We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shoreline Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Pro's:
Beach/water close to hotel
Above average Continental breakfast
Desk Staff very good (Mario?)
Pool and area clean, warm.
Apartments across street w/ kitchen is large and comfortable w/ full size stove and refrigerator.
King bed very comfortable. Good AC - bit noisy though.
TVs in living room & Bedroom

Con's:
Least expensive rooms (apartments) are across the street
(as noted on their site, but I didn't read/see before booking)
Internet does not reach across the street, so if a rainy day you're SOL.
Expect construction noise next to the pool during the day, at least for the next 1.5 years as they are building a new hotel addition; then the "Beachview" will disappear from these apartments across the street.
Housekeeping did not do a 'complete' cleaning job for the three days we were there
PRO: Desk staff was very embarrassed, apologetic and adjusted the final bill accordingly so we're good.

Summary: I would stay again, though probably beach side.

Room Tip: Noted above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keeb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return. We offer an additional 10% discount off of our daily rate for our returning guests who book with us directly.

As you mentioned our apartments across the street do not offer wifi. We are currently in the process of expanding our service to all areas of the resort (including the apartments) and increasing our signal strength so our wifi is more reliable and available in every room. This process is currently underway and should be complete in approximately 60 days.
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    142
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
88
422
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 days on the gulf. Yes, if you're into hearing the ocean non-stop and still enjoy adult only quiet surroundings, staying in a place that's almost walking distance, (at the worst 5 minute drives), from things to see and do, then this is the place. The people were nice, the facilities well maintained. I don't like the 10 story luxurious/sterile condo high rise feel. Shoreline has some age and character, but as stated earlier, it is well-maintained, clean and oh so close to the water. Really, no complaints at all, and I'm a pretty particular person who isn't always easy to please. They are doing some expanding, and our oceanfront king studio was near construction, but the sound of the waves was the only thing we heard. How could they improve? They offer lots of lounging chairs on the cement patio behind the complex walls. It'd be nice if they offered an option to take a chair out onto the beach. (Though that may be an agreement that isn't allowed because it infringes on the turf of the beach lounge chair nazi's that want to lease you a chair for a ridiculous price.) ??? I digressed some. Nutshell: this place is worth every penny if you want to be on the ocean, able to fix meals if you want, lounge on your own screened in balconey and enjoy a quiet relaxing time.

Room Tip: Just ask. These people are friendly and accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank careful_consumer_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your week at our resort. We are working to improve the property in any ways that we can without compromising its original character. Our new building will only offer 8 more rooms than we had originally with extra amenities for our guests' enjoyment.

Unfortunately, we do not provide chairs to be taken out to the beach, although we have had guests that have donated their chairs to our resort after they have left. We don’t have many, but the ones that we do have, we lend out to the guests that ask for them. Next time, please come to the front desk and if we have them, they’re yours for the day!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent three nights here over Thanksgiving and it was a comfortable spacious place to just relax. The check in staff was quite friendly and helpful. The view from our gulf front room was just lovely. The continental breakfast was adequate. The bed was comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found comfort within our resort. We look forward to seeing you as a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This property is ideal for adults. The staff is extremely helpful! They really do explain the room types and advise you on what floor location is available for the room you are seeking. We just returned from our fourth visit and will return again.

Yes the site is under construction but at the present time no actual construction is taking place. The construction will add a 4 floor high rise with a fitness/exercise center and observation deck. The buildings that did occupy this area have been removed and construction will begin in the near future.

Lynne and Harrison E

The location directly on the beach offers you gulf front rooms with a specular view of the gulf and the opportunity to relax and unwind in the large heated pool or the ocean itself.

We have stayed at many other hotels over the years. If you are looking for a hotel location that gives you a break from the under 21 crowd, you will not be disappointed if you stay at the Shoreline Island Resort.

Room Tip: the web site of this hotel provides a great description However, call the friendly staff for more d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are pleased to share that our construction has begun and is officially underway. They are currently in the process of laying the foundation and we are excited as we watch the progress being made. We are so happy to hear that you had another great visit to our resort. Our goal is to provide each guest with a consistent and pleasurable experience that you can depend on each time you come. Thank you for your great review. We look forward to when you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here. We come often to the PInellas Beaches. We've stayed in several places on the beaches. This one is one of our favorites. The pricing, the service, the beach all excellent. I believe that once they complete their new addition, this place will be even better. Very quite, all adults, no kids making racket. Very relaxing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you have found comfort within our resort. We are so excited for our new building and being able to offer even more amenities that our guests deserve. Thank you for being our valued guest. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I reserved a spacious queen room for 2 nights on the 4th floor. I specifically asked the receptionist if I could have a room as high as possible, and she said and I quote, "I can get you as high as the 4th floor." She said she sent me a confirmation e-mail, but I never received it. When I checked in, I noticed the room key said 236. The receptionist then told me, well, we can reserve the size of the room, not the location. That is NOT what she said to me over the phone when she was taking my credit card information. I had to pay up front for the first night, so I would have expected the room I reserved to be available to me. Instead, I got stuck on the BOTTOM floor. I tried to make the best of it, but found out quite quickly after the sun went down that the heater was broken. Normally not a big deal, but it was extremely cold that night, and ruined the mood for any sort of indoor activities, considering it was about 40 degrees inside the room.

Room Tip: There is a lot of remodeling being done around the property. It feels like your at a construction si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We have sent you a personal email about your previous visit and have not received a response. Hopefully we have your correct email address on file. If not, please contact us so we can discuss this in further detail.
We regret to hear that you had an unpleasant experience and we would appreciate the opportunity to make it right with you. If our guests make any specific requests such as room numbers, building preferences and/or room locations we advise that we do not make guarantees unless the reservation is made for 7 nights or more. With this being said, we always encourage requests as we will do everything we can to assign you in a room/location of your choice. Also, we require a deposit of one nights’ room and tax in advance for all guests in order to guarantee any reservation and this guarantees the room type only. I completely understand your frustration as you were led to believe that you would end up on the 4th floor.
We also apologize that you went without heat during the cold snap we had last week. It seems that it was not reported until the later afternoon of your second day with us. Please note that we have maintenance onsite and available at all times and after hours for emergencies. In the future, please contact us as soon as any maintenance issue arises so we may have the opportunity to correct it immediately without compromising your comfort.

We take pride in the Shoreline and strive to make every guest feel welcome and relaxed. If you have any questions you may contact Michael Marsh, General Manager at 727-397-6641.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Madeira Beach is not the "typical" touristy type beach area, no crowded streets and not a shopping mecca. It does however have fine restaurants and lodging, and beautiful, endless gulf beaches. Shoreline Island Resort is, in my opinion, a stand out in the area. To be honest it is a tad dated, by that I mean it has a friendly and helpful staff that treats you like family, a central sunny area with heated pool, shuffle board courts, built in brick grills, tons of tables and chairs and beach access with foot and full body heated showers. What it does not have is people under the age of 21 staying there. We booked a double queen studio that featured a full kitchen, dinning table for 6, 2 recliners, 2 dressers and of coarse 2 queen beds, full bath and a large flat screen TV with DVD player. The complete end of the room was a screened in balcony with table and chairs, a chase lounge and a clean ashtray (the room is "officially" non-smoking) all overlooking the beach and gulf. Everything in the room was up to date. We stayed for 4 nights and did not hear anything except the surf. Daily maid service was a nice touch.

My wife and I plan on making the Shoreline a "must do" on our vacation list. Many warm thanks to the entire staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are so happy that you felt like you were at home and that our staff treated you like family. We like to welcome each guest that discovers our resort to the Shoreline family and we hope that we can continue seeing you each year. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.7 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,726 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Island Resort

Property: Shoreline Island Resort
Address: 14200 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent white sand beaches engulf Shoreline Island Resort, located between Clearwater Beach and St. Petersburg Beach. This family owned resort has blended many of the comfortable conveniences with leisure and recreational amenities you expect from a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shoreline Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Island Resort Motel Madeira Beach Hotel Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Hotel Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing