We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting, Fun and Educational”

Lion Country Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rhinos, apes, giraffes and lions roam free in this drive-thru wildlife preserve that also runs a comprehensive conservation program to help replenish endangered species.
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exciting, Fun and Educational”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As a teacher and a parent of three older kids (14,12,9) I fully recommend this! The five of us marveled at the opportunity to get so close to the animals and see them in their natural habitat. The CD that they offer is very interesting and we actually saw almost all of the animals that were described. The park allows you to drive your own car or rent one of theirs (vans, too, for large groups together) as many times through as you'd like. Afterward there is a very pleasant and pretty, small amusement park with more animals and birds up close. Adults, too, can get a short ride on a camel for $5. Two to three hours is a good amount of time to see the whole thing. The gift shop and restaurant are fine. We visited on Thanksgiving afternoon, so it was very quiet. If the crowds were larger the snack bar and gift shop may not have been as enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about Lion Country Safari. One of our goals at Lion Country Safari is to have our animals as close to their natural environment as possible and to educate the public on the importance of preserving and respecting our world’s natural wildlife. Our free roaming animals on the safari always provide a unique experience for everyone. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon on safari!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    463
    112
    21
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is great! When they say safari, they mean it. The animals (except the lions for obvious reasons) are right there, out in the open next to your car. We had an ostrich right at our window and we experienced a zebra stampede. The rides are OK, not great but the safari made up for it. It is a must see for families visiting south florida. We really enjoyed it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about Lion Country Safari. We strive to have our animals as close to their natural environment as possible. The animals are free roaming which gives our guests the feels that you are on a real African safari! We have expanded the park over the last few years adding an entire herd of Kulan, many new animal births, a safari sprayground, giraffe feeding exhibit, a gem/fossil panning exhibit, a ferris wheel, camel rides, budgie feeding aviary, special event pavilion, water balloon challenge and a 90ft Fun Slide! We do hope to continue expansion in 2013. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place but where are the elephants??”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a nice adventure but I was disapppointed that they had no elephants! We asked the man at end of the safari when we dropped off our CD and he said they have not had them for about 4 years :( But overall a fun place to visit, relaxing and uncrowded on a Friday morning in November so we could take our time driving through. The walk through part is mostly for kids but we did have fun riding the camel and feeding the giraffes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about Lion Country Safari. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. In Safari World we offer rides, animal shows, and animal encounters such as the petting zoo, giraffe feeding and budgie feeding! As for our elephants, they did in fact move to a state-of-the-art exhibit at the Dallas Zoo a few years ago. We hope to see you on the safari again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

You ride through area where animals roam -- water buffalo, giraffes, rhinoceros -- not in cages, but in a natural area. They had to put a barrier in the lion area because too many people got out of their cars to take pictures of the lions! Don't forget to feed the lorikeets in the special area -- they perch on your hand to eat the food. Reasonably priced, good food! Free amusement rides, animal demonstrations and lectures, and beautiful flora. All at the best attraction price in Florida!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank WhatIfoundout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Guest Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at Lion Country Safari. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our Lorikeet exhibit is always a great way for guests to experience our free flighted parrots. We also provide other animal encounters such as the petting zoo, giraffe feeding and budgie feeding. We plan on adding more expansions to the park in 2013. We hope to see you on the safari again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Healthy animal herds”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Preserve is of course the highlight of this attraction. All of the animals in the Preserve, and in the attraction's other areas are healthy and well maintained. The Impala herd was breathtaking. Such an elegant animal. The lions looked regal. And they have ample space to live comfortably, if they have to be in captivity. The monkeys have it cushy in their playground area.

The person at the pay window did a fantastic job describing how to see the reserve and use the drive-through park. The accompanying CD was wonderful. A little bit of advertisement didn't hurt. They are after all, in need of funds to maintain the attraction.

Food in the restaurant wasn't bad--not great--but not bad. And fresh too.

It's a good value for the price too. I would go again. It's a older Florida attraction and some areas seem outdated but it offers a great day of entertainment seeing animals that aren't caged-up.

So refreshing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Floridabluemacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lioncountrysafari, Public Relations Manager at Lion Country Safari, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell guests about your experience! It was a very nice review of the park. One of our goals at Lion Country Safari is to have our animals as close to their natural environment as possible. We do our best to educate the public on the importance of preserving and respecting our world’s natural wildlife. We have expanded the park over the last few years adding an entire herd of Kulan, many new animal births, a safari sprayground, giraffe feeding exhibit, a gem/fossil panning exhibit, a ferris wheel, camel rides, budgie feeding aviary, special event pavilion, and water balloon challenge. We do hope to continue expansion in 2013. We hope to see you back soon! Have a wild day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion Country Safari also viewed

 

Been to Lion Country Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing