We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back to this resort!! Beautiful rooms and beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
fl.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back to this resort!! Beautiful rooms and beaches”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I did not know what to believe after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. I am so happy we went through with our stay here during our spring break. The resort is very nice. We stayed in building #4. If you want to see spectacular sunsets and a view of the Gulf from every room, I would request this building. Very short walk to pool. Rooms on lower floors near pool could be noisy but we don't know that for sure. We were here with our 2 young kids and I let my youngest stay in the kids club for 3 of the 6 days we were there. That was really great too! Be advised that the Tennis Gardens, although beautiful are not right at the resort. You must drive about 3 miles away and if you don't have a car they will shuttle you there at no cost and they are very prompt when you call for your ride. Loved that. We ate at the Chart house on the property and that was very good. Also the room service was good and the restaurant by the pool was very good. Rooms are very nicely decorated and CLEAN. Would recommend without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjktharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    339
    155
    43
    29
See reviews for
642
505
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Private and scenic resort located at the south end of Longboat Key. Our ocean front suite had two small balconies - watching boats come through the bay channel was relaxing as was having am coffee with the delivered newspaper.
Our king bed was new like with good linens. You sleep with the sight/sounds of the ocean and the breeze is heaven. The living area had tasteful/quality furniture and the small kitchen was a gem, loved having a washer/dryer. The bathroom was large with a long and spacious dressing area. The shower pressure was not too good. The tennis courts are well-maintained and an easy walk. There is also a newer tennis facility up the road. We enjoyed lunch on the beach - the menu should offer a good basic BLT or egg salad sandwich without all the gourmet "food fluff". The beach is clean and great for walking. There is no charge for a beach cabana (many FL resorts charge up to 75.00 per day), no charge for tennis court time, no charge for bikes or parking. Those complaining about the nominal resort fee obviously do not travel much. Would rather pay a single resort fee instead of endless fees for each amenity. The ice water station by the pool was another nice touch as were the large soft towels for the pool and beach. The entire resort is spotless and well staffed. Don't miss the charming historic area of downtown Sarasota - great cafes/shopping.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

If you want an incredible private beach location, an immaculate hotel room with terrific customer service, this is the place to stay. The only downside is the cost. Specifically the resort fee of $20/night is a little much with an average room running $375-425/night. Either drop the fee or round off the room rate. The extra resort fee is somewhat insulting at checkout especially for an extended stay (it adds up quickly).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcgrayburnjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at the Longboat Key Club & Resort for our traditional family spring break. Although very pricey, this is by far our favorite place to stay in Florida. Not only is the resort wonderful, but the Longboat Key/St. Armand's/Sarasota area is beautiful, easily accessible and a great base for seeing the sights on the west coast of Florida. The resort itself has tremendous amenities. A secluded private beach, golf course, fitness facilities, spa, and great restaurants. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which worked well for my wife and our two teenage sons as the suite was spacious and contained all the furnishings to make a family comfortable. "The kitchen was a tad bit small for a large suite and the kitchenware a bit slim to make a sophisticated dinner. However, one could easily seeing themselves taking up residence in the suite. We did experience a few hiccups which surprised us. One day, maid service failed to show up and housekeeping did let our bathroom supplies rundown. Management may want to review its housekeeping processes.

Although we have historically tried to stay in different Florida locations, we love this place so much we pretty much have vowed to return here every year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Spent a week a LBKC this time and liked it twice as much as our first 3 day stay in 2008. Stayed in a Jr suite overlooking the beach. Got a decent rate for the weekdays, but paid $70 more for the 3 weekend days. Room was in excellent shape, as it was the first time. Had no trouble getting our desired tee times, but had trouble getting into the Portofina restaurant before 8:30. Food in all the restaurants was well prepared and very good. It should be for the prices. Thought the drink prices at the pool bar a bit over the top ($13 margaritas), but that was a self inflicted wound for playing the big shot and picking up tap for a happy hour with some friends. The Hotel Staff was pleasant and prompt, including the response to a 9PM problem getting the hard wire internet to work. Note. There is no wireless in most of the buildings. Business center is small. Pool chaise lounge chairs by pool fill quickly on nice days. Play on the golf courses can be slow.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akeptman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Immaculately maintained, high-end, deluxe accommodations, gorgeous views, and countless amenities make the Longboat Key Club & Resort a must stay Florida destination. But what sets the Longboat Key Club apart from its competition is the attentiveness of its staff. The concierges were particularly helpful, suggesting numerous activities and making a special reservation for my family at the nearby Chart House restaurant. When we arrived at the restaurant we had a VIP table reserved overlooking the bay and special menus with our names printed on them. My kids got a real kick out of the experience. My nine year old daughter also received her first spa treatment in the Longboat Key Club spa, which was clearly the highlight of her stay. In addition to golf, tennis, swimming and a beautiful sandy beach all located at the resort, the Longboat Key Club is also a very short drive away from some spectacular attractions including, Mote Marine Aquarium, the Ringling Museum of Art and fabulous dining and shopping at St. Armands Circle. My family and I had a wonderful vacation at the Longboat Key Club and I would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We spent five nights during our second stay at the Longboat Key Club. Beautiful pool and beach. The room was spacious and had a kitchen. I agree with other reviewers in that the room was a little worn. Not enough to really bother me, but it does have some worn areas- dirty grout, little spots here and there. If you are traveling with family, the kitchen is helpful, especially for a low cost breakfast. All restaurants are pretty pricey as you would expect. Our best and least priced meal was in St. Armand's Circle at the Columbia restaurant. Also, Mote Aquarium is a fun place for the kids to roam and pet the stingrays. Very close to LKC. I would definitely recommend this hotel, but would not recommend its restaurants for children. If you are looking for a gorgeous, uncrowded beach, this hotel would be a great choice.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,025 reviews
12.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
940 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Property: Resort at Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing