We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun 'n Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun 'n Sea
Gray, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Been going for 20 years Cindy and Jim are great. Clean,comfortable, and not
over priced. Would recommend to most anyone. Plenty of restaurants close by and a grocery store a few miles away. Love this place !!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had just finishing working an 8 month contract and were booked into the Hilton next store for free with a voucher but that property needs a face lifting badly!....
therefore we looked across the parking lot and by chance walked over and met a wonderful couple from Ohio operating it.
We were given a key to have a look at one of the rooms suggested and took it for 3 days, which would be a $100.00 less that the Hilton.
Although daily linen service is self serve, all supplies are available and with on site $1.50 washers and dryers.
Don't hesitate booking here!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center but depending on your week selected can be a very tranquil experience. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elhK3965WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Longboat key is one of the nicest places I have ever been to. The sun n sea resort offers private cottages right on the beach. No streets to cross to get to the beach. Individual car ports attached to your own personal cottage. The cottages come equipped with full kitchens, wifi, foldout sofa sleepers and much more. A great place for people of all ages.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
284 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

First of all I want to say this place is not for everyone. It is nothing fancy, no pool or a lot of the other amenities people want. It is a comfortable place where you can relax, enjoy life and feel safe. This was our ninth year staying at Sun 'n Sea. We can't wait to go back each year. The cottages have everything you need to make you feel at home. They each have a full kitchen and a grill out back. If you don't want to cook there are plenty of great restaurants nearby. Cindy and Jim manage the Sun 'n Sea and are great. They make you feel at home. The beach is right there for you to enjoy. They have beach chairs and chaises and pool toys for the kids. We see many of the same people from year to year. Many have been coming for a lot more years than we have. We make our reservation from year to year. Our favorite thing to do while we are there is to watch the sunset over the Gulf. We never get tired of seeing it. We love to walk on the beach and sit on the beach and to go in the water. Most days it is so calm and is most enjoyable. We hate it when it is time to leave. Can't wait to back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MommamurphyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been staying at Sun'n Sea since 1994 and have never been disappointed. Every unit we have stayed in has been well maintained and very clean. If you are looking for a great location that is peaceful and quiet this is the place to stay. The present management is always friendly and making sure you have everything needed during your stay. Over the past several years they have improved on what has always been a perfect place to vacation. The only problem is we cannot stay longer!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Eighteen members of our family (ages 2-80) rented several cottages at Sun 'n Sea for a family gathering. It was perfect! The cottages are comfortable but not fancy; the kitchens have everything you need, grocery stores are close by and best of all, you're right on the beach. There are restaurants within a 10-15 minutes drive, and Sarasota is about 20 min away, but frankly, I never wanted to leave the grounds of Sun 'n Sea. Members of my family have been going there for 15 years. We love it. Best cottages are 1-5.

Room Tip: Best cottages are 1-5, but they're hard to get as they're often reserved in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank susanb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in a one bedroom cottage at Sun and Sea. You cannot beat the location or the setting. It is located mid island and situated right on the beach. It is peaceful, and the cottages are a good distance apart. The managers are friendly and helpful with tips for dining etc. The cottages are clean and contain all the necessary items you need on vacation. The beach has wonderful white sand and plenty of chairs of all kinds are provided. They even have a huge crate of beach toys and floatables if you need them. This is not a luxury hotel, but far better. We spent every evening on the beach with a glass of wine, watching the sun set. Had many walks on the beach, and we rented bikes and spent much time exploring too. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Longboat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longboat Key hotels
0.1 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#4 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#14 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n Sea

Property: Sun 'n Sea
Address: 4651 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2101
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sun `n Sea Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing