We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Place for Many Years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite Place for Many Years”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Longboat Key Club and had a wonderful time. We want to give a special shout out to Ron in room service. He is very friendly and has delivered our meals for over 10 years now. He always enters with a smile and remembers us from other visits. Also I want to say the beach service guy name Brad( with beard) went out of his way to help us on the beach. He even made a special trip to office to mail a postcard for me. The resort has had many changes over our 15 years of visits but it still remains one of our favorite vacation spots. We only wish there was some sort of courtesy card/points/upgrades for being such a loyal visitor.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and beach are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear PamL

Thank you very much for your very nice review. I have thanked Ronald and Brad for providing you excellent service. It is always wonderful to see our associates specifically mentioned for their service spirit. We look forward to seeing you again on your 16th visit.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    336
    154
    44
    29
See reviews for
637
503
18
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Location amazing, bartender amazing, made cleans our room while we're at the pool and confiscated all our food and alcohol, management compensated us only $30. Resort needs to be updated. Not the Marriott beds. Sofa bed was broken down hard to sleep bye

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Nancy E:

I have attempted to reach you privately a couple times through Tripadvisor to discuss your stay. The food/beverage items were not stolen, but removed from the room on checkout day as we had showed you checked out. Items of non-perishable nature were recorded with security and perishable items were disposed of. Our manager offered to reimburse you for the error and the $30 figure was arrived at based on your request and description. Sorry that you feel as you do, but I am very confident in the integrity of our housekeeping department and have seen countless items high in value turned in to lost and found. Thank you for your positive comments on the location and our bartenders. I am still willing to discuss this matter further with you at any time as we would like you to have a favorable view of the resort.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The beach is one the best we have experienced in the US. It's a private beach with beautiful water and soft sand. Drinks on the beach area are kind of slow but solid drinks and service throughout. The restaurants and food are really good.........

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MahirN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear MahirN”

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I agree that the beach is one of the top beaches anywhere. You know it is wonderful sand when you can walk on it barefoot on the hottest of days. We appreciate your kind words on our food and beverage at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to be our guest again.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Longboat key for 12 days, This hotel is situated on its own private beach has amazing views, The hotel staff can't do enough to help, Our room was nice clean probably little dated but adequate the only problem we had a adjoining room so we could hear next door, but all didnt matter due to the amazing views, The food was very nice we had breakfast cooked to perfection,We did have a problem and I have to say this has been delt with beyond my expectations just goes to show when you are dealing with profesional management who do care it does make a massive differance so I just want to say "thankyou" to all staff at Longboat key especialy Rick Benninghove for your help.

Room Tip: block 4 on floor 4 amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olya43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Olya43

Thank you for the “5” rating. It is most appreciated. I’m glad , along with the rest of our team, I was able to make an impression on you and it pleases me that you had a very successful stay. Our team understands that vacation time is very important in our lives and works hard in an attempt to deliver perfect service. Thank you again for the recognition and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just finished our stay at Longboat Key Club (for a long weekend). We would definitely go back! The rooms were spacious and the view was fantastic. Yes, the rooms are a bit dated, but quite clean and comfortable. The staff is very accommodating and a pleasure to talk with. You have to remember, this is a beach property and it is very typical of a beach property. I travel frequently and I am very particular about my accommodations and we will definitely return to Longboat Key Club. The restaurant was a typical hotel restaurant - not over the top but quite adequate with decent food. There are plenty of other restaurants nearby (St. Armand's Circle) so for those who feel the food is "fair", then you certainly have other options. Food prices are slightly higher than would be expected, but again, it is a resort. All in all, a great weekend and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were in building 3, on the 5th floor. If want a great view of the Gulf, then I would stick to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Susan T
Thank you for the “5” rating! It was our pleasure to host you for your long weekend where you enjoyed the fantastic views from your spacious suite. I would love to say hello to you on your future stay with us and to thank you in person for the very thoughtful review.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have been going to this resort annually since 1984. It offers a nice beach for my wife and 2 golf courses for me. Unfortunately the golf courses are in very poor condition and the price ($100 each) is ridiculous when compared to the many other good to great courses in the Sarasota/Bradenton area. They previously offered a disscount to resort guests, but have discontinued this since being purchased by new ownership.

Also, althought they brag of having 4 restaurnats, only 1 (an Italian fare restaurant named Portofino) is worth going to.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1 or 2 bedroom suite on a "high floor" in buuilding 2, 3 or 4 (to avoid noised f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Orrin B:
We appreciate your review and your being a guest since 1984. A considerable investment has been made to upgrade the courses and major improvements will continue over a three year period. Our goal is to create the finest golf experience.
While the particular discount you mention was not offered this year, it was replaced by several other options to gain value pricing with golf included. As of this writing, we have a “Golf Play More” package listed on our website that includes daily rounds of golf for 2 and we also currently offer a “Resort Activity Pass” which includes unlimited afternoon golf.
I've been playing golf at the Longboat Key Club for the past 8 years the courses are better now than ever. The guests I have been speaking to have been very appreciative of the work done this year and their current conditions. Next time you are coming to visit the club, I would be happy to review available golf packages with you to be sure you see all your options.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a weekend. It's supposed to be a high end hotel, but I thought the facility and rooms were pretty outdated. The location is spectacular. We saw manatees, dolphins, and lots of birds. It's nice, but I wouldn't stay there again, there are better choices out there. Plus there are lots of snobby rich people, why they choose to stay there is beyond me.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Lisa S
Thanks for reviewing us. I’m sorry you felt anything outdated as we are constantly upgrading. For example, the rooms were done within the past few years, the pool furniture is less than 2 months old, the Spa was completely redone and re-opened 2 weeks ago, the golf course has also had major renovations over the past three months and the Harborside locker rooms completely re-done over the last month. I feel the resort works hard to have an updated look while still preserving the natural beauty that is here. I never get tired of watching the manatees and dolphins swimming nearby. Again, we appreciate your point of view and thanks for taking the time to review.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Property: Resort at Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing