We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not Worth the Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

I have been here 3 previous times and I thought that I would not return, but my daughter had a business trip and invited me to join her for a few days here.
Again, as I have thought in the past, the location could not be better. Lovely beach and spacious grounds. The resort suffers because of its age. For this resort to be worth the high prices, everything has to be done over. That includes the walkways, which for the most part is fairly soiled cement, the room tiles, which have dirty grout, the carpeting and upholstery, which show stains and wear, the hallways need upgrading. The pool area is crowded and there is never enough seating.
We had a lovely time because we were together, but if there was a new resort on Longboat Key, no one would come here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SophiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    309
    139
    40
    25
See reviews for
570
443
18
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband took me here as a surprise birthday weekend getaway. We drove down from Orlando and got caught in traffic so when we arrived the sun could barely be seen setting low in the sky. The weather in general that day in Orlando was sensational, and apparently it was there as well. Unfortunately, the rest of our time there was filled with fog so thick I couldn't even see the water from our room for most of one day. The day we left it was better, but overcast, dreary and windy.

Besides all of that, we would definitely come back here again. The rooms was very nice and the room we had was equipped with a full kitchen, including wine glasses, plates, pots and pans, etc. If we were staying for longer than just the weekend I could realistically see myself cooking a few meals in and having them on our extra large balcony.

Growing up we never really went to the beach, so when I do go, I love sand combing for shells. The beach is PACKED with them. I saw a large shell from a distance and thought I was racing to it before a child got to it (haha), but that child wasn't even interested in my huge shell. It was like a bunch of shell snobs were on this beach to be honest, because people were passing them up like they were nothing. Needless to say, I walked away with several large and pretty shells and also what I think everyone was more interested in- a sand dollar, my first!

The spa there is very nice, but the front lobby area of it is very very tiny and I had to wait a very long time for people in front of me to be tended to before I could check in for my appointment. I had a 90 minute massage, manicure and pedicure since there wasn't very much to do while the weather was so dreary. The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed talking to them during my mani/pedi.

We did go to the italian restaurant associated with the resort, Portofino, which was several miles down the road and the food was exceptional. I would recommend a reservation and you must be staying at the resort in order to eat there.

Looks like another visit is in order when the weather is better!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Enjoed the resort - the suite was spacious and everything about it was first call. The on-site restaurant had a very good restaurant and the poolside dining was quite nice. The beach on the gulf was pristine with fine white sand. And there is lots to do on Longboat Key from golfing to fishing and there is plenty to do in nearby Sarasota. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryCrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the longboat key club recently and had a great time.Apparantly all rooms have been renovated over the past year and our view each morning was of a white beach, framed by the light blue ,gulf of mexico.The gulf water is crystal clear and you could walk out around 30 meters and the water was still not up to my shoulders.Rooms include kitchen, washer/dryer,dish washer and flat screen tv. Read the small print when booking as there is a steep resort fee of around $50 per night.The staff were very polite and helpful and if you wanted to do something more energetic than lie on the beach there is a gym ,spa and18 holes of golf next to the hotel.There are around 20 clay tennis courts and a further 27 holes of golf a 7 minute drive away (north)by complimentary shuttle.St Armands circle is a 5 min drive away (south)featuring restaurants,shops (inc 5 ice cream shops)and offering a gateway to lido key and sarasota,the cultural capital of Florida ,allegedly.To sum up,we were talking to another guest on the beach and he said "If you dont like longboat key, you wont like heaven".Nuff said.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelongboatkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We've stayed here maybe four times since 2002. The beach is fantastic, tennis is great. We love the area, but the hotel has gotten over crowded. MOre pricey. This year we just didn't think it was worth the money any more. We also used to go because the rooms had kitchens and we had kids. Now the kids are teenagers so not as important any more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank homebody12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

LBKC has been on our our list for a long time, so maybe our expectations were too high. Reservations told us that all the rooms were newly rennovated - but that's hard to believe. Our first room (4206) needed a paint job, the bath tiling looked like it had been patched repeatedly, the safe and one phone didn't work. They moved us to 3404, which was in working order, but there was nothing newly rennovated about it. Killed a roach on the bedroom floor the second night! Won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syosset
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed at the Longboat Key Club for a business trip. The Staff was AMAZING. I checked in and the staff was extremely friendly and placed me in a beautiful club suite overlooking the ocean. The view was spectacular! Later that evening the front desk made dinner reservations and the restaurant really took care of me because I was staying at the resort. That evening I came back to the bar where I met some other guests, and enjoyed the music entertainment. The room was so comfortable and elegant that being away on business was not a chore. I had the opportunity to work out at the fitness facility and eat at several of the restaurants on the grounds. The food and hospitality was again excellent. My last day I had the opportunity to squeeze in 18 holes at the Harborside course. The BLUE nine was very challenging and fun. Since i'm back I have already reccomended to 3 other friends to book there stay at the resort and candidly, I can't wait to go back. It is a beautiful facility with the friendliest staff!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lturell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Property: Resort at Longboat Key Club
Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing