We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time cottages...clean life in 60's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rolling Waves Cottages
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
468 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Old time cottages...clean life in 60's!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

great old florida before the interstate. My wife stayed here with her Dad in 60's and still loves it.
Went by and it is good as ever. Well kept and reasonable on water on Longboat key. Good location. Try the Lazy Lobster early for 1/2 price and great dinner.

Room Tip: cabins all good just pick size you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a taste of "Old Florida" the kind of place that reminds you of days gone by... The "cottages" are painted to match your mood, light fanciful colors that make you smile. The smile will not stop as you enter and find all you really need, no flash, just practical furnishings, comfortable not chic, ones your grandma has. The rooms are actually larger than they appear in the pictures but still they are by no measure large...just reasonable. Perfect for a couple.
All the cabins are nice, clean and decorated in a fanciful fashion. They kitchen is furnished with a mixture of the items you might need to cook up your own "catch of the day" if you decide to eat in.
Be mindful of where you are staying.... many choices for eating are a short walk/bike ride/drive away. You find almost any type of food you desire. The office has brochures from many establishments on the Island.
This grounds around this paradise are kept exceptionally clean and neat. It is hard to imagine this type of place still exists.... it truly makes you smile.

Room Tip: Cabin 7 is nearest the water, although all of them are very near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at Rolling Waves Cottages in from 04/26 through 05/6, at cottage 6. We go to Southwest Florida annually, and have previously spent time on Captiva, Sanibel, Gasparilla Island, Anna Maria, as well as another place on Longboat (Sandpiper Inn), so we have a lot of places to compare to in the same area, and Rolling Waves is really one of the nicest Old Florida places we visited. The cottages were clean, with a well equipped kitchen and a large fridge. There are grills outside each unit. It is a great getaway for couples or a trip with friends, located in a quiet, residential area of Longboat Key island, right on the beach, but a short drive from a number of quirky restaurants (Mar Vista Dockside restaurant is a really nice choice for a romantic night out) and Publix. The cottages and the overall property are well managed, clean, with nicely appointed common seating areas and a hammock. It is also easy to get to from Tampa International Airport. There are at least two bait and tackle shops within short walking or driving distance, which is great for those looking for live bait to fish. From time to time the property manager, Shelley, who was very nice and accommodating, would light up the bonfire (there is a designated area for that, with chairs around it) which really added a nice touch to the experience. The place offers a books and DVD library, TV and WIFI, with very recent movie titles available, which is thoughtful, especially since it is all included in the price of the stay. Overall a nice place to come back to, made for a very relaxing trip. The beach walks and sunsets were beautiful. We are coming back next year!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in cottages 8, 6, 4 or 2, which are all on one side and are quieter. Cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlinaR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stumbled across Rolling Waves one evening and after booking in for two nights we realized this is a "Keeper!!" We spent one week there and left wishing for a second.

Shelley, the manager, is amazing. Her dog only adds more to this personnel accommodation allowing my husband the pleasure of walking him every morning.

The location was perfect, very quiet and relaxing. The cottages are quaint , comfortable and very clean. The beach is spectacular allowing you to walk for miles. The sunsets are beautiful!!

Thanks Shelley. We had an amazing restful vacation and look forward to returning someday.

Room Tip: #8 is an ocean front cottage, loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnamg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent two wonderful weeks at Rolling Waves. These quaint cottages have been updated. The atmosphere was quiet and very private. The beachfront cottage offered a pretty view of the ocean which could be seen from the front deck. The sandy beach stretched for miles lending itself to long, peaceful walks. The cottage was clean, well-equipped and very comfortable with BBQ, WIFI and TV. Shelley, the on-site manager was helpful, pleasant and personable. She respected our privacy. A wide selection of restaurants offered delicious lunch and dinner menus. I highly recommend Rolling Waves. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: A cottage facing the ocean is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank binnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me to rolling waves for my birthday. We stayed overnight in cottage number 6. It was built in the 1940's- and there are only 5 or 6 cottages on this property. It is quaint, quiet, a great location. The beach was spectacular. The cottage was clean and had everything we could need-- including beach chairs and umbrella. The staff (jen) was super friendly and made our stay even better. Try the lazy lobster down the street, the food was so good. Also, check out St Armand for shopping. We had such a romantic and resful trip. Thank you rolling waves, hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debcla94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here! It has a quaint feel of a bungalow seaside retreat. I love that you can park right beside your cottage, no lugging bags up stairs! Laundry facility and chairs available very convenient! Love that the ocean is close to the cottages too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wefivealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
4.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
8.3 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Waves Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waves Cottages

Property: Rolling Waves Cottages
Address: 6351 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1512
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Hotel Class:3 star — Rolling Waves Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Waves is a quaint Longboat Key getaway, where cozy cottages give way to the white sands of one of Florida's most picturesque private beaches. Each cottage has a full kitchen, separate bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, AC unit, and outdoor seating area with BBQ. The beach and ocean are only steps away from your front door. We also have a large beachside fire pit, lounge chairs and laundry. Enjoy your next vacation in your own private cottage at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Rolling Waves Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Waves Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing