We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Keys, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here during the John Levique Pirate Days festival. The hotel is vintage Florida. Our room was clean and comfortable. The 4 story hotel has gulf front rooms that look out upon a wide expanse of sugar sand beach. It is a very short walk to John's Pass Village. No reason to get in the car, even in full pirate garb!
The rooms are more like an efficiency apartment with kitchenette; full size fridge, microwave, coffeemaker (with coffee) toaster, small sink and counter top, cupboard space, enough dishes, glasses, cups, flatware, utensils to throw a meal together. They also have gas grills to use. There are both Winn Dixie and Publix a short drive away.
It was Mother's Day weekend when we checked in. I was presented a rose in a ribboned bud vase.
Beach towels are available upon request at the office.
As this is like an efficiency apartment, daily housekeeping is not provided for privacy. However, they supply a basket and a check list to set outside your door for any items, towels, etc that you need replenished. Your trash bag is picked up outside your door.
One review mentioned tracking in sand... there is a broom in the closet!
If you are looking for a clean, quiet room on the beach, this is for you. Restaurants and nightlife are only a couple blocks away. By not having restaurants and bars on the premises, there is little traffic going in and out - again quiet, but close enough to the action.
Parking is free and spaces are available ground level under the building, out of the sun.
If traveling to Madeira Beach again, this will be my first choice!

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms are worth the extra $20 per night! Waking up and having coffee on the balcony while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWJuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    199
    47
    22
    20
See reviews for
240
343
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great location on the beach, very short walk to John's Pass for dining/shopping/entertainment on the weekend. Excellent customer service, Cindy was extremely helpful! I like being able to have necessities replenished if I needed them, but no one entered my room when I wasn't there. The property was very clean and well-maintained. I was very comfortable there traveling alone. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rp512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

On our road trip thru Florida, we stayed at loads of hotels and this hotel did shine and stayed in our memory, cause of the cool and young staff that seamed they liked the job, instead of the old and cranky lady just 100 meters down the road.

The room where just in front of the beach, and they had some beach stuff left from old guest that they save so you can borrow it.

The sunset is just brilliant and the close walking distance to the restaurants make it worth to try.

The staff did a good job in helping on what to see thank you Aaron the old pier on the other side of the peninsula where grate

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iskagemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! I remember helping you and your companion. You were wonderful guests! Glad you enjoyed your stay and had fun at the Pier Downtown St. Pete. We all love being here and love this property very much. We are here to help in any way possible. Hope to see your smiling faces in the future! Thank you for your business and contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom gulf front suite. When we arrived a few items we asked for the room were quickly delivered to us. The staff are great, especially Rob, who is on hand if any problems arise. Would recommend a gulf front room if you can afford it. The views are fantastic from early morning to late evening. The hotel is in a great location and ideal place to chill out and relax. We cannot wait to go back and we haven't even left yet.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I have let Rob know about his great work! He really enjoyed having you and your family here with us. We all look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your Friends at the Barefoot Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nites after a long search for a place where smokers are not shunned. We understand the no smoking policies in the room but all most all of the properties are totally non smoking outside anywhere on the property. This place allows smokers to smoke outside on the balconies (with the sliding door shut) and even provides ashtrays on the balconies and around the pool area. I found it nice to have the ashtrays provided to discourage littering of butts around the ground and it seems to work for them as I saw nothing strewn on the ground around the resort. The beach is steps away with an easy access and there is also a beach chair and umbrella rental. It was a very short distance to go back and forth from the beach to the pool to the room without much hassle. We will definately go back to this place which is also 2 blocks from John's Pass and many great resturants.

Room Tip: ask for the beachfront room. other balconies face the pool with no beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie4462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hands-down, the best thing about this hotel is its location RIGHT on the water. We were traveling with an 8-month-old, so it was lovely to pop down to the beach for short periods, and to look out over the water while we waited inside the room for his naps to finish. Definitely worth springing for the beach-front room. The room itself is nice and pleasant, but not fancy by any means. Very standard hotel bathroom. They were accommodating in proving us with a crib or pack n play, but it was an extra charge of around $8/day. We go to bed fairly early and get up early thanks to our baby, but we never got woken up by noise - we found the other guests to be pleasant and courteous. Best of all, the beach was absolutely beautiful and uncrowded. There are a few beach chairs and toys left by other guests for use, but you have to rent the big umbrella'd deck chairs that you see in some photos - $25/day (or $5/hr) - a bit pricey, but a wonderful luxury. My only complaints are thus: the rooms are not serviced during your stay. With all the sand that you inevitably track in (no matter how careful you are) it would have been nice to have an every-other or every-third day visit from housekeeping. But in full disclosure - we didn't ask if it was possible, either. The other complaint is that our bed was quite uncomfortable. It looked as though they had taken a pillowtop mattress and turned it upside down - the result was a firm bed to the point of making my back sore in the morning! A small update here would go a long way. Overall, however, it was a very good experience.

Room Tip: While the balconies are tiny, the beach-front room is still worth the extra cost, especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0rthcoastgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have made notes of items that were to your dissatisfaction and are looking into adjusting them We do offer crib and pack n play rentals to guests for the same price as a local vendor we used in the past. However we have found it is more convenient to have them in house for guest rental than to have them delivered to the property. We do offer daily towel exchange each day for guests to have clean towels. A broom and dust pan have been provided to all guest rooms for the guests convenience and sand control. We do offer a mid week clean for guest staying 7 nights or longer. This midweek cleaning is scheduled upon request from the guest. We do hope you will visit us in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is set on beautiful Madeira Beach, within walking distance to John's Pass. Many of the hotels on Pinellas County beaches are very dated. This one has a renovation behind it. However the shower is quite small and the way they have it set up kind of felt like a crypt. We also returned our 2nd day to find a roach in the bathtub. The hotel does not offer daily maid service, but they do provide you with a basket if you need toilet paper or stuff like that. Perhaps if they did clean daily I would not of found the bug. They could also invest in some memory foam toppers for the beds. Our bed was very hard and I could feel a spring in my back. The walls are paper thin and we could hear the noise from the street as well as the baby crying in the next room, not to mention the person walking in the room above. The pool area was very nice and clean. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The TV's are on the small side, but we hardly spent any time in the room. Overall, we would stay there again because it is one of the better hotels on the beach. But I would book a beachfront room to cut down on some of the noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlaidScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We appreciate your business and time. The concerns you have are being addressed. We are sincerely sorry you felt the shower in your room was like a crypt. We do understand that the most recent solution for this, is the shower curtain rods that angle out and provide more range of motion. We are sourcing these curtain rods and hope to have them in the near future.

We are sorry you encountered one of our local bugs called the palmetto bug. They tend to come out during this rainy season of the year. I assure you and all other guests that we do not have "roaches" in our rooms or on the property. Our property is treated inside each unit once a month and then serviced outside the next month. We have our current pest control contract with American Pest Management in St Petersburg if you would like to verify with them.

As for the mattresses. It's a tough thing to satisfy everyone's definition of comfortable. Some guests like them firm and some like them super soft. We feel that with a semi firm mattress that most guests will enjoy them. We just replaced the mattress in the room you were in back in November 2011. It is a Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattress and is a very popular mattress.

We look forward to serving you in the future. Come back and try out the Beach Front Studio. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Property: Barefoot Beach Hotel
Address: 13238 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2633
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing