We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Heaven on the Gulf.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Gulf.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Never thought that this could compare to my beautiful Jersey Shore but it is simply delicious. The condos are beyond comfortable. Right in the beach surrounded by beautiful gardens. The one thing I wish is that management would prevail on the owner of my favorite condo to replace a badly stained carpet. All else is perfect but parents should insist their children behave and follow the rules

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyperson115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieMKTGdirector, Public Relations Manager at Casa del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us again, and look forward very much to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    31
    7
    11
    5
See reviews for
107
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It has to be fifteen years since we first stayed at the Casa del Mar - and we would not consider anywhere else on Long Boat Key. There is no location closer to the beach or with friendlier staff than here. Nothing is too much trouble! We are fortunate enough to be able to stay here for two months each year - and spend the other ten looking forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is our second trip to the beautiful Longboat Key area, our first stay at Casa Del Mar. What a cute little place! All buildings are beachside, with a very short walk to the beach. Chairs provided free, umbrella rentals $10/day. The staff have all been just incredibly sweet, everyone goes out of their way to make things good and right. Lovely grounds, orchid garden. Units are a tad on the small side, but too many other positives to let this be a concern. The local Publix is currently being renovated, should be wondeful when they are done. Good local dining at the Lazy Lobster and Blue Dolphin Cafe, Short drive to either Bradenton Beach or Sarasota for more stores, dining.

We can recommend this complex without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boys2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

For a short term rental of a week or two this is an ideal location on beautiful Longboat Key. We prefer a direct beach front view and a short walk to the beach directly from our patio, a quiet, friendly atmosphere and reasonably modern amenities and the Casa del Mar fulfills our expectations perfectly. Peak season is very busy so it is best to make a reservation well in advance if you want a beach front apartment. The garden apartments are similar however except for that spectacular sunset view and a lower price. One can always stroll down to the beach for the view so don't rule out a stay here if nothing on the beach front is available.

Room Tip: Every unit is slightly different and some are larger or better furnished than others so it is essent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerbillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have been going to Casa del Mar nearly every year for the past 16 years. Our kids have grown up on their beach and ask to go back every year! We love the accomodations at Casa del Mar and the grounds are beautiful! When the kids were young we rented in the C building, which is right next to the pool. We could just walk out the rear porch door and be at the pool or steps from the beach. Now that the kids are teens, we stay in the E building, right on the beach.

Every unit at Casa del Mar has two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. One bedroom has a king size bed with master bath and the other has two twins. The kitchens have everything you need to prepare meals. Many units have a delightful screened-in porch which is perfect for eating, relaxing and reading. We always choose a unit with a screened-in porch. There is enough space for the children to be independent but still be a family. We always feel very safe here.

Longboat Key is an upscale area; there are no fast food restaurants. This is a relaxing vacation with no worries except when to go to the beach or pool. The resort is about 10 minutes fromt the lively St. Armand's Circle, which has many shops and restaurants. We go there every night to eat, walk around, shop and mingle with the other tourists.

Longboat Key is ideal for families and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a screened-in porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristinewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is the third year we have stayed at this fantastic resort. Everything is first rate here from the tone set by it's brilliant manager and staff on arrival, the spacious updated rooms with everything you could need for an extended stay, to the spectacular beach front setting steps away from your door! The only one who possibly like's this place more than her parents is our 13 year old daughter. Their are two Tennis Courts in excellent condition, an orchid garden at the front of the property that is a must see ( all the plant life here is stunning and indigenous) and a lovely pool area to stretch out and cool off by. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

A glowing red sun setting into the turquoise Gulf. A white beach that feels as soft as flour. A spectacular orchid garden, and Birds of Paradise flowering outside your door. Seashells and shorebirds. Two tennis courts. A staff member who warms the barbeque for you. Watching the palm trees moving in the breeze as you float on your back in the pool. You can spend a million dollars to own a home on Longboat Key or you can live like a lottery winner at Casa del Mar.

Our family came from across Canada to get together at Casa del Mar. We rented four adjacent units in building C overlooking the pool. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were great and the facilities and amenities were outstanding. If this resort has caught your eye, and you're thinking about it, you won't have any regrets. (And for dinner out, try the Lazy Lobster of Longboat Key). We've been back home for two weeks now and haven't stopped dreaming about Casa del Mar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 67vistacruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.2 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#12 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Address: 4621 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa del Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy beach resort amenities and beautifully appointed condominium vacation homes. A lush tropical setting directly on the turquoise Gulf of Mexico. Spacious two bedroom, two bath accommodations with great kitchens and porches and patios. Extraordinary white powder sand beach. Huge heated gulf view pool. Championship tennis courts. Natural beauty, serenity and a staff that "goes the extra mile." An island favorite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa del Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing