We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 101 was great for family of 4 with 2 teenagers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beach on Longboat Key
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The management and cleaning staff were great; we checked in very early and saw others check in as early as 9 a.m. It is run like a hotel with fresh towels and beds made daily, also daily coffee to brew yourself, dish and laundry soap (this unit has a washer/dryer in it; there is another on site for all to use, I think.) We left a cell phone and they called within an hour of our departure to see how we wanted to have it sent to us. It arrived promptly.

The only drawback to this place is the rooms are not set up like a home; the front door opens right into the bedroom (with a double bed; would love a queen), then comes the den and then the beautiful living room/kitchen which is right on the pool with a nice patio, looking out to the Gulf of Mexico. The middle room, they call it a den, has a sleeper sofa but you have to walk through it to get to the bedroom from the living room. The overhead fans in each room were great to keep the kids asleep when parents were up early. Two bathrooms were nice, but no storage space in them at all.

We will be back as the location, value and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NancyVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

It's right on the beach in a quiet part of Longboat Key. The sunset views from the balcony were spectacular. The property is well kept. The only drawback is that the room we had was tiny - a tiny efficiency. It would have been fine for 2. It was cramped for 3. I can't imagine 4 sharing that space. We had a queen bed which was comfortable and a sofabed which was not. Seating: one sofa and some dining chairs.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zorro98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I really wanted to love The Beach at Longboat Key, but…. It has so much going for it. It is right on the beach and every room has a direct view of the Gulf. It operates like hotel rather than a condo. It was recently totally renovated so everything is in good condition. However, all but three rooms are what they call studios and there is the problem. They elected to use Murphy style beds when they renovated. These have very thin mattresses. They also did not include the optional lighting or bedside table options that the bed company (1-800-wallbed) offers. This means that it is impossible to read in bed, there is no place to put a clock or glasses, and you have to turn off the light and walk through the dark to the bed. There are other problems with the studios. They mounted the small TV on the wall in a position where you can not watch TV from the bed, you have to sit on the couch on the other side of the room. You are probably 20 feet from a fairly small TV. Finally, each studio has a connecting door to the next unit and you can hear everything in the adjoining unit. If I had been in an actual bedroom unit I think I would have loved this place and would put it on my return list, but there are only three non-studio units. If you do go, ONLY stay if you can reserve an actual bedroom unit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed here two times for a week each time. It is located right on the beach. Full kitchen with a Publix just down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Macgyverfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Wonderful sunsets. Hotel has been updated and is very nice.Bed is a little firm. They say the room we stayed in could accomodate 4 but it would be a wee bit cramped. Your not within walking distance to restaurants or shops. But overall it is a great place to stay and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I am staying in unit 224. The furnishings are of a rather cheap quality, but at least modern. For the price of 200 a night incl. tax, I am sleeping in a murphy bed. Had to move the chairs and table to open it. I don't know how two people of regular size (I am smaller than average) manage to sleep in this "bed", let alone with some comfort. Every time I move, it bangs on the floor and makes noise.
For the price of 200 dollars a night (off season), I also participate in the life inside the units on either side, including becoming a witness to whoever is clearing their throat. Hear every car going by, because the front door is as flimsy as the doors between the units. I would not stay here again if the price was half of what it is. This was not built with paying guests in mind - why so many people pay so much for questionable quality, is a mystery to me.
There is no shade anywhere on the property, it's a pity. Cannot relax here, not at all what I would like from a beach getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank flying_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Beach in unit 227 for a week in May and several other times throughout the past two years. We love this place! We checked out the other one bedrooms and there is no comparison! Unit 227 is so spacious compared to the others. The unit itself is beautiful! It is on the second floor and has a private balcony on the side. The unit overlooks the Gulf of Mexico and there are mirrors all around this unit which gives you a view of the gulf while you are even washing dishes! The complex itself is small and quiet. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets are even more amazing. I would highly recommend The Beach to anyone especially unit 227. It is a perfect place to relax!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bergman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.7 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
57 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
8.7 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,808 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Sarasota
1,552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#13 of 21 in Longboat Key
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Unit #103 and Unit #225, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range: $187 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing