We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BreakOut - Newfoundland and Labrador
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent attraction!

Wonderful experience solving puzzles, finding clues and overall having fun. Many exiting rooms to... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2018
Nicole H
via mobile
Fun time for these big kids

For these first timers, we had a great time! Blame it on middle aged overthinking, but we didn’t... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2018
Paula H
,
Corner Brook, Canada
via mobile
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
31
8
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews titanic room puzzles teamwork blast fun nl
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful experience solving puzzles, finding clues and overall having fun. Many exiting rooms to chose from with the help of a great staff and accommodations.

1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

For these first timers, we had a great time! Blame it on middle aged overthinking, but we didn’t escape.....still had a blast though. Work as a team and you will succeed. I’d definitely recommend to anyone for a great time with friends or family.

1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

The building is always cold which isn't great because you can't wear shoes inside. Also it can be very difficult at times to communicate with staff and get clues for the rooms. The game is fun and engaging, great for a group who want a night out. However you can also get this service downtown.

Thank Char M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokes C, Manager at BreakOut - Newfoundland and Labrador, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for taking time to do the review,

Only in winter time, if the weather is bad, we ask players to bring their own in-door shoes upon booking, also they would have options to use in-house slippers or wear their socks on carpeted floors in the room. It is a totally player's choice.

The building is the oldest/historic structure in town, however, since Breakout opened inside the building, two heat pumps are installed, and there is heating in each room, players are welcome to turn it on at their choice. At this time of year, however, some players still want to keep air conditioning left on.

We are sorry our team did not respond your clue request in time, we are learning from it and try to prevent mistakes as much as possible. As a part of quality assurance, staff training and equipment updates are carried out on a regular basis to ensure and maintain customer service including staff communication.

Thank you!
Management of Breakout NL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

For my son's birthday I asked him if he would like to take a few friends to Breakout NL? He agreed and the boys had a great time. It is 45 minutes long so as a parent you can participate or wait outside. There are varying levels of difficulty and the kids can even get three hints to help them along. My son's group did the Magicians room and found it challenging and fun.

1  Thank Carl154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokes C, Manager at BreakOut - Newfoundland and Labrador, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you for you kind review!

It is very rewarding for us the know parents and kids are having fun at Breakout NL! We look forward to your visit next time!

Best regards,

Management of Breakout NL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We recently did their two new rooms- Dungeon & Classified, both rooms are well done, very challenging yet possible to complete with a 6-person team.

We have played all the rooms at Breakout NL! the first room we played was Titanic Room 3 years ago when they first introduce the escape games to NL, it was our first attempt and loved it immediately though we failed miserably, but made us a true team of Breakout fans! I highly recommend Breakout NL, it did make me get out of my normal thinking pattern, and there are so many easy ways of solving problems! Just need to look at things a bit differently.

1  Thank lilypillotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

We did the Titanic room. Although we did escape, we weren't very impressed with the quality of the puzzles, none of which were very creative or clever. Also, none of the puzzles had anything to do with the Titanic theme. Definitely an opportunity missed! There are lots of marine and Titanic oriented puzzles we were able to imagine. As it was, apart from the rather shoddy decor, we could have been escaping from anything. Recommend Escape Quest instead if you're looking to do an Escape Room in the St Johns area.

1  Thank Bloody_Mary09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

We did the titanic room! We didn't even make it pst the first section sadly, it's a great brain game. It's fun to do with friends, family, kids! I've heard kids get through quicker because they don't over think everything like adults! It a lot of thinking and puzzles to get through! It's hard to write a review without giving away how to get through! But it's so much fun trying to get through rooms while timed! It makes you work together and get thinking! Def recommend to try!

1  Thank Makayla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

It was a lot of fun. Wish it was a little cheaper... We would try more rooms. Like the concept. Getting a little worn out

2  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Went with friends from Toronto over the weekend, it was my second visit to breakout NL, played Titanic last time, had a lot of fun. This time we challenged the hardest room - kidnapped. It was a bit of a challenge but that made it so much more fun and we felt so good after escaping ii!

1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Such a fun experience! Worth the money! The staff are lovely to deal with and helpful when you are having troublefiguring out the clues. My friends and I have done 2 rooms so far and will be returning to try and complete the rest!

1  Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews