issues. Would definitely return. Something that could be improved upon would be the quality of the bed pillows. Also, internet connection was spotty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sterling5231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We happened upon Barefoot Beach Hotel recently and had a fantastic visit (4 nights). It was instantaneously soothing to have the beach right there with the gulf breeze and sounds that we enjoyed on the balcony and inside the room! I was hugely impressed by Heath, Aaron, and Cindy in terms of customer service (and finding great customer service can be surprising these days!) I also loved that a basket is left outside the room to exchange towels and supplies daily so we didn't have to straighten up for the housekeeper to come in. It pained us to leave... I definitely want to come back for a romantic vacation soon.

Room Tip: Yes, the beachfront rooms cost more but the benefits are priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HTC245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is not a hotel unless you never been in a hotel!This is a upgrade motel .I had to take some pictures and call the staff on call to show it the torn mattress,dirt and trash around the bed ,cock roach and leaving dirty towel in the same basket to be replace with clean one in addition with coffee paper towel and etc.I strongly believe this is not a HOTEL and wondering who gave these positive feedback ?.I did not have a good experience at this place and now I know why misleading the public about there is only two room available.DO NOT BELIEVE IT LOTS OF ROOM EMPTY.All together for over $600.00 FOR X3 NIGHTS YOU HAVE MUCH BETTER OPTION.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 495unhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I'd like to start off by apologizing for a less than satisfactory stay with us. The office made me aware immediately that you found a "Palmetto Bug" in your room and the claim about the mattress having a small tear in it. There was conversation with my staff of a picture that you were going to provide to us. However we never received said picture. It also looks like you booked through an online website that we list our rooms with. The allotment of rooms they were assigned had only a 2 Beach Front Studio Suites available at the time of your reservation. You checked in on a Friday and out on a Monday. On Friday night we only had 2 Pool Side rooms open and no Beach Fronts available. On Saturday night we sold out and had no rooms available. Sunday we had more rooms available because Sundays are a big departure day. But even on Sunday we still only had 12 rooms available out of 43 total rooms. If you would have requested on Friday that you would like to move rooms we could have moved you. At check out there was nothing further mentioned about these issues you have brought up in your review.

I'm sorry to say this but I feel that the guest was unhappy about something other than the Barefoot Beach Hotel and is taking it out on our establishment. I personally spoke to the husband that returned to retrieve a bag that his son left behind and asked him "Did you enjoy your stay?" and he replied "Yes". He never mentioned any dissatisfaction to me. I even had my name badge on identifying myself as the Property Manager. Sometimes what we have to offer just isn't enough to bring a smile to the saddest persons face. Thank you for your review and we wish you well in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed on the gulf side of Florida on numerous occasions. Basically all the accommodation is comparable. What I look for is cleanliness and view (will spend most of the time outside anyway). The pool was on the smallish side. All in all, a good-great place, with friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PippiLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have stayed at Barefoot Beach twice. Being Florida natives that have moved out of state we know this area very well! We have a large family and Barefoot accommodates well. My husband grills out by the pool and we had friends and family come visit us while here......the staff goes above and beyond. When our youngest son locked the key in the room after the Office had closed on a Holiday weekend the nice lady in the office came from home to let us back in. Thanks for the great stay and we look forward to seeing you again next year!!
-Nothing but Love from SC

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The1andOnlyFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Property: Barefoot Beach Hotel
Address: 13238 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2633
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing