We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice waterside restaurant”

Dry Dock Waterfront Grill
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Geckos Hospitality Group - Dry Dock Waterfront Grill features casual indoor & outdoor dining overlooking Sarasota Bay. Known for having one of the freshest grouper sandwiches on Florida 's West Coast. The Dry Dock is popular with locals and visitors to Longboat. From the dockside patio,and the upstairs overlooking the view of Sarasota Bay the Dry Dock is conveniently located at the south end of Longboat Key at the Boathouse Marina.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice waterside restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Perfect place for lunch with a beautiful view of Sarasota Bay. We sat outside to enjoy a great day but there are additional tables inside. Food was very good. Fish tacos were very yummy and all of our choices were fresh and nicely prepared. It is a bit tricky to find, but there is a small sign and you have to drive back past a boat garage towards the bay for the restaurant. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswithbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,307
    564
    102
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Something different and very enjoyable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Went there for dinner on the recommendation of a local resident. If you've done with the hustle of St Armands Circle dining, then try this place for a relaxing lunch or dinner.
You have the choice of dining either inside or on the dock itself. My wife and I chose the latter.
The menu choice was good and we had raw oysters and steaks washed down with a very nice Merlot.
You can arrive either by car or by boat.
Would certainly return there on our next trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Been a year since we visited and the place has undergone some renovations. Upstairs is much bigger now and has lost some of its charm but after a while I got used to the larger space. The food however was as food as ever, the Grouper is just superb . Service was good too. We will be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_hall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Florida at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a delightful restaurant for tourists, but also for a local. You may sit inside or below on the waters edge.
The food is simple, but good. Calm surroundings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Low key, a place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Wholesome food, pleasant staff that don't blab on an on the way it's all the rage now. Reasonable prices, easy to get to and array of seating to choose from. Good choice of liquor. Fair prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aineb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Dock Waterfront Grill also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dry Dock Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing