We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP tour well worth it”

Lion Country Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rhinos, apes, giraffes and lions roam free in this drive-thru wildlife preserve that also runs a comprehensive conservation program to help replenish endangered species.
idealman
1 review
“VIP tour well worth it”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We took the VIP tour today it was great Terry was our guide thru the park he told us the history of the park let us get out and pet some of the animals . Great time and very interesting learned allot. Thanks to terry for being a great time

Helpful?
Thank idealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    463
    112
    21
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Lots of variety of things to see and do”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The safari part was interesting with a wide array of animals to see. We were surprised that there were no elephants though. The CD to listen to in the car while driving though is a nice touch to better appreciate what we see out of the window.

I like that the park rents cars and minivans for those that drive motorcycles, convertibles etc. We plan to come back with the bigger family and rent a van so we can all drive through together.

The attached park has a nice combination of nature, rides and activities. Feeding the giraffes was lots of fun. The water play area is great for a hot day. I was surprised to learn that we could have even played mini golf!

The prices inside the park at the store and concessions were very affordable. The main restaurant has a wide variety of food at a great price although seating can be at a premium during peak times. The gift shop had a lot of unique items and good prices.

We enjoyed the experience and look forward to going back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience at Lion Country Safari. We are so glad that you and your family had a good time. We do have vehicles that are available to rent in our main office for $10 if guests do not want to drive their own vehicle through the safari. We truly hope you and your family come back soon to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fun Day With Our 9 Year Old Grandson”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We all (60s and 9) enjoyed out 4 hours at the Park. The drive through portion allowed us to stop and go as we wanted to watch various animals in a close to native environment. Of course as the day got later, the animals more sleepy so it is important to come as early as possible.

The part you walk through is an easy pace with different activities around each bend. You can feed the budgies, giraffes, and goats. There are rides for the little ones, and a carousel and ferris wheel for all ages. Mini golf was fun and an interesting change of pace. There is a water area for the kids to play in. It was cold but when you are 9 who cares!? Our timing was off but there are various animal shows and feedings through the day. I would recommend this to all for an easy and fun day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesliemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Public Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about Lion Country Safari. One of our goals at Lion Country Safari is to have our animals as close to their natural environment as possible. Our free roaming animals on the safari always provide a unique experience.
We also offer many activities throughout our walk through park that are family oriented and provide a fun and safe time for everyone. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Always a great thing to go with family on a cooler day!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our family's fourth annual holiday visit to Lion Country Safari. It's always a fan fav!
The trick is to go when it's a cooler day....I hear even rainy days are good!

This is a drive thru zoo.....you are in your car driving through huge gated acreages of animal families. Sometimes you have to stop for animal crossings!

The food at their cafeteria is actually very good. We ordered chicken nuggets and French fries and a drink for $8. It was very hot and fresh.

Bathrooms are very available and clean.

My absolute favourite is always HAND FEEDING THE GENTLE GIRAFFES!
For $2.50 you get 2 pieces of romaine lettuce.....very expensive....but I come knowing that I am 'donating' money to this fabulous animal reserve. ( I did rip up the lettuce even though they said not too :-)

We also love watching the chimps play with their Christmas presents!
We were 4 adults and 3 young adults.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DannaFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Public Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Lion Country Safari. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit. Your advice about coming when it is cooler outside is a great tip. We encourage our guests to drive-through in the morning hours or later afternoon hours or even when it is raining. We have found that the animals tend to be more active when it is cooler outside. We are looking forward to seeing you again on the safari soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family of 4 visited on New Years Day. We had an amazing experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the safari and the park. Check in was prompt and efficient. There were three lanes open and cars were processed very quickly. We bought our tickets online, so that may have expedited our experience. Upon check-in, we were given a CD to play during the safari. We loved that extra touch and the details provided on the CD. There were numerous animals in the preserve. We drove our own vehicle through the safari at 9:45am and again at 3:00pm. Both times we saw the same number and types of animals. The animals had free roam of the preserve and were not afraid of the cars. We had rhinos, zebra, ostrich, wildebeest, llamas, kudu, and even a water buffalo cross in front of our car. The lion section was cool. Many of them were sleeping, but occassionally we would see one or two stand up, look around, and lay back down. Quite a few of them were right near the fence sleeping. The amusement park was fun. We rode all the free rides, and paid to feed the giraffes and ride the camel. The camel ride at 5.00 per person for a small loop around a field was a bit excessive in my opinion. The giraffe feeding was amazing. Their tongues are huge! My kids loved the budgie bird feeding and petting zoo. The alligators were huge also! We ate lunch at the restaurant. The food was average and so was the price. We also bought items in the gift shop. The items and prices were average. There were many restrooms through-out the amusement park and they were very clean. We finished our day with a Carvel ice cream cone and another trip through the safari. Overall, we had a great experience and will definitely recommend this to friends and family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell guests all about your experience! We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed their trip to Lion Country Safari. We do offer many activities throughout our walk through park that are family oriented and provide a fun and safe time for everyone. We hope to see you and your family on safari again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion Country Safari also viewed

 

Been to Lion Country Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing