We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loxahatchee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion Country Safari KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This place is a Canadian snowbird resort not a campground. We reserved well in advance giving camper size etc, requested adjoining sites (2 reservations traveling together). When we arrived we were told that they were almost full with a very limited selection of sites(Staffs attitude Take it or leave it). We found two back in sites side by side. Our snowbird neighbors had erected several elaborate screen rooms which severely restricted my ability to place my camper on my site. Had to get one neighbor to move his vehicle.
Once on the site found no cable and no WiFi. How this place has won several KOA Presidents choice awards is beyond me.
Not pet friendly, Every afternoon well before sunset they would lock up the lighted pet exercise area. Received several dirty looks and comments while walking our dogs. One dog suffered a bought of diarrhea my wife took out a shovel we carry to clean up the mess , park staff gave Her a hard time about properly cleaning up.
This park does not come close to living up to its hype. They are lucky they are few choices in Palm Beach county. Don't go during the winter!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank urbanstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 120 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2008

Lion country Safari the closet thing to Africa except for disney for 100x cheeper. We stayed for a weekend and enjoyed it, We loved the new Giraffe feeding exibit. Also the Wet play area. While we stayed at the KOA we also visted the Palm Beach Zoo in which the Maya temples were amazing and the cave which they should have themed more. I will go back to KOA anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfsgdfgdfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This is the 2nd time we have stayed there. It is a great park and has the cleanest, nicest restroom and shower facilities. Very friendly people and a great deal as the Lion country passes for 2 days for 4 people are included. Very nice pool also.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greensgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Lion Country Safari KOA is located adjacent to the Lion Country Safari Park in Loxahatchee, Florida which is just inland from West Palm Beach. This is a nice relaxing campground for RV's, other recreational vehicles, campers and tents. They also have Kamping Kabins to rent. They have a store, swimming pool, playground, ball field, pavillion, volleyball, horseshoes, bath houses, laundromat, basketball, shuffle board and plenty of space to move around. We also received discounted tickets to the Safari next door.(It ended up being about half-price, around $11.00 for adults, less for kids) It is close enough to walk over and great for the kids. It also has a few rides, a waterpark and a drive through safari. You can drive your car or RV through the elephants, lions, giraffes, rhino's, just to name a few of the many animals. If you don't want to drive over, you can walk and rent one of their cars for $10.00-$18.00 and use it to drive through the safari preserve. It was well worth it! One of the best highlights is camping while listening to the lions roar. We could hear them randomly at night and in the morning. Not so much during the day though. It was really cool!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FLBUTTERFLY1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We have camped here many times. This time we made early reservations (because of the holiday weekend) 2 sites. Last minuet we needed one more site. We were told their were no vacancys. We continued to call and finally got an additional reservation. We really wanted 3 sites together, but realized making 1 reservation last minute was asking alot. We arrived to check in, staff was friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site...which was under water. The man said the water would be gone in an hour! OK, they can't control the weather but......3 days later when we checked out, we were still under water. Also, we asked if we could have one of the larger newer picnic tables (they were all around us),because we had three families, we were told No!, the tables are assigned to the site. As the weekend progressed, there were many empty sites about 30 that we counted. Many of them were 3 together and dry. I realize they cater to the yearly camper, But as a weekender, we deserve some attention too. Our last group checked in at about 9:15 pm, we walked down to their site (even though there were sites on all sides of us with big tables), we were yelled at to hold it down because they had to go to work the next day. Not to be inconsiderate....but it was not "quite time 10PM.....we were just greeting friends....and we paid for our sites too!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank higginsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We stayed here this past weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I cannot comment on the reservation policies that others have mentioned because we were booked as a group and someone else handled that, but the campground itself was very nice. It has tall pine trees that keep the area relatively well shaded. The pool was adequate and the kids loved it. The facilities were very clean.

One night we heard the chimps from Lion Country Safari start up (lover's quarrel?). The best part overall, however, was being able to hear the lions start roaring each morning. Where else could you do that?? They continued periodically through our breakfast time. (It's no wonder they don't restrict the parrots considering the other wildlife noise in the area!) Someone said they could not hear the lions from their cabin, but we were in a tent. As an FYI, the traffic on Southern Boulevard could be heard throughout the night, but it was managable.

We will stay again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FLfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

We rented a Kamping Kabin at the LCS KOA for my boyfriend's birthday.

It was our first time in a KOA Kabin and our first visit to a KOA. The campground was really nice. The bathrooms and shower rooms were very clean and the park staff was extremely nice and helpful. Thanks to the helpful check-in staff that directed us to a nearby Smokey Bones, we had a wonderful dinner before settling in for the night.

One word of warning to anyone spending their first night in one of the Kabins: bring an air mattress... we were glad we did. They do have beds in the kabins, but they are not very comfortable. Our first night was a little rough, but it was our own fault for being too lazy to go out and get our mattress out of the car after trying to sleep for a few hours. The second night was much better. We inflated the mattress and put it right on top of the kabin bed and slept like babies all night. I think a couple of sleeping bags would have also done the trick.

At the time of our stay we were given a $3.00 off coupon for Lion Country Safari.

The campground has a pool, shuffleboard, horseshoes and other activities. The camp store is well stocked with many items including ice, drinks, breakfast foods, and other items to make your stay more pleasant.

I was very happy with everything at the campground and do recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MelissasTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lion Country Safari KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Country Safari KOA Campground

Address: 2000 Lion Country Safari Rd, Loxahatchee, FL 33470-3976
Location: United States > Florida > Loxahatchee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Loxahatchee
Number of rooms: 230
Also Known As:
Lion Country Safari Koa Campground Hotel Loxahatchee
Lion Country Safari KOA Campground Loxahatchee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing