We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Wicker Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicker Inn
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My husband and I have been annual (sometimes bi-annual) visitors of The Wicker Inn since 1998. We were instantly charmed by the cozy cottage beach feel; having the beach just footsteps away was a plus. We loved spending evenings rocking in the wicker chairs after watching a glorious sunset; dinner could be as simple as grilling a catch of the day at our cottage, or going to one of the many splendid restaurants in the area. The owners have always made us feel comfortable, and we were treated like family. I returned again this April, after my husband's sudden passing; it was a wonderful way to remember so many of the memories we had made there; I will be there again in March for two weeks, and know I will not be disappointed. If you're looking for four-star luxury, then stay at the Ritz-Carlton; The Wicker Inn is cozy, comfortable, and just like being at home, all in a fabulous beach setting.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lovelbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Wicker Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2008

We spent a week in June at the Wicker Inn in Longboat Key. As mentioned in prior reviews, the owners plan to demolish the inn and build condos in its place. At the time of our visit, none of the condos had been sold and the inn is still taking reservations into 2009. I was concerned that since there are demolition plans, the inn might not be in good condition. However, I found the inn to be in great condition and the owners are taking good care of the property. The actual property is prettier than the pictures on the website.

The property grounds are so charming, beautiful, and almost immaculate, especially for a property on the beach. I was really surprised that the pool and common areas didn’t have sand and beach debris given the proximity to the beach and people coming straight from the beach to the pool. The pool area was very nice. It was never crowded and it was very pleasant to not have to compete for chairs and shade like we’ve had to do at bigger resorts. The inn provided pool toys, floaties, and beach towels.

We had a suite facing the pool. It consisted of a bedroom, sitting room with kitchenette, and a small bathroom. There was just enough room for 2 adults and a child. The furnishings were ok- beach motel décor. The kitchenette came fully stocked with plates, utensils, dishwashing liquid and powder for the dishwasher, paper towels, etc. There is an extra charge for housekeeping so unless you want to pay it, expect to do some light cleaning while there. Overall, the room was adequate. But then again, we didn’t go to spend time in a room. The property grounds, the beach, and Longboat Key itself were so stunning that we spent as much time outside as we could. The room was fine for the limited purpose of sleeping, bathing and the occasional meal.

The beach was amazing. The inn is directly on the beach. It was very convenient to be able to go back to the room for snacks, drinks, etc. It felt like we were on a private beach. It was never crowded and the inn has plenty of beach chairs. Each room came with a beach umbrella and the inn even provided beach toys for the kids. We’ve been to beaches all over the world and Longboat Key beach is one of the best we’ve ever seen. The ocean water temperature was perfect- it was warm enough to swim at almost anytime of the day or evening. There were shells and sand dollars everywhere. The waves were gentle enough that small kids could go into the water. It’s shallow water for a few hundred feet so you don’t have to worry about deep water close to shore. The beachfront is also not overdeveloped with condos and houses. It has more of a quaint beach town atmosphere as opposed to the crowded tourist and condo filled beaches of Miami.

I thought the Wicker Inn was a good value considering they provided almost everything we needed for a beach vacation. They provided so much- the beach toys, towels, a laundry room, etc.- that we didn’t have to bring much with us. It’s also in a great location- close to many good restaurants. Most nights we biked or walked to dinner. Most small children will love it there- we had a hard time getting our four year old to leave the beach and pool. We would definitely stay at the Wicker Inn again. If you are looking for a relaxing beach vacation in a town with charm, character and uncrowded beaches, then you’ll enjoy Longboat Key and the Wicker Inn

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank krmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Just got back from our 10th say at Wicker Inn, and still lovely. As others have said, they are still taking reservations into 2009 since none of the luxury condos have been sold. We did get moved out of our usual Orchid unit, as they are now using that as a sales office. Never did see a single visitor to that office though. Maintenance is still up to par, with just a few minor problems, such as a leaky faucet. Pool area is great, clean chairs and tables. This is the first time we have been there when all of the units have not been rented out. We were in the Sunflower, which is closest to the beach path. Wicker Inn has a great location, easy to get to Anna Maria Island as well as Armands Circle. We enjoyed the lower prices for shopping on Bridge Street in Bradenton Beach. We have reserved for next May, hopefully the demolition won't take place before then.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank lindy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

The Wicker Inn is truly as the website depicts it. My husband and I stayed with our 2 younger children (8 and 6) Nov. 30- Dec.3, 2007. I wished we had booked more days. None of us wanted to leave. We return to Florida every year and visit family. Each time we include a few intimate days just for us at the beach. We haven't been impressed enough to ever stay the same place twice. Until the Wicker Inn. Our search is over. This is it! The staff was wonderful. (Better than at some 4 star resorts.) The bungalows were very clean and comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and impeccably maintained. They overflowed with an abundance of flowers, tropical plants, palm trees and a crushed shell pathway that meandered through it all. The beach was gorgeous with breathtaking sunsets every night. It was peaceful, unspoiled. We had the smell of the salty ocean and the sound of the waves steadily breaking on the shore. We wiggled our toes in the sand and watched the sandpipers scurry to and fro. We took leisurely walks and heard the laughter of our kids as they built sandcastles. All close to our room. So it was convenient to go from the pool to the ocean to our bungalow (for food, drinks, bathroom breaks, etc.) and back again. It's also close to St. Armands Circle which is full of unique shops and a good selection of restaurants. I highly recommend The Wicker Inn to anyone wanting a true Florida beach experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iowamomof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Wicker Inn for the first time Dec 2007 for the Christmas Holiday. We had a wonderful stay. The villa was beautiful and well laid out. The grounds are well maintaned. The pool in the middle of the villas with the palm trees full of coconuts and flowering bushes makes a beautiful courtyard area. The staff was friendly and helpful with many sugestion for restaurants and things to do. We look forward to staying there again soon. Thanks for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank decvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

I had heard good things about the Wicker Inn and have to say the praise was thoroughly deserved. I also thought that the Inn couldn't possibly be as good as the website suggested but it was.
An idyllic location right on the beach of Longboat Key. Far enough to be away from the hurley burley of the city but close enough to St.Armands Circle and some really lovely restaurants.
The appartments are clean and fresh. Well laid out and excellent decor.
Loved the pool and surround. Plenty of space to while away a few hours.I thought that the courtyard effect of having the appartments laid out surrounding the pool provided an old world effect which would have graced any European resort.
Most impressive of all was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Just the right level of contact. Never intrusive but always available to assist. Always willing to recommend restaurants and places of interest.
I most certainly be heading back there next time I visit Sarasota. I am certain you would not be disappointed by your stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Swimteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.2 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
46 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
7.1 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 5 in Longboat Key
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#13 of 21 in Longboat Key
101 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#12 of 21 in Longboat Key
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Inn

Address: 5581 Gulf of Mexico Dr., Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the white sands and gentle waters of the Gulf of Mexico just steps away from your suite or cottage. Choose from ten suites or one cottage scattered around a beautiful heated pool. The one and two bedroom accommodations are fully equipped for your every vacation need. Vacation at The Wicker Inn Beach Resort for a wonderful, relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wicker Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing