We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Lutz
Post
Inbox
Search

“awesome”

Walkabout Aussie Bakery Cafe
Ranked #30 of 157 Restaurants in Lutz
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They have some of the best fish and chips anywhere. The owner and servers are super nice and helpful. Had live music Saturday night. We'll definitely be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Fish and chips was great! Also the pulled pork sandwich. Interesting and tasty bakery items. Very friendly and fun family restaurant. Transplanted Aussies.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank jeanines343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Our twenty-something kids said this place was one of their favorites. I tried the eggs benedict, which I essentially stopped eating in Tampa because I was so often disappointed. The eggs benedicts are the best I've had in 25 years of living in Tampa! My husband had the fish and chips--a huge serving of the cleanest, crispy, awesomest fish out there. The fish and chips sauce is different, but really good. It is not a tartar sauce. I love it as it comes (and I am a traditional malt vinegar fish and chips gal). Subsequently, the kids brought over Adelaide sandwiches. They are excellent, but are not cubans. If you want a hot pressed savory sandwich, rich in flavor, go for tbe Adelaide. You won't want mustard. I can't wait to try more of their dishes. The food is most excellent and you can tell that they really put love and epicurean skill into everything they present to customers.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Tampacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019

Breakfast lacks a good 3 egg over easy with thick bacon, grits & English Muffin. However the evening Fish with green beens & smashed spuds n gravy was good. But, NO red horseradish cocktail sauce to dip. Most fish places will make it on request if they don't have it. Pricey menu for the Lutz neighborhood's other local eatery choices, but quality is good if price is no object. They have a bacon burger for $22?? Waitress was excellent. Will probably go back to try the Thursday Prime Rib for $15 special; hopefully they have a baked potato to go with it :)

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikeB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

As an Aussie who grew up dining on more than a fair share of fish-and-chips (it was inexpensive at the time), I am always on the lookout for the genuine article. I've enjoyed some very good F&C dinners in parts of the U.K., and of course back home. None have come quite as close as that served up at the Walkabout cafe. Regi (as the owner is called) and her husband David are enjoying a growing patronage at there recently opened location at Livingston and Sunset. The Baramundi that she imports from Australia is perfectly battered and comes as a serving that far exceeds the meager price charged. You will be hard pressed to find a finer piece of fish than Baramundi. You might perhaps know it as Asian Sea Bass, but whatever you call it, THIS is the fish to beat!
Walkabout also offers a selection of other nice dining options and some Aussie originals such as meat pies and sausage rolls. The Thursday night prime rib is exceptional and a steal at the price they charge. Friday night entertainment by local artists, and Saturday night karaoke are both fun and entertaining. If you've never watched a game of Australian Rules football, you're missing out on one of the great spectator sports. The finals are coming up and Walkabout has plenty of big-screen TVs to catch all of the action.

Stop by and say G'day...you wont be sorry:)

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank capricornvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walkabout Aussie Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing