We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari is hit or miss - zoo is too commercialized”

Lion Country Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Loxahatchee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rhinos, apes, giraffes and lions roam free in this drive-thru wildlife preserve that also runs a comprehensive conservation program to help replenish endangered species.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

So we went here right after visiting McCarthy's Animal Sanctuary (which was awesome!) and it was a bit of a let down. I can certainly appreciate the amount of room given to the animals to forage and relax but unfortunately you don't get to see too many up close. The ones we did see up close were kind of typical hoofed animals. The lions were all behind a barrier and under an enclosure and hard to see. I understand this is done for safety but doesn't really match with how they market the zoo. Very impressive structures for the monkey's, that I will say. After the ride through we walked into the zoo. They didn't have much here and it was VERY carnival-like at times. They are trying to be everything when they should just stick to being a zoo. Two things I did like, feeding the giraffe (my husband did this) and feeding the budgies. Prices are steep so look for the coupons.

1  Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your experience at the park. One of our goals at Lion Country Safari is to have our animals as close to their natural environment as possible. We do our best to educate the public on the importance of preserving and respecting our world’s natural wildlife.

We have expanded the park over the last few years adding an entire herd of Kulan, many new animal births, a safari sprayground, giraffe feeding exhibit, a gem/fossil panning exhibit, a ferris wheel, camel rides, budgie feeding aviary, special event pavilion, water balloon challenge and a 90ft Fun Slide. We do hope to continue expansion in 2013.

The discount coupons on our website do offer a great savings for everyone - thank you for suggesting this to future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"drive thru"
in 142 reviews
"petting zoo"
in 161 reviews
"animals roaming"
in 16 reviews
"romaine lettuce"
in 17 reviews
"kiddie rides"
in 31 reviews
"water buffalo"
in 35 reviews
"small water park"
in 24 reviews
"bird feeding"
in 15 reviews
"miniature golf"
in 26 reviews
"water area"
in 23 reviews
"feed giraffes"
in 26 reviews
"all ages"
in 70 reviews
"own pace"
in 31 reviews
"splash pad"
in 22 reviews
"admission price"
in 21 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 15 reviews
"take your time"
in 19 reviews
Filter

1,069 - 1,073 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wonderful drive- through Safari with close up views of African animals in the wilds! Also a watermark and rides, picnic area with vending machines and gift shop. Area where food for animals can be purchased for feeding giraffes and camels. A thrill for children and adults, easily accessible for every ability level.

1  Thank fundestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell guests about your experience at Lion Country Safari. We are so glad to you to hear you had a great time. We truly hope you come back soon. Have a WILD day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have to echo the sentiments of another reviewer. I am from another state and have visited this park twice several years apart. Both times, the drive through the animal park was great, the CD they lend you to listen very educational, and the petting zoo and other attractions (once you park your car) were fun. They do charge you an arm and a leg for paltry amounts of food to feed the animals. My big complaint though, is both times I was there all the rides were closed, ostensibly because of potential lightning strikes. They should give you this warning before you enter the park and/or offer you a discount of the entrance fee on these days, as these closures were obviously planned in light of the weather forecast. Another complaint is that many food concessions were closed and major portions of the cafeteria were roped off so there was no place to sit. When we asked them to open a section so we could sit down and eat the food we bought, the employees acted very put out. This was really frustrating especially since we paid for food and it was pouring rain outside.
I give the animal attractions a big thumbs up but this park tries to be an amusement park too, and fails miserably on that end.
One tip - there are some major discount coupons available on line and take advantage of finding and printing these out before you go. It will take some of the sting out of the big ticket price and having only 2/3s of what we were promised actually available.

4  Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Seemed great as we pulled through the ticket line. Paid and sent us on our way with a smile. Unfortunately that was the last employee we saw. The "walk through amusement park" was a ghost town. Nothing open, NOTHING. We saw a few other families walking around baffled but that was it. Left with three disappointed children and lighter wallet...

2  Thank audreylorraine88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Due to inclement weather caused by the Tropical Storm we had limited amenities open. For this reason, on the specific date of your visit, we lowered our admission from $28.50 per person to just $10 per person and we were comp’ing 15 passenger vans for any guests that were concerned with the standing water in the preserve. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Feel free to email marketing@lioncountrysafari.com if you have any further concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been passholders for more than 10 years to this "do everything in a day" animal attraction park. From young children to late age adults the car ride thru the animals is edueducational as well as entertaining! You never know what the animals might do. After 1-1.5 hours of drive thru, there is a walk thru park with a petting zoo, small putt-putt golf, a few young childrens rides, a short boat ride tour for all ages, paddle boats & a splash water park!!! Bring your own towels, sun screen & a picnic lunch or eat at their cafe. It is sure to be a fun, filled family day! Also, bring cash for the carnival like concessions & ice cream yummies!!!

3  Thank RN4FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell guests about your experience at Lion Country Safari. You had a very nice review about the park. We do offer many activities throughout our walk through park that are family oriented and provide a fun and safe time for everyone. We have also expanded the park over the last few years adding an entire herd of Kulan, many new animal births, a safari sprayground, giraffe feeding exhibit, a gem/fossil panning exhibit, a ferris wheel, camel rides, budgie feeding aviary, special event pavilion, water balloon challenge and a 90ft Fun Slide. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion Country Safari also viewed

 

Been to Lion Country Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing