We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although we had read about prices of 10$/night the owners wanted 25 per person (with breakfast and dinner) and would not bargain about it. We didn't know there was another really nice hostel just up the hill so we accepted... The rooms were not that clean and the bathroom was mouldy. Service is really bad and people not very friendly. They wouldn't clean the room, make beds, empty trash in the bathroom, etc. Food wasn't very good either and it was pretty cold sitting in the large unheated dining room.
So: Do not stay in the hostel, walk a few meters up the hill and get a nicer and cheaper one!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronikams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I don't always negociate with indians, but when I do it has to be in Quilotoa! You'll really have to negociate with the indian owners. If they say "25$ the night" try to be calm and remember: Never pay more than 10$ for a room in Ecuador and always demand a piece of soap! Tell them, 10$ is a good price and stick to it... they will discuss and discuss and in the end, you'll get your room for 10$!
The rooms are quite amply and the staff is super friendly!
...and they offer wood-burnig ovens in every room!!!
Great experience! go there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoktorShiruango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was hard to sleep at this altitude for both my father and me, but the beds were very comfortable and there was a stove fire in the room, which made it much cozier. We were with a group and we had to upgrade to the room with the stove because I knew from previous experience in the other rooms that they had we would freeze. The food was good too, but I've stayed at equal places for a smaller price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My experience pretty much was a repeat of everyone else's review. They charge $50 for 2 people, mandatory dinner and breakfast, which is a rip-off compared to other places we've stayed at in Ecuador. We were unable to bargain them down, and it was dark, late and cold, and we hadn't done our homework to avoid this place!

They did promptly set up the fire in the wood-burning stove in our room when we asked them, at least.

The dinner portions was pitifully small. The breakfast was buffet style, decent, but because we came later, they didn't offer to cook us eggs, which I could tell theyhad done for the other guests. Instead they were too engrossed in their Mexican telenovela DVD on the TV.

There was no hot water at night. 7:30 - 8, they said. The next morning, I had to bug them to switch on the hot water at 8ish.

The lobby/common area looks like a dump, with dusty piles of stuff scattered around, including
a shrink wrapped fridge.

The beds were clean and comfy. And the breakfast was decent. That's about the only positives.

We had lunch at the Chukirawa after our hike around the lake. The lady was very helpful and friendly, and I wish I had stayed there instead, had I known about. She helped us arrange our onward transport options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here as it was the first we encountered after getting out of the bus and there aren't that many alternatives. As the advice was to barter down, we did. At first they asked 50$ for the 2 of us, which included dinner and breakfast. We bartered down to 35$, but they noted that in that case the room could be shared with other travelers should there arrive more. In the end we shared with 2 other travellers, no problem as the room was big enough. Downpart of the room was the smell of smoke which bothered us untill the morning. In the main room they heated stoves in the evening, and it seemed that the smoke entered our room for some reason.

Conclusion: Pretty good place to stay, 50$ is too much for what you get, so barter. Food is o.k. and room 102 is not recommendable

Room Tip: In our case, room 102 was not the best because of the smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hostel is nice. Good points are:
big rooms
comfy beds
fire in room
good common room
food provided
Bad points:
intermitent water supply
range of rates between $12 and $25 per person for same service (need to barter, dont book online)
sometimes rude staff
beds not clean, full of dirt

would recommend the hostel but dont let them walk over you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I called to make a reservation at the cheaper place (apparently they own a couple properties) and they said I was all set. When I showed up, they said the other place was full and I had to stay at this place and told me it would be $25/night, instead of $15. I told them what happened and the lady said "ok, I'll give you a discount" to $20 a night without meals. I told her I didn't bring money for that and she agreed on the $15/night with all meals included. The price I payed made the experience great. It is freezing there. The family is always sitting around the fireplace. The water in the showers was lukewarm, which wasn't great because it was so cold. The free hot tea/chocolate/coffee was great, especially after coming inside. You can sit close to the wood stove and warm up with a big cup of tea. Dinner was delicious and there was plenty of it. Breakfast was great too. The first morning, it was an all carb breakfast, which sucked. The second day, they made eggs...I think if you stick around and wait...they'll eventually bring out eggs.

Room Tip: Call and agree on a price before you get there. If you don't have great Spanish, they'll try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmondo731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quilotoa
22.1 mi away
Hotel Somagg
Hotel Somagg
#1 of 1 in La Mana
6 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#4 of 4 in Latacunga
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Quilotoa Runa Wasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Hostal Chukirawa
Hostal Chukirawa
#1 of 5 in Quilotoa
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Quilotoa
Cabanas Quilotoa
#4 of 5 in Quilotoa
32 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Princesa Toa
Hostal Princesa Toa
#1 of 2 in Quilotoa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa

Address: Moyopamba 3850 | A 200 Metros Del Mirador Laguna de Quilotoa, Quilotoa 050456, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Quilotoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Quilotoa
Price Range: $30 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are dedicated and committed to providing total satisfaction for our customers by offering a unique experience to all our visitors the world. We do business with a strong commitment to society and respect for the environment , committed to working through community tourism ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing