We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, away from the crowds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun 'n Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun 'n Sea
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great location, away from the crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in Cottage number two...right on the beach. Can't beat the location. Step out from the screened porch and you're on the sand! Great spot for families. Kids can play on the beach and you can watch from the porch, or vice versa. Longboat Key itself was nice if you're looking for a quiet spot on a really nice stretch of sand. Definitely an older crowd than down on SIesta Key. The only negative is that it's next to a small Hilton hotel. No crowds, but they occassionally have a band that can play until 10 or 11 PM. Not a big deal unless you turn in early. All in all a great getaway.

Room Tip: The two cottages right on the beach are great, although there a handful just back from the beach tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Sun 'n Sea 3 nights in February. Reminded me of when I was a kid staying with my folks. We stayed in a "motel-efficiency" unit, because the cottages were all booked. As others have said, it was nothing fancy, but we had a little kitchenette, and every unit even in the motel has it's own screened in porch with a table and chairs. We were in the unit closest to the busy road, so it was kind of noisy, but still enjoyable. A short walk past the cottages and we were directly on the ocean--which was actually warmer than where our unit was catching the breeze off the bay. We toured a couple of the cottages, which are 1 and 2 bedroom units and duplexes. All have their own full kitchen, car port and screened in porch. We'd have loved to stay in one of those. One renter said she'd been coming for 22 years and "worked her way up" to a cottage closest to the ocean. I believe all units on the property are cheaper than a room at the Hilton next door. If you are looking for "action" this might not be your type of place, but we were looking for quiet and relaxation. Lots of nearby restaurants, and the managers will do anything they can to make you happy, and give suggestions for places to eat. We'd definitely go back again and try to rent a cottage.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
293 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We love the Sun n' Sea!!! We have been going there for 7 yrs. now. It is a comfortable place on a quite beach. Each unit has a kitchen and it's own screened porch. The cottages also have a grill in the backyard.There are mostly cottages but some units in the main building are considered efficiencies. Nothing fancy but a great place to stay with a great staff! We reserve our time there from year to year and can't wait to go back this summer! We love to sit on the screened in porch in the morning and have our coffee. We walk the beach at night and watch the sunset. Great place to stay!! A real gem!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MommamurphyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We go down often and we still want the beautiful cottages on this private beach all to ourselfs. If you tell folks about how wonderful the staff is,how beautiful the quite private beach is everyone's going to be staying there. Just because all the cottages have a full kitchen and grills to cook steaks on while your watching the sunset over the gulf of mexico is no excuse.Tell them to go to one of the glitzy chain hotels and leave this one for me.. ;-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack_B_Nimble131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

as a kid our family vacationed on Longboat Key in the 50s and 60s. i thought those "old Florida" days were forever gone. BUT it's still alive, yes! at Sun and Sea! we stayed a week and didn't want to leave. the staff was fabulous, the room super clean, shuffle board lanes(remember that?) and we were just steps to the white sandy beach! we're already trying to find addtional time to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keywestcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We found Sun n Sea on our way home to Tampa, FL from Sarasota, FL. We were looking for a resort that had the old Florida charm. (No lobbies to walk through, or full parking garages and no elevator rides to get to your room). Booked a three day weekend for a family get together and were completely satisfied. We rented cottages 27 & 28, which were one of the duplex type. Great views, great beach and a great time. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FLA33549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed here one night in a twin efficiency. The decor is old, but that's part of the charm. Each room has a screened in porch and kitchen, which is very nice. The owners were very friendly and made a great recommendation for dinner. Our room was adjoining another family's room. They were very loud and the paper thin walls (and ceiling - we heard people stomping above us) were a bit of a nuisance. Also, there was no lock on our adjoining room door. When I opened the door, there appeared to be some kind of bolt I could possibly turn, but the people were in the room and I didn't want to start fiddling with their door. I didn't feel unsafe, just a little uncomfortable that I might have an unlocked door between my room (with teen daughter) and a stranger's room. If I stayed here again, I would get a cottage. They were also a little lacking in amenities. They provided soap, but no shampoo. Only wo very small bath towels in the room. Jim, the owner, was very kind and loaned me a beach towel. Also, he pointed out where we could get extra towels for the bath and soap, etc.

Pros:
charming setting
friendly owners
right on the beach
reasonable rates
kitchenettes and screened porches
free wifi
parking right next to the room
beach chairs provided (bring your own umbrella)
some beach toys also provided
lovely beach
comfortable bed
laundry facilities

Cons:
No beach towels or shampoo provided. No hairdryers.
paper thin walls in effeciencies
outdated decor (though this is part of the charm)
no pool

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PenelopeCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longboat Key hotels
0.2 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
5.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#9 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Little Gull Cottages
Little Gull Cottages
#3 of 20 in Longboat Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun 'n Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun 'n Sea

Property: Sun 'n Sea
Address: 4651 Gulf Of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2101
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Sun `n Sea Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing