We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We (2 adults) stayed for 2 weeks in late March. Hotel is split into 6 blocks which bear more than a passing resemblance to multi-storey car parks (i.e. not very attractive superficially). Each contains a range of basic to 'suite' rooms - we suspect mostly privately owned and managed by the 'club'. Each offers some element of self-catering. We had a basic 'Guest Room' which includes a wet bar (small kitchen). c400 sq ft in total. Pool and beach view. We were visiting 'snowbird' friends who over winter in a condo 10 mins up the beach so didn't take advantage of this hotel's many facilities, including an attractive golf course ($40 per round including buggy hire and club rental after 1pm - great value).
The beach-side location is excellent. Pool is relatively small and quite crowded - but good loungers/cabanas on the beach. We dined in the complex on one night - average and expensive - there are far better eating opportunities nearby. Breakfast was self-catering from a Publix supermarket 3 miles up the road.
Go for location, nice room, and 'club' style facilities. Very nice overall and probably the best hotel on Longboat Key

Room Tip: As usual, higher up with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a five day getaway at Longboat Key Club & Resort. Our number one consideration was the quality of the tennis program, as our goal was to escape New Hampshire's weather and play a lot! We had only heard about Longboat Key and never spent any time in the general area, so it was all new to us. We viewed this is an alternative to staying and playing in Naples.

The tennis facility is a three mile drive from the main resort. You can drive yourself, or if you are patient, wait for transportation provided by the resort. Not expecting this, at first I was a little put out. In the end, the three mile drive was no problem at all. We had a rental car and it was easy to get to.

The tennis facility is the nicest I have ever been too where I was able to play. The quality of the twenty clay courts is superior. Everything was in good order. We had breakfast at the cafe overlooking Court 1 three days during our stay. Toni took good care of us, with the bagel and lox being my favorite start to the day. The complimentary orange juice after playing a match was a nice touch.

It was difficult to learn about options for tennis clinics, lessons, and socials online. This was a little frustrating, as we wanted to sign up in advance for a few known sessions. Once we got there, the staff was very accomodating and set us up with some excellent matches with players at comparable levels. My wife had one session where she was added to a doubles match and the other three players proved to be well below her level. This was uncomfortable for everyone. However, one experience like this in five days is certainly not a problem, but you might want to inquire about level of play if you're asked to join a doubles match. Overall, the tennis program was outstanding.

We had a beachview room in Building 3 on the fourth floor. Building 3 is adjacent to the reception area and overlooks the pool. Given a second chance, I'd opt for a higher floor, with a better view and less pool noise. The room was quite large and had a nice kitchenette. The balcony had a table with seats for four and a chaisse lounge, with a clear view to the beach and sunset. Very nice, if not top notch furnishings. The one bummer was our excitement over having an in-room washer and dryer faded when we discovered the rust stains on our tennis clothes when we actually used it!

The beach is a fifty feet from the pool and absolutely great. The resort has very comfortable cabanas. You can walk for miles. The pool is acceptable, but not memorable.

Room Tip: With ten floors in building 3, I'd opt for the higher floors to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I took my 13 year old son to Longboat Key to spend time with some classmates on spring break.
The resort is nice, the pool area is somewhat small for the size of the resort and the poolside restaurant is average. The rooms were clean and it was nice to have a kitchenette. I enjoyed the restaurant at the golf club/spa which is a short walk from the entrance of the hotel and found that the food options here were much healthier. Spa was OK with great options, however, the spa receptionist didn't seem overly friendly or pleasant. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful and it was nice to be able to grab a kayak or paddleboard and just head out a short distance to the water. I would recommend this resort to families. If you want a romantic getaway, I think there may be better options.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyandlaughter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Longboat Key Club and Resort is situated directly on the Gulf Of Mexico with a wide expanse of beach and magnificent water views. Long Boat Key is a barrier island situated just north of Sarasota and is only 20 minutes from the heart of downtown Sarasota,. You can use Sarasota Airport ( 25 minutes) or Tampa International airport ( 1 hr. 15 minutes) to travel there, The resort consists of 5 low rise condominium type buildings with 1, 2, or 3 bedrooms, all have balconies or terraces. The buildings and units are impeccably maintained with upscale furnishings and amenities. Wi fi is even available on the beach and the large pool area. There are 5 restaurants available for guests ranging from the upscale Sands Point in the hotel to pool side dining at Barefoot's. Two 18 hole golf courses and a world class tennis center cater to all guest's needs and level of play. Golf and tennis professionals are available daily to assist in instruction and clinics for adults and children. At the beach you can rent kayaks, small sailboats, and paddle boards. There is also a spa and Health and Wellness Center on the premises. Longboat Key has several great restaurants on the island and St. Armand's Circle is a mecca of dining and shopping. You can bike there or walk over the bridge - driving takes about 5 minutes ! The resort is great for couples, families, business meetings, or friends. It is one of the nicest places I can imagine to spend a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit away from the pool area,but with a water view! Make restaurant reservations before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our second trip to this great resort. We had a two bedroom suite on the third floor. Went with family and enjoyed every minute.. The condo like property have rooms with all facilities..Modern, Clean.and well managed. We ate both on and off the property as local retaurants are pretty good. Fabulous beach. Friendly staff.. Not cheap but worth the money.
St amands Circle just a short drive. Tennis and golf if you want too.
This will be our regular end of summer spot..

Room Tip: 4th floor ocean view. spectacular sun rise and set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Jack R:

Thank you for returning to our resort for a second time. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and you found the resort Modern, Clean and well managed. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good location, food and service were great! We'll be back! Very relaxing! Pleasantly surprised with how nice the whole experience turned out! The only thing we have to complain about is there wasn't any jet skis to rent. Otherwise I would recommend highly!

Room Tip: Beach view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have Stayed at LBK club resort visiting family for over 20 years. The hotel is the best opiton on Longboat and has great options of Tennis, Golf, Beach and Pool which make for a great array of activity for a family.
The resort is tired, both in physical appearance and in service. It is clean and has all the ammentities, but really needs a face lift and finishing school for a lot of the staff on service.
Again, the location is fantastic as is the setting, but there is room for improvement.
The rates are not commnensurate with the level of accomodations or service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
57 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,141 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: $292 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing