We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to be warm in Quilotoa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers that Hosteria Alpaca is the nicest choice (so far) in Quilotoa. Quilotoa isn't a luxury town—the lake is stunning but it's mostly a destination for hikers and backpackers. And it gets chilly! At Hosteria Alpaca, the rooms & beds are clean & warm, with a stove in the room itself and big, downy comforters. When you're up that high, warmth is invaluable!

Prices seem to be somewhat negotiable, and include a solid dinner and breakfast. The main room is a little chilly, but you're welcome to gather around the main stove, where there's always hot water for tea or hot chocolate, and where you might get to hang out with a puppy, a cat, and a baby. The staff is friendly but I'm not sure how much English they speak; we just spoke Spanish with them while we were there.

Room Tip: Make sure there's a stove in your room! Also, we stayed in the main, new building and that seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjsharp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 95 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We looked at a couple hostels and picked this one. It was the nicest in this small but growing town. The sign actually has it spelled "Hosteria Alpaka." It is the first place on the right before you actually go through the gate to enter the town.

Our room was large and pleasant. There were a LOT of houseflies in it when we checked in so we spent some time killing them. No more returned to bother us overnight. I think they come in while the doors are open during the day. We experienced this in another place in the mountains, too.

There was plenty of really hot water in the shower though the pressure was low. The room and bathroom were clean.

The room is cold but they offered to light our stove if we wished. We actually declined because the beds have down(!) comforters, which was a pleasant surprise (we didn't see that in any other hostel we stayed in).

The common area is nice and there is a woodstove going all evening. There are hot water kettles resting on the stove and tea out and available for you to make tea as you please.

Dinner was tasty--a chicken stew. I am vegetarian and the side dishes were plenty for me. Everything was served family style so we enjoyed socializing with other guests both around the stove and then at dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was also satisfying--yogurt, fruit, "granola" (actually just raw oats), and hard-boiled eggs.

Quilotoa is tiny so you can walk around town and down to the beautiful crater lake from anywhere in town. It looks like the town is doing a lot to expand their tourism structure. For now it is a nice quiet place to spend one night as you hike in the area.

There were cute puppies outside the hostel that are pets, not strays--evidence of this? They had little outfits! I took too many pics of them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

First, there is a lot of effort in building-out the area to make it more of a tourist destination, so I wouldn't be surprised if this review is irrelevant in 1-2 years. From what I saw, most accommodations at Quilotoa are very modest. Almost every store or place to eat has a "hostel" sign on it. The Alpaca doesn't have first world heating, but it's cozy nevertheless. Each room has a small wood-burning stove for heat, and meals are communal. I found it quite nice. It's current location is actually a large addition to it's old neighboring location, and it still looks like their building.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. It's just a tad further away from the common area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Hosteria Alpaca is the first accommodation option you'll see upon arriving in Quilotoa.

The Hosteria offers two very different room options - older communal rooms out back, slightly dingy and musty but adequate, and private rooms in a brand new building out front - these rooms have big, cosy beds, private bathrooms and a good supply of very hot water. Whichever room you choose, make sure to bargain as the first price offered is far from the best price available. Prices include both dinner and breakfast.

Regardless of which room you choose you'll have a wood burning stove in your room which the staff will light for you before bedtime. These stoves don't last all night however, so if you plan on lounging in your room make sure to keep the stove stocked with wood.

The family that runs the hosteria are lovely, very friendly and whip up incredible meals. I was traveling solo but there were about 14 other travelers staying there the same night and it was a festive atmosphere. We enjoyed large, delectable meals eaten communally at a long banquet like series of tables.

It was a lovely experience and the hosteria is a good choice for Quilotoa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VgabndHapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the first accommodation we came across when we got of the bus in Quilotoa. The communal dinning room/ living room was kept nice and warm by the wood burning stove. We were freezing when we arrived and spent all afternoon warming by the stove, drinking unlimited cups of tea to stay warm. Breakfast and dinner were both included and had a great choice. The staff were very friendly and one of the woman even knitted a personalised hat for my boyfriend.
Our room was one of the basic cabanas around the back and we had a wonderful wood burning stove in our room which was greatly appreciated! There was barely any hot water though.
A good option for a short stay in Quilotoa.

Room Tip: If the main rooms are out of your budget, there are cheaper rooms around the back but you still have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights but in the end stayed for only one - the room was adequate but there was a strong sewage smell. Feather duvers are provided which are great and very nevessary because it's very cold at night.   And whilst there was a fire stove in our room it wasn't offered for this to be lit for us. But maybe this is a good thing because the fire in the communal area outside our room door was lit and stunk our room out with smoke. The location of the hostel is only a few minutes walk from the crater lake but literally just outside the entrance barrier where you have to pay an entrance fee.

It was $50 for our room including evening meal and breakfast - there was no option to pay less and not have dinner. Dinner is served at shared tables with other guests and was a mixed bag (nice soup, but questionable chicken of some sort for main which there wasn't much of for each person anyway). We found breakfast to be poor - there was limited food left when we ate (which wasn't very late) and the bread was very stale.

We didn't find the staff overly helpful. When we arrived there was no one at the lodge - the whole place was just deserted so we had to wait quite a while until someone turned up.

We stayed here based on a guide book recommendation as it seemed the best of only a few hostels in Quilatoa. Whilst we wouldn't recommend this place per se, if you need to stay somewhere in Quilatoa your options are very limited (it's tiny!) so you could do worse than stay here. I just wouldn't recommend staying any longer than you need to.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jule G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quilotoa
21.2 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 4 in Latacunga
93 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
155 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Somagg
Hotel Somagg
#1 of 1 in La Mana
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Quilotoa Runa Wasi
61.1 mi away
Hostal Chukirawa
Hostal Chukirawa
#1 of 4 in Quilotoa
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Princesa Toa
Hostal Princesa Toa
#1 of 2 in Quilotoa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa

Address: Moyopamba 3850 | A 200 Metros Del Mirador Laguna de Quilotoa, Quilotoa 050456, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Quilotoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Quilotoa
Price Range: $26 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are dedicated and committed to providing total satisfaction for our customers by offering a unique experience to all our visitors the world. We do business with a strong commitment to society and respect for the environment , committed to working through community tourism ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hosteria Alpaka Quilotoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing