We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

The Brown Boxer Pub & Grille
Ranked #34 of 79 Restaurants in Madeira Beach
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Sat on the patio and there was a great atmosphere. That's the only enjoyable thing about our experience. We decided to take our order to go as someone in our group wasn't feeling well. We ordered a steak wrap which was small, bland and dry. 2 French dip with no au jus and a Chicken quesadilla, it was ok but they forgot to bring sour cream and salsa 3 times. I got it at the kitchen door,as we were leaving. When he brought the check the steak wrap was missing and we pointed it out. It hadn't been ordered and it took forever for them to make it. Very frustrating to get back to our hotel and not have everything as described on menu.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tropicaldayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    129
    85
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow...this place is great and it allows you to bring your dog. They also have these rubean springrolls which are out of this world. They were so good i had 2 orders, my husband says they have the best wings he has ever had and he knows his wings.LOL
You must try this place if you go to madeira beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaylynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had fish n chips. Too much breading and VERY greasy. House salad was very good, and my husband thought the stone crab soup was wonderful. Service not great at all, but that's typical in sports bars. Not a great place, but good enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Took a chance to stop for lunch since we had our puppy with us. They have a great outdoor patio with airy outdoor bar. Live music on a Tuesday afternoon and wait staff was great. Must try the rueben egg rolls!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tnbk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food - bleh. Bar - nice. Key lime pie - awesome if you like it tart.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

A very nice sports bar. Lots of tvs. Indoor an outdoor areas. Food is hit or miss, low quality bar food. But the key lime pie is great. Given there are not tons of places to eat or drink in Madeira Beach, the Brown Boxer is a decent place to go. Just set your expectations to "nothing special bar food and good bar times" and you will have an ok experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Relax099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Boxer Pub & Grille also viewed

 
Madeira Beach, FL
 
 

Been to The Brown Boxer Pub & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing