We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect family vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun 'n Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun 'n Sea
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Eighteen members of our family (ages 2-80) rented several cottages at Sun 'n Sea for a family gathering. It was perfect! The cottages are comfortable but not fancy; the kitchens have everything you need, grocery stores are close by and best of all, you're right on the beach. There are restaurants within a 10-15 minutes drive, and Sarasota is about 20 min away, but frankly, I never wanted to leave the grounds of Sun 'n Sea. Members of my family have been going there for 15 years. We love it. Best cottages are 1-5.

Room Tip: Best cottages are 1-5, but they're hard to get as they're often reserved in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank susanb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in a one bedroom cottage at Sun and Sea. You cannot beat the location or the setting. It is located mid island and situated right on the beach. It is peaceful, and the cottages are a good distance apart. The managers are friendly and helpful with tips for dining etc. The cottages are clean and contain all the necessary items you need on vacation. The beach has wonderful white sand and plenty of chairs of all kinds are provided. They even have a huge crate of beach toys and floatables if you need them. This is not a luxury hotel, but far better. We spent every evening on the beach with a glass of wine, watching the sun set. Had many walks on the beach, and we rented bikes and spent much time exploring too. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Longboat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was five years old in 1961, and have many kodak slides of a Florida trip with my parents. We did stay in Longboat Key. I have pictures of blue cottages right on the beach. The beach pictures look very private, we seem to be the only people around. Naturally, coming from Indiana in February, it was summer for us. Would love to see a picture of these cottages if anyone could post one. Thank you. ( I had to answer these questions or I couldn't post.)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I am a homesick native Floridian who looks forward to my annual week at Sun 'n' Sea. The friendly managers greet me by name like a long, lost friend; the 'cabins' are spotless, comfortable and equip my every need; and the location...oh my...the sparkling Gulf, white sand and spectacular sunsets toasted each night with your fellow travelers... In a state that is being over-developed with McMansions and waterfront hi-rises, it is nice to know a spot like this still exists. It feels like the REAL Florida...like my home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I am so surprised to see a negative review of this facility. My family has been staying here for the past 24 years. Each year we have added another weekend, another week or another holiday. We are thrilled to come back and see others who, like us, return again and again. We have watched each others families grow and multiply. I can't say enough about the cleanliness of the facilities and the neatness of the grounds. The managers welcome you back as if you are old friends rather then paying customers. Everything is immaculate! Thank you for a wonderful time, each time. We will be back soon to enjoy the Sun, Sea and Hospitality!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravelersOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our family routinely stays at this property every year and have have nothing but good things to say about it until today. Needed to rearrange our family reservations (change reservation names) and our room was given AWAY. We are canceling our family reservation and will NEVER return. DO NOT COME HERE!!!! Worst service I have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in Cottage number two...right on the beach. Can't beat the location. Step out from the screened porch and you're on the sand! Great spot for families. Kids can play on the beach and you can watch from the porch, or vice versa. Longboat Key itself was nice if you're looking for a quiet spot on a really nice stretch of sand. Definitely an older crowd than down on SIesta Key. The only negative is that it's next to a small Hilton hotel. No crowds, but they occassionally have a band that can play until 10 or 11 PM. Not a big deal unless you turn in early. All in all a great getaway.

Room Tip: The two cottages right on the beach are great, although there a handful just back from the beach tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longboat Key hotels
0.1 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#4 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#14 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n Sea

Property: Sun 'n Sea
Address: 4651 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2101
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sun `n Sea Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing