We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great beach to bay location w/amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach Castle Resort
LucyintheSky12
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great beach to bay location w/amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

My Dad & I just returned from 1 and 1/2 months at Beach Castle Resort. We arrived just after the big freeze that killed the FLA tomato crop and stayed until 3/2/10. We have stayed in Longboat Key for 20 years+ and enjoyed our stay at Beach Castle quite a bit. First, let me say that the cold weather was not typical at all. Jan & Feb are usually pretty nice.

The pool area is somewhat sheltered on all sides by privacy shrubs (thereby diminishing wind) and there is a heated pool and hot tub on the bayside where we stayed. Both are well maintained and kept quite warm -- enough so that we were able to swim in the unseasonable weather this year, if it was sunny. Clean, enclosed bathroom facilities adjoin the pool & hot tub area.

Lissy is the onsite manager and was very friendly and accomodating. On Mondays, you'll speak to Suzanne & Shannon, so someone is always available. Our 2BDRM unit could sleep 6 if desired. It included kitchen facilities, was very well stocked with everything we needed, and pleasantly decorated. There was also a screened lanai overlooking a tropical garden. Each unit is individually owned and other units have bay views etc. Heat, A/C, etc. worked fine. Free laundry facilities, only steps away, proved to be a nice amenity -- no struggling with quarters. Shared charcoal grills are provided near the units.

A few steps across Gulf of Mexico Dr., at this narrow stretch of the island, are the gulfside units. Beach lounge chairs are provided for all the resort's guests. Anyone familiar with Longboat Key knows that it is a quiet, primo, almost private beach, on a very upscale island. Even after years of staying "gulfside", we really didn't miss anything by staying bayside. Another plus to the bay side at this resort is that there is a nice fishing dock and johnboats or kayaks available for all resort guests to use. You can rent power boats at the nearby marina if desired. You can also just sit and watch dolphins play in the bay. Beach Castle Resort is only about a half of a "city" block to The Centre Shops, where you can dine, get a massage or haircut, grab a paper, mail items, shop, or get computer access. However, Beach Castle's pool area is WiFi capable as are many of the units-- in case you want to stay "wired."

The local grocery, Harry's, is open late & is quite nearby for staples. They also host wine tastings. The Joan Durante Nature Center is only about 2 blks. away. It has ecotrails, a varied garden of roses and native plants, local wildlife, and a small playground for kids.
The island is a mix of mostly condos, private homes, mansions, and local businesses.
Publix is the large grocery store on the island about 5 min. away by car. Skip The Beach House for dining on the beach and head to Beach Cafe on Holmes Beach which is only a short drive past Cortez Rd. Much cleaner and very good food. They even stayed open just for us when we pulled into town about 8:30pm as they were closing. Nice people.


Beach Resorts location of bay/beach/commerce worked really well for us. If you just want to veg out on vacation and plan to always eat out, you probably could even do without a car. Everything you need is close and there is also a trolley that goes from Sarasota through Longboat and on into Holmes Beach. Do you really want to stay in crowded St. Armand's when you can very easily visit?

If nightlife is your thing and you do go downtown -- head to Marina Jack's on Sunday night. They have entertainment nightly, but 4:30-9pm Sunday features an incredible band called "Democracy" in the downstairs bar. The band is tight, the drinks and ALL AGE company are diverse & enjoyable, and the dancing is wild and participatory! What happens in Sarasota, stays in Sarasota!!! We met people from Belize and several other countries while there. Also while dining at Columbia House in St. Armands Circle, we asked a Canadian couple to join us for lunch. How fun! (This is one of our favorite restaurants in Sarasota. You HAVE to have the sangria +black bean soup & Cuban sandwich there -- reservations advised.) Also, food at the Sea Shack on Cortez has greatly improved. Try the lobster dinner for $19, I had it twice it was so good (and the martinis weren't bad either....) Marina Jack's has the best view of Sarasota Bay -- hands down. The upstairs has fine dining for special occasions but you can enjoy the view from their downstairs bar as well. There is a traveling exhibit of large sculptures installed along the waterfront, next to the mooring for luxurious yachts and dinner cruises. This is also the location for fireworks if you are in town on July 4.

From Beach Castle Resort, Disney is about 2 hrs, Ft Meyers 1.5hrs. Marie Selby Botanical Gardens is lovely and a short drive into Sarasota. There are flea markets, farmers markets, Amish pies, Mote Marine acquarium, fine dining and people watching everywhere. All in all, we didn't waste time grousing about the weather. There was plenty to do and the rest of the country had it much worse. I got my tan, go get yours -- at Beach Castle.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LucyintheSky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Property is 8 miles from St. Armand's Circle so if you want to be close to Sarasota this is not your best bet. However, if you enjoy Longboat Key this is at the quieter end and is only 4 miles to the small bridge over to Bradenton Beach. Also only 2 blocks from two decent restuarants (we enjoyed the Blue Dolphin for Breakfast and Lunch).

The property is comprised of condos and is divided by the Gulf of Mexico Drive. Our condo was on the second floor of the beachside building which has a total of 8 condos. Most seem to have a view of the beach. We never saw a security person but don't know that we needed one... The primary group of condos is on the bay side, along with the pool, hot tub and dock with boating options.

Our condo was newly redone but missing kitchen items and had lights out. The staff were helpful in resolving these issues. Couple of cleanliness issues indicates a greater need for detailed inspection prior to check in but overall was acceptable.

We enjoyed this more low - key resort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Beach Castle is uniquely set on a narrow section of Longboat Key, giving you access not only to the Gulf of Mexico's BEAUTIFUL waters. But, from Beach Castle you can also access the bay and do things like fish from the dock or take a kayak or canoe out into the bay. The staff is INCREDIBLY friendly. I felt super safe there anytime I went out alone.

My favorite thing was when my husband and I took the kayak out in the bay. The water is fairly shallow and the bird life was incredible. It was so fun just paddling along. We decided to brave it and go under the bridge and out into the ocean (heading back to our Beach Castle). It was a bit scary getting through the current under the bridge (you HAVE to time this right or it's dangerous). But, we took that into consideration when we headed out. As we were kayaking out in the Gulf, we could see a school of dolphins hanging out near a fishing boat. I got super excited. We continued to paddle along and then the dolphins came over near us to investigate. At one point a couple of them swam up to our kayak and then dove down under it. I was in HEAVEN!! It was awesome!

I loved our stay at the Beach Castle. It's hard to believe that there is a place so beautiful in the US. It feel like being in the Carribean. Sunrise and sunset views were icing on the cake!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virgthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

My husband and I are beach people and couldn't wait for our kids to see the ocean for the first time. When we arrived we headed straight to the beach which has soft white sand and gorgeous blue/green water. We had a beautiful second floor condo, with a great view. The porch was great for morning coffee and sunset dinners. The beach felt so private, with chairs each day right by the water where we relaxed, gathered seashells and built sand castles. The people on the beach were friendly and the staff at the resort always helpful. We visited the pool each day after our time at the beach. There are some great restaurants, places to shop and fun ice cream shops. We can't wait to return to create more memories!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troubleOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a wonderful place to get away and enjoy a week of our honeymoon. We both loved the water and beach so the idea of Longboat Key sounded like the right spot for us. I had been to Beach Castle in the past with family and always remembered the qualities about it that kept me coming back.
We weren't looking for exciting night life or large groups of people. We just wanted to get away to a place we felt was semi-secluded and offered us exactly what we were looking for.
Spent a few days visiting nearby attractions such as Marie Selby Botanical Gardens in Sarasota on the bay. Had a great time at Myakka State Park checking out the wildlife. Ringling Museum was an interesting change of pace and only minutes from downtown Sarasota.
To summarize, I'd have to say that the qualities I've found at Beach Castle have kept me coming back and provided warm and cherishable memories I'll never forget. So it doesn't matter if your on the Bay side and want to step out your door into the hot tub or pool, or perhaps take a stroll down to the dock and sit enjoying a sunrise over Sarasota Bay, or you want to stay on the Gulf side and walk down a spiral staircase to a 50 foot trail and end up on the beach, checking out some of the most beautiful sunsets you'll ever see, Beach Castle offers just what I'm looking for in a beach resort.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I went to beach castle with my boyfriend and his family. When we got there I was very excited that we were on the second floor facing the Beach! Our private beach! The sand is nice and white. There is a pool with lots of parking. Great nearby resturants of all prices. The condo we stayed in had big comftorble beds and a back porch that was screened in so that the bugs can't get to you when you are eating your breakfast, lunch or dinner out side.
Overall, I had a great experience and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

WE have been going for a number of years and keep going back. The location straddles the main road so you have access to the Gulf with a beautiful beach and from the other side,can see the lights of Sarasota across the "Bay" .It is a lowrise complex,very comfortable and easy to walk anywhere. Great pool area. Talk to Lissy for the best advice on the units available and what is happening in the area. She always has time to help. We would be happy to keep going back for years and have taken friends there in the past.Very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
6.7 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#11 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#14 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Castle Resort

Property: Beach Castle Resort
Address: 5310 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the azure blue of the Southwest Florida skies, and the turquoise Gulf of Mexico waters sits Beach Castle Resort on Longboat Key. A true beach-to-bay community, Beach Castle rests on one of the narrowest points of this prestigious island allowing the community to extend from the Gulf side to the bay side – a quality few have the privilege to carry. With various locations to choose from, including Gulf front, bay front, pool and garden views – this charming resort caters to even the most discerning traveler. Equipped with spacious one-, two-, and three-bedroom options, this 21-unit condominium resort offers a laid-back appeal. Beach Castle Resort is a classic choice with amenities that cater to an array of travelers providing the perfect vacation experience. Holding a reputation on the island as one of the top accommodation options, Beach Castle Resort exudes charm and perfection that wins the hearts of all who stay here. Many of our guests return year-after-year. Economically priced, combined with exceptional furnishings and unique amenities including private beach access and a bay front fishing or boating dock, Beach Castle offers vacationers a glimpse into reminiscent days of Old Florida charm and private getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Beach Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Castle Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing