We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & service”
Review of Chart House

Chart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Longboat Club
Transit: In front of restaurant on Gulf of Mexico Drive
Description: Located just west of Sarasota on beautiful Longboat Key, Chart House boasts a dramatic interior décor that almost outshines its stunning view of the Gulf of Mexico. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine, & it’s not hard to see why this tropical retreat is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 29 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From signature fish specialties and seafood to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi, Miso Glazed Salmon & our slow-roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines and our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake. Fabulous happy hour and patio!
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant has been one of our favorites for many years. It offers good food (steak and fish), good service, a fair salad bar, and reasonable prices.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Orrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    200
    125
    67
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good beach view dining”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed dinner here a few times. Very good food for the money. Friendly staff. We also attended business reception and all was good. The reception was a bit a crowded as it was held on the deck and the space was limited due to outside furniture.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikey019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited whilst on holiday in Longboat key. Interesting menu and gorgeous food,I had the knife and fork onion soup to start- delicious. The restaurant was very busy that evening which I understand is normal and the service was rather slow so don't go there if you are in a hurry. There is an early bird menu which is great value where you are able to sit outside and enjoy the fabulous views,
Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Go for appetizers and a drink during happy hour. Happy hour prices in the bar are excellent for this upscale restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IAGormando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Still good after all these years”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I last dined here almost 28 years ago! The Chart House is still here and is still serving dependably good cuisine. They still have a salad bar (they must be coming back in style) and the building is a throwback to the 70's (big and beautiful) with a great location on the water.

My wife and I both had fish dishes and the staff made sure that my wife got the fish that she wanted and were willing to change the rice to potatoes and moved the crab to my plate since she is allergic to shellfish.

The only disappointment was the pricing of the Lobster. They were charging $41.00 for a 7 oz tail even though the lobster is going for about $5.00 a pound at the dock. If restaurants would only smarten up and price their lobster to reflect todays costs they would sell a lot more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing