We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice get away that we will do again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

For years we have visited the west coast and always stayed in this general area. We have stayed at several hotels, of which we have rated on TripAdvisor. We chose to stay at Madeira's Barefoot Beach Resort off a recommendation from a friend. We are glad we listened. There are other nice places to stay in this area but we were very pleased with this hotel. Plenty of parking, very nice staff, great location (you can walk to just about everything from here), clean rooms, clean pool, great beach, and balconies everywhere :) This would be a good place to stay for couples just getting away or for families of all ages. My only thought is it would be nice if the rates were a little more friendly. We will return to Barefoot Beach Resort to enjoy more time in Madeira Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice. You either paid for a pool view or a beach view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Barefoot Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 730 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at the Barefoot Beach Hotel July 27 - 29, 2012. We were in a 2-bedroom suite on the end, on the third floor, facing the Gulf. It was really nice! The whole suite was smaller than we expected, but the view out the balcony and the windows was breathtaking. It was clean, modern, comfortable, and the whole family enjoyed it.
The main bedroom has a comfortable king-sized bed and it's own air conditioner, which was a life saver since my husband is a polar bear and the kids are not. The only downside was that one of the bedroom windows faced east with just plantation shutters, so sleeping in wasn't really an option. But who wants to sleep in on a beautiful beach like that?
The second bedroom was rather oddly proportioned. It had an arched opening with curtains instead of a door, and the queen bed filled up most of the door - you had to squeeze past it to get to either side of the bed. One side had two closets, the other had a window looking out onto the beach. We had a roll-away bed for one of our sons and had to squeeze it in next to the closets, rendering them useless, but he was very happy with the arrangement. I soon realized that the door had curtains because the room had no a/c unit, and with the west-facing and south-facing windows it could be unbearably hot in there.
The balcony was tiny - just deep enough for two small chairs and a smaller table - but it was fine for hanging out towels, watching the waves, or yelling at your hubby to come in. The living room had a full-sized pull-out bed in the couch which, according to my nieces, was quite comfortable. We did not try out the game console or DVD. The flat-screen TVs were nice, but we hardly turned them on. Who needs to, with the beach right outside?
The kitchenette had new appliances and was clean and well-equipped. The bathroom was just as nice, only one complaint - the fan was useless, and we started showering with the door open just to let out the steam. The walls and floor appear to be poured concrete - the unit next to us had a party, and we didn't hear a thing.
The resort pool and pool deck was clean, well maintained and nice. They also had gas grills for guests to use, and they were nice as well. Parking was a little challenging with a minivan, as the whole bottom floor of the hotel was parking and the concrete posts made maneuvering an adventure, but it was worth it to have a nice cool car.
The front desk staff were very nice and very accommodating. They made sure we had everything we needed, including an extra half-dozen towels.
The hotel is about 2.5 blocks from John's Pass, which is full of touristy shops, restaurants, attractions, and is a departure point for sightseeing boat trips. It is also the longest, hottest 2.5 blocks I have ever walked in my life. If we didn't have to pay $10 to park at John's Pass, I would have driven in a heartbeat.
If you like enormous tasty breakfasts, we enjoyed The Frog Pond (on St. Pete Beach and also on North Reddington Beach). The rest of the meals we cooked ourselves and ate at the beach picnic-style or in our dining room. The nearest proper grocery store is less than 10 minutes away.
We would go back in a heartbeat! This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There is really no bad room that I can tell. The walls, floors and ceilings seem to be poured concre...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmstrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The reviews on tripadvisor helped my decision to book this hotel with NO regrets! The rooms were VERY clean and had everything we needed plus more. The hotel offers beach chairs, toys and umbrellas for guests at no charge. The front office staff was always professional and very accomodating. The beach and pool were never crowded. We had a nice, quiet stay and didn't have to worry about loud music or partying. The rooms are no-smoking so guests go out on their balcony, which meant we could not always enjoy our beach front view (we were on the top floor), but other than that we will definitely come back and recommend to others:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Originally booked for 3 night stay, we extended our stay to 5 nights and would have stayed longer only they were booked out for the July 4th holiday. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. Our room over looked the pool but we could also see some of the beach. I would imagine the beach front rooms have spectacular views. Great location. Lovely staff. Will definately return and book a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baker1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The location is great-right on the beach with a balcony and walking distance to John's Pass-restaurants, shops and Jet Ski, parasailing... The white sand beach is beautiful and it was not crowded. The hotel pool is nice and does not close and was never crowded. The suite was clean, updated and necessities provided. We liked the way the rooms towels and sundries were restocked daily with a basket system. We had an issue with our refrigerator making a loud noise and it was attended to promptly. The price is a deal for the beachfront suite which accommodated our family of 6. The furniture is getting towards the end of it's life and should be updated was our only criticism. We had room #414 top floor balcony facing the beach 2 bedroom w/king, full and double sleeper sofa. Hint on the restaurants-better ones are over the bridge south and the best are in Pass-A-Grille about 7 miles south-Sea Critters and The Seahorse for breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floor (4th) facing the beach would be our pick. #414 is top floor corner and the views are great...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It was a pleasure staying at Barefoot Beach Resort. The room was really nice, it was quiet and right on the beach. The location is perfect, just a short walk from John's Pass. My son loved the pool, which was right below our balcony.

What made it such a wonderful experience, however, were the folks who operate the resort. We had some issues with our room when we first checked in...and they could not have been more accommodating. They always had a moment to answer a question or give advice on the area. I spent some time asking about local restaurants...and, not only were they knowledgeable, they have great taste! (We have never had so many outstanding dining experiences on vacation.)

This resort is a great value for a terrific room and outstanding people. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Socks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just returned from a weekend at Barefoot Beach Resort. After reading reviews that seemed to be mixed, I found this place to be really good. The rooms were small, but how long are you in the room.I read where some didn't like the mattress on the bed. I'm a light sleeper and had no problems at all with sleeping.I had a Gulf front view and a fantastic view it is. You walk off the elevator and about 100 feet is sand and then look out and the water is crystal clear. The chair rental is expensive, could be about $20 cheaper, so if your driving, bring your own beach chairs,
In making the reservation, I spoke with Aaron on the phone and he couldn't have been anymore helpful than what he did. Once I checked in, I met with Cindy (at the desk) and she filled me in about the area and things to see and do. Everyone was really nice and pleasant.
We ate dinner in a nice restaurant (Lisa's Cafe) which is almost across the street from the hotel. Johns Pass has different places, but we didn't want bar food and the pizza place was packed, inside and people waiting outside. The office has a restaurant book, you can pick one up and drive in either direction for endless possibilities.
Yes, I would and will stay here again. For me it was a 2 hour drive from Ft. Myers, and this beach is one of the nicest. Again, thanks for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
3.6 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
664 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2633
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range: $139 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing