We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Packed, What Does That Tell You?”
Review of Breakfast Nook

Breakfast Nook
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Lutz
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Breakfast Nook is a casual, quick paced breakfast and lunch place tucked in the corner of a cozy plaza. There is ample outdoor seating which is perfect for bringing along pets as well as indoor seating for those who don't care to brave the elements. The style is country and eclectic with warm servers and hearty food portions.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Packed, What Does That Tell You?”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very friendly staff and the service is quick considering the place is packed. My favorite is the banana French toast but all the items that I have tried have been good. The portions are ample and the prices are reasonable.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mustangs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    60
    31
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely slow!!!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My family and I go out for breakfast every Sunday trying different restaurants each time. We visited the Nook several months ago and were not impressed with the service nor the food but thought we'd give it another try. BIG mistake. The second time around was not any better. We waited for 40 minutes to be seated after we were told 10 -15 mintues and evertime we asked how much longer the less than desirable hostess just kept telling us 5 more minutes. By the way, the hostess really should look in the mirror before she comes to work! We ordered our food and then it took another 45 minutes to get our order. The food was cold and nothing was cooked as ordered. Home fries were tasteless! We noticed one man cancel is order because he had to get to work. He ordered french toast. Now how long does it take to make french toast. Another mother and her young son just left after waiting too long to even order. I realize Sundays are busy days for breakfast but like I said we do this every Sunday and go to just as busy places as the nook and never wait this long.

I filed out one the comment cards thinking the manager would respond but I have yet to hear from her. This was 3 weeks ago. I called the restaurant and inquired about the comment cards and the girl that answered said she thinks the manager looks at them but does not know how often or if she even responds to them. This place is a joke.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jmkcrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing Special, little pricey for average breakfast”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I figured I would give this place a try in an attempt to find a nice 'hole in the wall' restaurant. I wasn't impressed with the service nor food. This place was understaffed and the average food was definately overpriced, not overpriced by a lot but I know that at other breakfast places you can get more for the same price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The food was great. It took a while to get it, but it was worth he wait. The place could use a good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint. Our table was sticky and the ceiling was pretty dirty. We almost walked out. I am glad we did not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jjuday30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stuffed French Toast Anyone?”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I ordered the stuffed french toast since I'd never had it before but I was definitely NOT disappointed. There wasn't much "stuff" in or on the toast but it was the best, most sweetest, worth every sweet tooth screaming experience I'd ever had! I can't wait to order it again. I've never gone wrong ordering anything here.

I feel like the clientele is packed inside and the atmosphere is rushed with scurrying waitresses, but that's their job-feeding hungry people. It's up to you to sit and enjoy yourselves. Sometimes the wait is kind of long on the weekends so get there before the after church crowd on Sundays or buy a newspaper and chillax while your table is being put together. I do not believe they take reservations, but you can always try for a large party. The outdoor seating is preferable on beautiful days, but both inside and outside can get loud.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbuni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast Nook also viewed

 

Been to Breakfast Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing