We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant motel, few amenities, but beautiful beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Silver Sands is a pleasant and reasonably priced, but "bare bones" motel with few amenities. There is no restaurant on the premises, no gym, no shops, no safe in the room. There is a miniature golf course and a pool and a lovely beachfront where I enjoyed watching the spectacular sunsets! My room was adequate, but small and not very attractive. It would have been nice to have some carpets on the bare floors. The staff is friendly and helpful - especially the lady at the front desk who helped me with my luggage. You really need a car to get anywhere, except, perhaps, to Harry's which you can walk to for a decent, if rather expensive, breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a relatively small yet very comfortable and welcoming place. It is right on Gulf, with pool, comfortable rooms, and friendly staff. As a nearby resident and long time visitor to Longboat, we went with my brother who had found this little gem. On the north end of the island, this clean and well maintained property was a great value. It would be great for families who want both a nice pool and direct access to a BEAUTIFUL beach. I know that they have 1 & 2 bedroom condos, as well as hotel style rooms. It was quiet, and very restful. It is not a full service hotel, so you either cook yourself or can go out to a number of nearby restaurants of all varieties. The only reason I did not rate the sleep comfort higher was that I got the pull out, which was uncomfortable.

Room Tip: First floor with Lanai next to pool is great for both pool and beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WUBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

At first glance this was a decent place and the location was good; however our stay began to go off course shortly after arrival.

When booking we were told of a $25 insurance fee and we were told we could refuse the fee, period no questions asked. We paid a higher price when booking and were told our room would be right at the beach and the guy even added it was the best room at the resort. We picked up our packet and keys from the late check in box (the office was closed because we arrived at 5:45 pm) and quickly noticed the number on the keys did not match the number on our paperwork. So we tried the keys on the room indicated in our paperwork however they didn't unlock the door. So we tried the room right under that, the one the keys indicated, and of course the door opened. When we stepped in we could quickly see a computer, dirty socks, blankets scattered around, and half eaten food on the kitchen counter... we had just unlocked the door to someone elses room, AWKWARD. We found some of the housekeeping staff and they were friendly and apologetic and quickly get us the keys to the room indicated in our paperwork.

So we walk upstairs to get to the room, the one we were told was the best at the resort (laughable), and get into the front door noticing you walk right into the first bedroom. So this means any sand you bring in mainly goes onto whoevers bedroom floor AND if other people in your party want to go out late, you better stay in the front door bedroom or you will wake up the people sleeping. We had to move the living room furniture so we could watch a movie, the beds weren't comfortable, and I (standing at 5'5") felt like a giant in the tiny bathrooms. This room was just not set up properly.

The room appeared to be clean however as soon as we got there we were sliding around on the sandy floor... now it is the beach so we could let that go until we moved the couch so that we could watch a movie and there was so much dirt, sand, chips, and cookies on the floor... it was disgusting.

When we went to the office the next morning to sign the papers for the bill and we noticed a $25 fee added. The woman stated, apathetically, that the fee could be refused however they would hold $250 on our credit card and the $250 would be refunded ONLY after the housekeeping crew inspected the room. So obviously this place is so petty they will scam you out of $25 even if they have to lie about it at booking. She also said nothing about the key situation but maybe our expectations of this place and staff were simply too high.

There are so many other places to stay on the key so don't waste your time or money here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lja5209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at the Silver Sands over Easter weekend. The condos look like they have been recently updated and are super-clean and overall very nice.

Highlights of this place are the location on the beach and proximity to Anna Maria Island and St. Armand's Circle.

We paid a premium for a small room given the holiday weekend but it was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Included a mini fridge and microwave, which was nice.

Our room had connecting doors to the condos directly to the left and right of us. The connecting doors would be convenient if you rented a neighboring large condo and needed extra space; however, lacked privacy as the kids next door attempted to open the connecting doors a few times and we could hear the televisions & general conversations of our neighbors.

Next time would elect for the full size condo as they are much larger and included screened in patios...more privacy.

The pool at this place is very nice. We hoped to use it more but I have to say that the constant noise volume from the kids made it tough to relax (literally all day). No fault of the hotel but definitely lots of children having a great time. Could of been related to timing around Spring Break...

Spent most of our time at the beach for peace and quiet. Really enjoyed the beach chairs and lovely beach (a highlight)!

Overall great place for families. Would recommend going for the full size condo. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, probably not the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMIBeachGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was here in Longboat Key for a wedding, the bride/groom had rooms blocked for guests. My husband and I got to the hotel around noon, hoping to check in early as the wedding was at 4pm and check-in is at 4pm. They told us the room wasn't ready and to check back at 2pm. A little after 2pm we went back, the front desk called house keeping, who said the room was ready. We started up the stairs to the room, where house keeping stopped us to tell us the room wasn't ready, they needed another 20 mins. We finally got in the room around 3pm and had to rush to shower and get to the wedding. We were not happy. On top of that, the next morning we asked if we could check out at 12noon (check-out is 11am) since the bride/groom was hosting a brunch. They told us no, so we had to pack up and depart. I am not impressed by their customer service and would not go back, nor would I recommend anyone going there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My family stayed there for a week and a half.
The staff was very friendly and efficient.
My toddlers loved the mini golf, beach and pool. I loved the spotty cell service, which meant I was only available when I wanted to be.
The suites are all privately owned and are operated by RVA. So, while the suites are similar, they are not alike. We stayed in two garden suites, which offer a bit more privacy than the poolside suites.
The suites come with well appointed kitchens, so we could choose whether or not to go out and were able to enjoy leftovers.
I do wish the garden suites had a stronger wireless network signal.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasque2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Have stayed here a few years ago and I believe the accommodation has since been upgraded. Wonderful location with a pristine beach of fine white sand on your doorstep. Pelicans and dolphins in the sea nearby and lots of other birds too. Room was very nice with a smallish kitchenette with microwave, toaster, coffee maker. No sink though and it seemed a bit strange to wash your dishes in the bathroom sink. But the beach and heated pool makes up for anything, it was lovely and quiet, most folks asleep by 10pm which is the quiet time in Longboat Key. Easy to travel to Anna Maria Island which is just as lovely although a little cheaper and also Sarisota if needs be. No hesitation in recomending a stay here on Millionaires Paradise! We wuill be back!

Room Tip: Splurge and stay here in a bigger apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDRA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.6 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
107 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
726 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#5 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
174 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#15 of 21 in Longboat Key
83 reviews
7.6 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort

Address: 5841 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1701
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range: $179 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your senses be your guide at Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort on Longboat Key. From the moment you arrive at this Gulf front condominium complex, you will be in sensory overload. The aroma of tropical flora and warm salty air surround you on Longboat Key - this bouquet of scents will have you returning to this beautiful destination again and again. Are you in need of some relaxation? Why not take a walk along our private beach and take a dip in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico. We have the most beautiful sunsets to offer here on Florida's Southwest coast - we invite you to relax in a complimentary lounge chair at the beach as the sun sets in her many array of colors.Our on-site amenities are plentiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, putting green and shuffleboard courts, private beach access, BBQ area, and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units with an assortment of views to choose from including garden, pool/Gulf front and Gulf front views. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service. We invite you to book your Silver Sands vacation and create memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing