We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Commodore Beach Club
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We've been owners at the Commodore for five years and have acquire three units in that time. We are extremely satisifed with both the facility and the many fine folks with whom we share our vacations. If you're looking for high-end with all the trimmings, please go elsewhere. If you're looking for a quiet place to spend a great week at a great beach, this is it.

Room Tip: The Commodore is all timeshare but there are usually units for rent whenever you might like to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

If your looking for a high end Marriott, forget about it. This place is old school. There are no flat screen tv's, no granite counter tops, furniture and rooms are dated big time. I didn't know 12 inch tv's were still in existence, but they are here. Now, what this place has going for it is beautiful beaches, they are great, the staff is awesome. We were able to look past the old school appearance and enjoy the beach. When booking make sure if you want an ocean view ask for the high rise and start at the 3rd floor. Look it, would I return to this resort no, I don't mind old school but wanted a little more for the money.

go for the high rise they are the only ones with a true ocean view and they have balconies.

Room Tip: go for the high rise they are the only ones with a true ocean view and they have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Pros: The location is amazing. You just take the elevator, pass the small parking lot and the sand is right there. I live in Miami Beach and we cannot see the sunsets that we saw over there (since we are on the East side of Florida). Our unit (414) had a great balcony and we could see the most spectacular sunsets everyday. The sand is softer than in Miami Beach, but here the ocean is more blue. The kitchen was new and everything was clean. There are many restaurants close by - we strongly recommend Waltz Fish Shack. Their food is so fresh that we wait for the fishermen to bring the fish of the day! We also went to The Dali Museum at St Petersburg (just 30 minutes driving) and it was amazing! (but you need to like or at least know the artist). The pool was nice and there is also a jacuzzi. They both looked new.

Cons: besides the kitchen the rest of the unit was outdated. My main concern was the size of the apartment. Our unit was supposed to be for 6 people; luckly we were just 2 and it was great for us, but I think only 4 people could be there comfortably. There was only one bedroom with a king size bed (the bed and the pillows were really old - I'm glad that I brought our pillows after reading the reviews) and the remaining 4 people were supposed to sleep in the living room where an uncomfortable sofa bed and a portable bed that seemed single (we did not open it). Only one bathroom. The shower did not have much pressure. There is only one parking spot per unit and they tell you in advance by sending a letter with some details. It's good that the spots are numbered so you have your spot reserved all the time. It would have been great to have beach chairs. Since we drove from Miami, we brought ours, but I did not see any other guest using one on the beach. It is shame because the beach is incredible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Booked through rci website on their pictorial view of a one bedroom gulf view app.alas after booking received a confirmation letter from the resort stating that we were allocated a one bedroom poolside for four, and that these units were small. Upon arrival the apartment was clean but i was shocked at the lack of space { the size of a good hotel room split up to a one bedroom apartment, the door to the bathroom was in the lounge area, leading to privacy issues }, The unit was small and cramped for two people, let alone four
The resort also runs as a beach club , which means that owners can return at anytime even when not vacationing there bringing with them upto six guests each,they seem to do this more at the weekend, the sunday that we were there,the pool deck and pool were overcrowed by none residents that took over the outdoor area ,diving into pool without due care for others, and drinking from glass bottles which is prohibited, toddlers with no nappies, etc, i there were a lot more issues, but were do i stop, i informed staff the next day of this, because the staff absence on sunday afternoons led to this abuse, the staff took our remarks serious enough to put up a poster in the pool area addressing all issues, it is such a shame because the location is excellent and had i got a larger unit and minus the beach club problem this place would have been great.

Room Tip: insist on a gulf view one bedroom unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The location is absolutely amazing. The bed is uncomfortable and so is the pull out coach and fold up bed. The unit is outdated. I feel that there was enough space for four people. Walking distance to many places. The Commodore Beach Club is a great place to go on vacation in my opinion because after all, if you're visiting from another state and you're going to Florida, who really spends all of their time in the hotel you're going to stay at? It has many close places to eat, shop, and have fun! Oh yeah, I never had a problem with the staff either.

Room Tip: Get a room where theres parking under the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnathansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a week at this resort June 4-11, which was to celebrate our 35th anniversary. We had a 2 bedroom unit which had everything we needed. The location was absolutely perfect with many restaurants to choose from nearby. We just relaxed on the beautiful beach everyday and soaked up the sun. I thought the front desk staff to be helpful and very friendly. I would definitely recommend this resort, and my husband and I can't wait till we can return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlene157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My family and I were fortunate enough to stay twice in May at the Commodore. We found it clean, large enough, and our room had a fabulous view! The location is perfect within walking distance from many restaurants and activities. John's Pass is right down the street! I have to say Ellen was abosultely the best front desk assistant, helping us with everything including finding the Lightning game channel. She was so professional and pleasant and made our stay wonderful. We recommend CBC to everyone near and far wanting a long or short get away. We can't wait to return!!
Sherry and Bill F.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lutzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
716 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
1.6 mi away
South Beach Condo/Hotel
South Beach Condo/Hotel
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madeira Bay Resort
Madeira Bay Resort
#7 of 15 in Madeira Beach
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Condominiums
Sea Breeze Condominiums
#4 of 16 in Madeira Beach
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Beach Club

Property: Commodore Beach Club
Address: 13536 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2574
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commodore Beach Club is located on the white sands of Madeira Beach. Enjoy breathtaking sunsets, relax in the hot tub and sparkling heated swimming pool, or take a swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy the nightlife just a half mile south at John's Pass Village or any number of nearby shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Commodore Beach Club Hotel Madeira Beach
Commodore Beach Club Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing