We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved watching the lions romp and zebras wrestle.”

Lion Country Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rhinos, apes, giraffes and lions roam free in this drive-thru wildlife preserve that also runs a comprehensive conservation program to help replenish endangered species.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved watching the lions romp and zebras wrestle.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited the park on a sunny Sunday afternoon, Was glad we were able to score the birthday weekend special as it is quite expensive to visit otherwise. The water park area for the small children looked like a blast. The animals are wild, however quite comfortable with moving vehicles. We lucked out to be able to watch the young zebras playing, so much fun. The giraffes were totally done with eating when we visited, so they were not into the hand feeding. Was a pleasant day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmesFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell guests about your experience at Lion Country Safari. We are so glad to you to hear you had a great time, especially on our safari. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    466
    114
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Animals of Africa up close”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited Lion Country safari in September and were pleasantly surprised. There is an abundance of wildlife to be seen up close from your vehicle. There were many zebras and other hooved animals native to Africa, as well as ostrich, rhea, chimpanzees, gibbons, giraffes, rhinos, tapirs, llamas, storks and other birds, reptiles, and lions of course.

We drove through in late morning, then had lunch at the cafe, followed by the walk-thru zoo and then another afternoon run through the drive-thru safari (no charge for extra drive-through trips). The second drive-thru offered a chance to see other animals up close that were off in the distance in the morning. Frequently the animals were just 10 to 30 feet from the car (except the lions) and we were sometimes surrounded by these amazing animals.

The cost was reasonable (child, senior and coupon discounts), the facilities were clean and there was plenty to entertain children of all ages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Island-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about Lion Country Safari. We strive to have our animals as close to their natural environment as possible. The animals are free roaming which gives our guests the feeling that they are on a real African safari! We offer many activities throughout our walk through park too that are family oriented and provide a fun and safe time for everyone. Thank you again for your nice review. We truly hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not as good at it used to be...”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The concept is good. Unfortunately, it has started to show its age. It is really run down to the point I feel bad for the animals. If it was cheap to get in then I would expect to see it this way. However, the admission price is not "per car" but nearly 30 bucks per person in the car. For what you actually see that is a bit steep considering the poor upkeep. It's a good "one time" deal if you go in with lower expectations. The animals were fun to see I guess. Also years ago you could drive through and the selling point was "fenceless" but now the Lions are on extreme lockdown and all pics will be through a fence. I get the extra precautions but it was better before.

Helpful?
Thank Octorafest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your recent experience. We do offer many discount offers on our admission prices- the most current discount is $8 off admission (making an adult admission just $20.50 and a child admission just $13). Many guests spend between 4-6 hours exploring the drive-through safari and the walk -through amusement park. Included in the admission price is entry into both parks plus rides on the carousel, Ferris wheel, pontoon boat tour, paddle boats, flying elephant ride and kiddie train. Also included in admission is the mini golf, rides on the safari slide and entry into the water sprayground.

As you noticed, effective November 2005 the lion display at Lion Country Safari was modified by the installation of a fence between the roadway and the animals. We realize that this change is a disappointment to some of our guests who are accustomed to having the lions come right up to their vehicles; however, we believe that the added safety and other benefits were a necessary compromise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent & they have coupons!!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a great time with my 2 year old. The whole staff was super nice & had excellent personalities especially with the young children. For people saying negative things regarding the staff, remember, your treated the way you treat people. Some visitors are not very polite!! My daughter loved the water park, the free rides, the animals, everything. We also used a coupon from our hotel but later on saw an even better coupon in the local paper at a restaurant. You really need a good 5 hours to take advantage of all the park has to offer.
Feeding the giraffes & the parrots was great!! When you use a coupon its the best deal going. And you can spend the whole day there!! We will absolutely be back!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoFabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your experience! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. After the drive-through safari, we do offer many activities throughout our walk through park that are family oriented and provide a fun and safe time for everyone. We also have coupons available online at our website that can help save money on the admission prices. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Terrible place " don't go "”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I would not go back to this place.
Terrible service ( everywhere ) from the gate to the costumer service over the phone they are all rude ( bunch of teens that only care about themselves ).
Sad to see a place with potential be draged down by people with no skills.
Don't go with family, solo or couple.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 40Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion Country Safari also viewed

 

Been to Lion Country Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing