We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room/grounds beautiful but customer service not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We went to this resort for a wedding and at first were wowed by the service. We were met at the car by two attendants who opened our doors for us and escorted us inside for check-in. Our bell-hop carried our luggage up to our room and showed us around the room to get familiar with the amenities. He was probably the best staff we encountered over our 2 night stay.

The room was beautiful. It was just a regular "guest room" but it still had a kitchen, washer/dryer, dish washer, living room area, flat screen television, and a nice-sized bathroom. I cannot complain a bit about the room-- it was perfectly decorated and beautiful.

Because it is a wedding destination, trying to sleep with the noise of partying guests was difficult... but we had a wedding the next day, so we waited until around midnight to call the main desk. The person over the phone was curt and unfriendly. The noise did stop, however.

Also, we called room service the day of the wedding and were told the food would arrive in 25 minutes. 25 minutes came and went and we eventually had to start getting ready for the wedding.... just as we were about to walk out the door (an hour later) our food arrived.

The quality of the food does not equal the price. $35 for a burger and a salad?

The beach area is nice. However, the cabana attendants appear more interested in eachother and talking to eachother than attending to the guests. I saw one woman have to flag down a waitress and ask her if she could order a drink.

The pool is also very nice and has a beautiful lounge area.

The wedding reception itself was done nicely and the staff was courteous, diligent, and professional. The hall was gorgeous and it was decorated beautifully. The center-pieces were to die for!

Overall, the grounds and the room were beautiful but the customer service was not up to par.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,636 - 1,642 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

This is a beautiful resort with a great location. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We had a One bedroom Gulf Front sweet, which was very nice. Lots of room and lots of storage. The Balconey was huge with a great view. The only problem is you leave here more tired then when you arived. The Air Conditioner is so loud you get woke up every time it comes on and goes off. It is loud when running, nut the noise when it starts and stops is like getting hit in the head with pots and pans. When we mentioned it to the staff we got frowns, and "sorry they are all like that". The funney thing is they promote themselves as a "green" hotel, but the AC units are very old and need to be updated. They cannot be efficient, so they would save alot of electricity and money with newer and more quiet units.

It is sad we were going to stay an extra night, but decided we need to get a good night sleep before going back to work, so we went home to sleep.

I hope they fix they update the AC, the constuction noise is temporary (and not to bad when on the gulf side of the building and none at night), but we can not go back until the AC is corrected. Which makes us sad, because otherwise it was a great resort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBK_87679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Once again we visited Longboat Key Club and had an even better time than we did last time. We took no vaction last year due to a terminally ill pet, but the year before we had a Club Suite with a Lagoon view. That was nice, except the bed and pull out were in the same room. Our teenager liked to go to sleep by 10pm, my wife likes to stay up and read a bit, and I like to watch TV late. That dynamic caused a problem. Since we didn't take a vacation last year, we decided to splurge on a two-bedroom. IT WAS AWESOME!
We got on the top floor with a perfect Gulf view from the balcony, and the bay side from the bedroom window. It ended up being the best vacation I ever had.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank RNSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We booked 5 days here as a break during our trip to florida to do disney, this was to be our relaxing part of the trip and in all the location, rooms etc were as expected BUT we were totally misinformed about building works. The hotel website informs you you cannot use the main pool Mon-Fri between 9-5 due to refurbishment, but you could use another pool and the beach, fine we thought and booked. What it failed to tell you is that it is undergoing total major building works on the two main towers meaning that the noise levels, drilling, banging etc are intollerable around the pool and the beach infront, off to the other pool we go, it was not child friendly with a straight 5ft depth off the steps. We were forced to evacuate the hotel by 9am to public beaches each day which was really inconvenient and we were unable to enjoy the services of the resort at all until the weekend. To add salt in the wounds they insisted on charging a resort fee odf $15 per day for use of the facilities!!!!! SOOOOO AVOID until all this work is completed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thedubfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

This lovely resort has several buildings, all of which appear to be similarly equipped. We stayed in a suite overlooking the golf course, the other half of our family outing stayed in a suite overlooking the lagoon. Both were very attractively decorated, and fully equipped for those fortunate enough to stay for a week or so, with a fridge, stovetop burners, Bose radio, etc (no overhead fans - what's up with that?). Very quiet, we never heard anything from a neighboring room, and the room was immaculate. Three other buildings overlook the pool, the higher floors would have a gulf view. We only had lunch at their poolside restaurant, served poolside, and they were fine. Drinks were pretty darned good too! The resort has several restaurants, one of which you'd have to drive to (they have a shuttle available as well), but none on the property were what you'd call fine dining, which is kind of strange given the quality of the resort. Anyway, very pleased with the amenities, and St. Armand's Circle is very close, as are many fine restaurants on Longboat Key as well as Sarasota. Service was excellent, we were allowed early check-in at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenskaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

From the moment of arrival, the genuinely friendly staff made my 16 year old son and me feel welcome. The room, two queen size beds with a balcony and an ocean view, was immaculately clean with luxurious linens and perfect in size for us. Suites have washer and dryer which we could have used. Next time, I would request a ocean view room not facing the pool for a totally quiet balcony experience.

There were several eating options with incredibly delicious food with a tremendous variety of choices served by outstanding and efficient wait staff.

The beach was beautiful, quiet, and peaceful. The umbrellas and chairs were complimentary provided by energetic young fellows willing to meet any request. Kayaks were available to rent and thankfully no jetskis, sailboats, tubbies, etc which tend to add chaos to a lovely sight. There is no lifeguard on duty which was fine with us, but may be a problem for some. Food and beverage service was provided on the beach by enthusiastic and visible servers.

The new Tennis Garden is incredible. The staff was superb is assisting my son with the ball machine and setting up matches with a variety of players. He had an excellent experience and looks forward to returning next year.

At the end of our week holiday, I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starshiprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We just returned from a 4 day stay in an oceanfront club suite. Everything was very clean, and the beach and water was stunning. I can reccomend Portofino restaurant in the resort. It was delicious..so we went twice. I would reccomend a suite with kitchen because food and drinks were crazy expensive...$15 drinks with tip.so we brought lots of stuff with us, and there is a publix like 3 miles down the road. Lovely place...we will return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethelia919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
75 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: $291 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing