We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, excellent price on the specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Angry Pepper

Angry Pepper
Ranked #27 of 79 Restaurants in Madeira Beach
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The idea at Angry Pepper is takin' some of the best American cuisine blended with Southern style flare and BBQ smoked with real hardwoods in our private smokehouse and adding a beautiful sunset as a backdrop. Throw in a full liquor bar and a huge selection of Craft and local beers...what more do ya' want? You can get to The Angry Pepper by LAND or SEA. Just pull up the Pontoon boat and get yer self some of the best food around. Ya just know good stuff is gonna happen when ya combine craft beers and delicious Southern fare!
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
269 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent price on the specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went with some friends on a Wednesday and had a good time. The food was tasty, the service was a bit spotty, but overall we had fun. Excellent selection of beer. We liked the atmosphere - - I would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WileyPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    53
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Key West Vibe in Mad Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The best seats here are at the bar on the South side of the building. They're actually outside seats while the other side of the bar is inside. You can sit there and enjoy some of the finest imported and small craft brews available along with some very spicy ("angry peppery") food that makes the beer taste even better. And most of the time you can play the cool trivia game with the locals and try to compete with thousands of other bars across North America. They have some very strong players here and the game's a lot of fun. They always welcome new players.

The food is terrific. I love the "Big As s Sausage" sandwich which will feed two; the buffalo shrimp, the smoked wings and the ribs. It's good. folks and if you ask for it "angry," you better have a high threshold for spicy pain! I have always found the service here to be very, very good, and the indoor/outdoor, casual laidback attitude is very inviting and comfortable.

Some other reviewer pointed out that this is a bar with food, not a restaurant. That's true: this ain't Chuck E Cheese, this is a beach bar of the first order. Come and kick back and have some cold ones here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shocked and Never treated this way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I were at Angry Pepper in Madeira Beach for taco Tuesday. We both ordered two tacos and an oriental chicken salad (which we had planned to share) When the food came, the chicken salad was very measley, the chicken pieces were few and far between with a couple of pieces of long tortilla strips thrown on the side over romaine lettuce. My husband looked at the salad and started to toss it and said that for $8.99 this salad was definitely not worth it and it and did not look appetizing at all so he told the waiter to take it back. My husband then ordered another taco instead. I had club soda and my husband had ice tea.
When the waiter brought the bill over to us he told us that the owner had told him he had to charge us for the salad even though we had sent it back. He said since everything that was described about it on the menu was exactly what we got, basically too bad so sad. He went on to say if every person sent back their food, they would not make any money!! Really?? I cannot believe that instead of keeping the customer happy and want them to come back, they push you away and tell you to pay for something that you did not want to eat. Also, he could have told us this when he first took the salad away. We sat there for over two hours and then tells us when he brings us the bill. My husband asked to speak to the owner but were told he had left. We asked to speak to the manager and the waiter told us he was the manager. Really?? They should be ashamed of theirselves. We will never go back there and they have lost a customer. When they brought us the check they could have said we are not refunding your money so do you want to at least keep the crappy salad, but that was not even offered. Well anyone that goes there, be sure you do not send your food back or tell them that anything was wrong with it because how can they make any money if everyone sends their food back. You don't send food back unless there is something wrong, but in this place, you are stuck with it no matter what. And we never send food back in restaurants if we can help it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville,Indiana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This out of the way place is nothing fancy but they had great food,pulled pork was great. Wish they had full bar(just beer and wine), it would have been much better. We will go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drstock55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best smoked wings!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is definitely a laid back bar atmosphere--nothing fancy here. But their food is always good and our favorite is the smoked wings. WOW. If you like chicken wings, these are tasty! Sweet potato fries are a nice side too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLHTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angry Pepper also viewed

 
Madeira Beach, FL
 

Been to Angry Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing