We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Longboat key is a gem! Resort is lovely, clean and the staff is very attentive. Close to st. Armand's circle. Plenty of restaurants on the property. The food was very good by the pool. We went to portofino a restaurant affiliated with them and the food was wonderful. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Building 7 by the lagoon is so quiet & peaceful, nice to watch the boats & wildlife. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimipapa0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Mimipapa0922
Thank you for your very concise and positive review. Happy Anniversary! We look forward to having you visit us again in the near future

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    339
    155
    43
    29
See reviews for
642
505
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The white sand beaches are incredible, and as we walked along the Gulf, we saw dolphins and stingrays just offshore. Every one on staff was eager to please- from the guys at the beach who set us up with umbrellas, to the wait staff at the restaurant on site. The food was marvelous, too!
The pool was noisy with kids, so we stayed out on the beach most of the time. Our ocean side balcony gave us a ringside seat at the spectacular lightning and thunderstorms that rolled in around 5 pm on several of the days. We thoroughly enjoyed a massage at the spa - it was money well spent! Three of us stayed in a one-bedroom suite. My daughter found the pull out couch mattress uncomfortable, but within minutes of our phone call, they delivered a roll out bed that was very comfortable, and solved that problem.
The kitchen had a full size refrigerator, cooktop, and microwave - perfect for managing drinks, snacks and popcorn with our movie! They told us they had recently upgraded the WiFi system, and though we did not have reception at the beach, we had good signal in our room and at poolside.
Mote Marine is an aquarium just down the road - we rode (free) resort bikes there and enjoyed up close views of manatees, rescued turtles and a dolphin. Also rode the bikes into St. Armand's Circle for a little shopping and some ice cream.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor of Bldg 2 had a nice view of the ocean and pool. A little noisy during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Jania M

So glad you had a “top notch” stay with us. Your experience is why we are in this business. Our goal is to provide you with the best service and accommodations and keeping our product pristine for you.

Since your recent visit, we have fully remodeled our already beautiful spa. The new spa was unveiled the last week of September and we are already receiving stellar comments about it.

We have also just replaced all the pool furnishings which are now beautiful and very colorful.

And yes, the WIFI has been recently upgraded and works very well. I have had IT verify that the beach area is also currently working very well also, so please return and feel free to “surf” at he beach.

Thank you for you positive comments concerning our associates. I appreciate the hard work they do and am proud that they took such great care of you.

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here on Business just last week and had an exceptional time! I had no time to enjoy the vacation side of the resort... pools, tennis, golf, spa etc etc etc.. But I did love my room, so close to the beach I could hear the waves gently roll onto the beach.
I understand all their rooms have a Balcony or Patio, for me this is a big deal as I like to end the days sitting outside in the peace and quite, here I was spoiled as I got to watch a wonderful sun down!
I will be back when I next hit the FL west coast and highly recommend you give this hotel a try on your next stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on about the 4th or 5th floor looking down the beach in a North West direction for be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Oliver J
Thank you for the “5” rating! So glad you enjoyed your business trip and were able to sit back and listen to the waves and sunset. Please come back for vacation when you can plan to take advantage of all the resort has to offer.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Been coming to Longboat Key Club and Resort once a year for the last 5 years. This is a great place to stay for a family or a couple. Offers one of the best beaches in Florida to relax on, and plenty to do nearbye.

Rooms-
We've always stayed in one of the 1 bedroom suite rooms. Offers small kitchen, washer/dryer, living area, and patio. The rooms are very nice, modern decor and very comfortable beds. Have stayed in the ocean view rooms, which offer amazing views of the inlet, beach, and ocean, and have also stayed in the lagoon rooms. They offer great views of the lagoon looking east. The Lagoon building 6/7 is a 5 min walk from the rest of the resort but is a bit quieter because it is a little further removed.

Service-
Overall the service at Longboat Key Club and Resort is good. Front desk staff is very good. When the resort is more crowded, you may have to wait a bit longer for service at the pool, beach, and poolside restaurant. Most of the staff is very nice and attentive, but there are a handful of folks that have a little attitude at the restaurant at the pool.

Amenities-
The pool is great. Be ready for lots of kids and for having to get there early to get a chair on peak weeks, but overall a fun place to stay. The beach is very private, hard for the public to get to so mostly just resort guests and home owners. The beach offers lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas, and is much quieter than the pool and incredibly relaxing. They have sailboats, paddle boards and kayaks for rent. The beach is great for swimming though during rougher weather not great for kids, but most of the year it is great for even little ones with calm seas on the gulf.
Tennis courts are very nice. Spa facility is pretty good, and a pretty decent fitness as well. They are all a 5 min walk from the rooms.
No wifi in the rooms, though most have wired internet available. Wifi available in the lobby and most spots near the pool, even on the beach sometimes.

Nearby-
St Armands Circle is a 5 min drive. Super easy to get to. You'll want to rent a car so you can venture there. Lots of great places to dine and shop.

Food-
The restaurants are all very good. Pool side bar is a lot of fun and the food is pretty good. Prices are pretty reasonable. Also a nicer restaurant off the lobby that often has live music at nights.

I'd recommend staying here and I will return. Great for family gatherings or large groups. Good for small kids, teenagers, and adults. For couples I'd recommend it, with the caveat that it is best outside of peak holiday weeks when resort is quieter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lagoon are quieter, away from the pool. Takes a 4 minute walk to get to pool/beach tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DenverAC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear DenverAC22

Thank you for your recent review.
It appears it may have been several months since your visit. This year, we added high speed Wireless internet through the resort. From the rooms, to the lobby, pool and beach, there is high speed wifi.

We appreciate your continued patronage of our resort and appreciate you recommending it to others.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great place to get some R&R with or without your family. Service is good with a great beach set up. Servers are very accommodating, rooms clean, staff helpful. The golf course is great and the driving range near by as well. Tennis facilities new and the staff there very nice. The restaurants on the Key are all very good, my favorite was Harry's Cafe, and they also have a gourmet take out. The Dry Dock across the street, although very busy, it's worth the wait.

Room Tip: The units outside of the hotel itself are the best. And can sleep many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kduster9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Kduster9C
Thank you for the “5” rating. Glad you enjoyed the GREAT BEACH and the service level you found while being our guest. Sounds like you really got to experience Tennis and Golf and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having stayed here before, and having reviewed at least one prior stay before, I must nevertheless write again. This place is simply superlative. That includes as of recently, i.e. this summer. First and foremost, the staff is uniformly excellent. This especially includes the front desk and management - a special thank you to Rick in that regard. All staff greet the guests warmly and seem to genuinely go out of their way to make the guests comfortable.

In reading reviews on Trip Advisor, and generally being a bit of a skeptic, I usually ignore reviews that are over-the-top glowing, or reviews which totally trash a place. I figure no place can be that good or that bad. But here I make an exception - this place is that good. The rooms (I have been in several) are modern and nicely furnished, and the facilities are overall great. Buildings 2 and 3 are best, because they are closest to the main building, i.e. pool and restaurant, but all buildings are reasonably close by. Overall, a very nice place to get away to. Superbly run. It is not inexpensive (though summer rates are a bargain in my opinion compared to other places), but you get what you pay for with this place - excellence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank factlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Factlaw:

Thank you for your stellar review. Our whole team really appreciates your review and I personally thank you for taking the time to recognize me for my small part in your successful stay at the resort.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A paradise of relaxation which makes me want to move there. The wonderful staff were always respectful & looking to make our stay as peaceful & relaxing as can be. Just sorry we had to leave & that it took me so long find out about this hidden garden. Cheers! Thank you for the memories with my family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrrrrrrrryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Rrrrrrrrryan

Thaaaaaankkkkk you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your very kind comments about our staff. I agree that we have an exceptional staff and they make it their #1 priority to attend to the guests needs. I am proud to work alongside such a wonderful team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,025 reviews
12.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
939 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Property: Resort at Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing