We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and delicious food”

Dry Dock Waterfront Grill
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Geckos Hospitality Group - Dry Dock Waterfront Grill features casual indoor & outdoor dining overlooking Sarasota Bay. Known for having one of the freshest grouper sandwiches on Florida 's West Coast. The Dry Dock is popular with locals and visitors to Longboat. From the dockside patio,and the upstairs overlooking the view of Sarasota Bay the Dry Dock is conveniently located at the south end of Longboat Key at the Boathouse Marina.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great views and delicious food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Based on reviews of Trip Advisor, we ate dinner at the Dry Dock. This was our first trip to LBK but definitely will not be our last. Nice friendly attendant seated us by the window where we watched a few manatee playing and rolling the entire time. Our server Jeff was very attentive, friendly and gave us great meal suggestions. We ordered the appetizer grouper fingers which were delicious, fresh, very tasty. We ordered grouper and Chilean sea bass which were grilled perfectly. Lobster bisque was divine. Key lime came home in a box since we were too stuffed to finish them off. Definitely try this place if you're staying in the area. It's worth a trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank forgiven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    576
    104
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had the grouper taco's...they were yummy. Other's in the party had grouper sandwiches (both blackened and fried) and the lobster taco's. Every meal was delicious. The only thing I didn't like was that I wanted to try the blackened redfish...and they were out at lunch. (Kind of makes you wonder what happens with the supper menu items that include redfish.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CDG_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I am not prone to reviewing anything and if I did I would rarely rate anything 5 out of 5. The Dry Dock Waterfront Grill deserves to be rated 5/5. We had sea bass and blackened grouper, lobster bisque and shrimp. Everything was expertly prepared and the service was excellent. This is our third night in the Sarasota/Siesta Key area and this was the best meal so far hands down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Came to Longboat Key on vacation for a week. This is the only restaurant we ate at more than once. We were disappointed everywhere else. The staff was friendly, very attentive and able to answer questions about the menu. I had the grouper tacos (twice!). They were delicious. They even gave me the recipe for the sweet chili cilantro mayo they serve with the tacos. I tried the spicy crab and corn chowder and it was another hit. Sweet crab, smooth creamy base. I'd recommend it to anyone. My boyfriend had the lobster rolls and grouper sandwich. Both were outstanding. While eating out on the dock, We even got the chance to visit with one of the locals...a friendly manatee came by to say hi.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was highly recommended and we were not disappointed. My husband and I went there for lunch. I had the fried grouper tacos. Delicious! He had the blackened grouper sandwich. You can't go wrong with either. The patio is a great atmosphere. Will definitely go again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bextrevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Dock Waterfront Grill also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dry Dock Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing