We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Do not have your wedding here!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not have your wedding here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Wedding ceremony was nice, but the staff here treated the guests poorly. There was no place for the groomsmen to get prepared, drinks never made it to the room where they were supposed to go, staff was incredibly rude and snobby to the wedding guests in the Lounge/bar area. The reception was: staff didn't crack a smile or say anything, acted Incredibly put-out. The food was cold and tasted like hospital food. This place is *not* a top-notch resort-don't be fooled.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAmanuensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    309
    139
    40
    25
See reviews for
570
443
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were here for 4 nights in early April with two of our kids, 8 and 5. We stayed in a building with a lagoon view and it was fine and not a far walk to the pool/beach and restaurants. We were on the bottom floor and did not ever hear the guests next door or above, which was nice.
The room was a little small for the price. The kitchen was nice and it was good to have a washer/dryer but they were incredibly old and very noisy. Washing powder/detergent is not provided. THe bathroom was fine and clean and there was a lot of closet space. We did enjoy sitting out on the patio and watching the water and the birds outside.

The hotel claims six restaurants but we really only ate in the main one and by the pool. The other dining options must have been further away from the resort center or by the golf and tennis area. The Publix grocery is not far at all - save some $$ by eating a lunch or two in the room. The breakfast buffet is 22$ a person but you can order a couple of things a la carte. We would head out to eat breakfast and save seats poolside on the way. We liked eating lunch and dinner on Longboat Key and can recommend Dry Dock, which you can walk to -

As others have mentioned, the pool is much too small for the amount of guests. There is chair service and towels provided but you DO have to find a chair early in the morning (like before 9). Especially if you have young children and want to be by the "shallow end" and steps. The pool is more crowded when the gulf is rougher so keep that in mind. We tended to do the pool in the morning and the beach in the afternoon. My kids were able to make friends to play with, but I will say, its more family oriented in the morning. The crowd changes later in the day and the drinkers come out after noon. We saw many parents drinking all day and ignoring their kids, and saw one mom literally pass out and heard of another. The clientelle here is NOT what you'd expect based on the price and reputation of this resort. You are not at a Kiawah, Sea Island or Sanderling type resort, in our opinion. This is most obvious by the pool and maybe its made worse by the crowding since its such a little one.
The beach is gorgeous and the water on calm days is warm and wonderful. Perfect for kids. Chairs and umbrellas are provided, but they did run out one day we were there. Bring your own pool and beach toys, or you can buy them cheaply at a beach shop at St Armonds Circle.
The kids loved the beach and the white sand and shallow water. There is chair service here but its extremely slow. The waitresses didnt go far and seemed to stick by certain groups. We really enjoyed looking for shells, there are so many and they are beautiful. We had to pick and choose what to take home!

Overall, the family had a good time, but we thought the resort was over priced and slightly over-rated. We chose it based on reading reviews here and in publications like T&L, but we were a little underwhelmed. We would stay here again if we were looking for lodging in the Sarasota area, but would not come here just to vacation at the resort, as we did for Spring Break this year. The property was recently given four stars by AAA and we agreed that they must be elated/lucky because its definitely 3 star. The rooms are too expensive and not big like a beach condo would be, so it would be hard to stay here comfortably for more than a few days. The too-small pool/rough crowd and overpriced food really were the main reasons for our "average" rating.

For Longboat Key, we can recommend dining off property at Dry Dock, at least once! Also try Crab and Fin at St Armonds Circle - the kids loved their pianist, who played several Disney songs when we dined there.

We also visited Mote Aquarium, and got in free using a reciprical membership from out of state. Go for an hour or two on a nice day and avoid the crowds, who flood the place when there's a chance of rain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollidayE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great location on the beach with amazing views. The place needs a face lift, very dated and showing numerous signs of wear and tear. Rooms were large and clean, all the bi-fold closet doors were hanging off the track, noisy air conditioners. Rotting outside light fixtures around pool and stained mats for the chairs
Room was not ready at check in, ready about an hour later. Our biggest issue was the pool area, 1 pool for 6 buildings ? Rude people by the pool who yelled across to each other taking up large areas of seats. Saw 2 kids diving in the NO Diving pool. Even with high winds we preferred the beach to the low end crowd around the pool. Never ate there. Should be better for the money.

Room Tip: Building 1 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoPeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four (kids ages 12 and 10) spent 6 days and nights. We had the big studio suite with a king bed, and pullout queen sofa. It worked out great. The bathroom area was huge and excellent storage. Surprise in addition to large fridge and kitchen was a washer and dryer, oven and dishwasher. A large blacony overlooking pool and a view of the gulf added to the enjoyment. No nickel and diming here: free towels, beach chairs and umbrellas, bike rentals, wifi, fitness center, and tennis courts. Great on site golf courses. Fantastic and reasonable tennis lessons. The entire family cannot wait to return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kwexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

I love going to the Longboat Key Club. Everything is awesome from the kayaks to the rooms. They have good tennis courts and outdoor activities. I love going to Longboat Key for vacations.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank gymnastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Staff were on the main very good but the whole place felt dated, no wifi , lots of concrete, tired rooms, sad pool, scrappy beach. Also when the room is a double and a sofa pull out, a simple divider down the middle would make it far more comfortable. Would love to know who designed the room as most of it is a corridor (supposed to be dressing room ) with cupboards and a sink, and a kitchen. The bathroom is very poor and the water pressure in the shower in just ok. My main tip is not to eat here as it feels like disney world, guests and 'members' only, and the food is poor at best, they really should take a look at what can be done by visiting dry dock grill. If they spend the money they are talking it will be great, otherwise (as with much in the area) best to look a little further north.

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The resort is absolutely breath-taking, especially the views from the suites. The beach area is well-maintained with lounge chairs, and umbrellas. The rooms are clean, and spacious. Sleeping with our patio doors open listening to the waves at night was wonderful! Our suite was about $540 per night, plus tax, plus a 24.00 resort fee. I've stayed in better places for less money. Drinks and food were also overpriced and always included 20% and tax, as you can leave the resort and find amazing food elsewhere for less.
We were married there at sunset, which was the perfect location for a wedding. The wedding coordinator, Whitney, communicated well with me the entire 8 months leading up to the wedding. She was great! We originally wanted an ocean front room, but were told we had to have a suite ( more $) in case of rain. Everything was set up...... 8 chairs for $1070.00. There were supposed to be little towels for guests feet as they came off the beach; however, those were not there. All other vendors, (flowers etc) were from outside the resort.
Our wedding pictures are amazing and you can't put a price on them!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBeach821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 48 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Property: Resort at Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing