We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Small spot on the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach on Longboat Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach on Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small spot on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

It's right on the beach in a quiet part of Longboat Key. The sunset views from the balcony were spectacular. The property is well kept. The only drawback is that the room we had was tiny - a tiny efficiency. It would have been fine for 2. It was cramped for 3. I can't imagine 4 sharing that space. We had a queen bed which was comfortable and a sofabed which was not. Seating: one sofa and some dining chairs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zorro98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I really wanted to love The Beach at Longboat Key, but…. It has so much going for it. It is right on the beach and every room has a direct view of the Gulf. It operates like hotel rather than a condo. It was recently totally renovated so everything is in good condition. However, all but three rooms are what they call studios and there is the problem. They elected to use Murphy style beds when they renovated. These have very thin mattresses. They also did not include the optional lighting or bedside table options that the bed company (1-800-wallbed) offers. This means that it is impossible to read in bed, there is no place to put a clock or glasses, and you have to turn off the light and walk through the dark to the bed. There are other problems with the studios. They mounted the small TV on the wall in a position where you can not watch TV from the bed, you have to sit on the couch on the other side of the room. You are probably 20 feet from a fairly small TV. Finally, each studio has a connecting door to the next unit and you can hear everything in the adjoining unit. If I had been in an actual bedroom unit I think I would have loved this place and would put it on my return list, but there are only three non-studio units. If you do go, ONLY stay if you can reserve an actual bedroom unit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank 124C41NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed here two times for a week each time. It is located right on the beach. Full kitchen with a Publix just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Macgyverfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Wonderful sunsets. Hotel has been updated and is very nice.Bed is a little firm. They say the room we stayed in could accomodate 4 but it would be a wee bit cramped. Your not within walking distance to restaurants or shops. But overall it is a great place to stay and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I am staying in unit 224. The furnishings are of a rather cheap quality, but at least modern. For the price of 200 a night incl. tax, I am sleeping in a murphy bed. Had to move the chairs and table to open it. I don't know how two people of regular size (I am smaller than average) manage to sleep in this "bed", let alone with some comfort. Every time I move, it bangs on the floor and makes noise.
For the price of 200 dollars a night (off season), I also participate in the life inside the units on either side, including becoming a witness to whoever is clearing their throat. Hear every car going by, because the front door is as flimsy as the doors between the units. I would not stay here again if the price was half of what it is. This was not built with paying guests in mind - why so many people pay so much for questionable quality, is a mystery to me.
There is no shade anywhere on the property, it's a pity. Cannot relax here, not at all what I would like from a beach getaway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank flying_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergman123
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Beach in unit 227 for a week in May and several other times throughout the past two years. We love this place! We checked out the other one bedrooms and there is no comparison! Unit 227 is so spacious compared to the others. The unit itself is beautiful! It is on the second floor and has a private balcony on the side. The unit overlooks the Gulf of Mexico and there are mirrors all around this unit which gives you a view of the gulf while you are even washing dishes! The complex itself is small and quiet. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets are even more amazing. I would highly recommend The Beach to anyone especially unit 227. It is a perfect place to relax!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bergman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom unit. The unit was very clean and updated. The gulf front balcony was wonderful. The staff was great. The beach was uncrowded and very relaxing. We had a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunone63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
8.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
4.2 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach on Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach on Longboat Key

Property: The Beach on Longboat Key
Address: 3465 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Unit #103 and Unit #225, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2827
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach on Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blend the vibrant shades of pink and purple sunsets, with the calm turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico and you get a vacation experience of a lifetime. The Beach on Longboat Key sits Gulf front and includes all the amenities of a large resort, but without all the crowds and noise. Most of the units at this 15-unit condominium complex feature a view of the Gulf of Mexico, which perfectly compliments the modern, yet beachy décor. Located mid-island, The Beach on Longboat Key is close to Southwest Florida’s ‘Cultural Capital,’ Sarasota, and the eclectic island of Anna Maria Island. For those vacationers that like a more subdued getaway – this 12-mile stretch of beach has everything at its fingertips – from 5-star dining to paddleboard lessons, there is something for everyone.Our on-site amenities are bountiful and include a heated, Gulf front swimming pool, private beach access, BBQ area and on-site office. Choose from our various unit styles that include: studio units, hotel rooms, one- and two-bedroom units and one-bedroom plus den option. All units come equipped with a full-size kitchen or kitchenette, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and daily maid service.Whether traveling as a family, honeymooner, on business or just want a resort with the best accommodations (and views!) Longboat Key has to offer, this is the resort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach on Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach On Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing