We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden jewel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dry Dock Waterfront Grill

Dry Dock Waterfront Grill
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Geckos Hospitality Group - Dry Dock Waterfront Grill features casual indoor & outdoor dining overlooking Sarasota Bay. Known for having one of the freshest grouper sandwiches on Florida 's West Coast. The Dry Dock is popular with locals and visitors to Longboat. From the dockside patio,and the upstairs overlooking the view of Sarasota Bay the Dry Dock is conveniently located at the south end of Longboat Key at the Boathouse Marina.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Easily missed as not seen from the road but well worth the visit. Great views from the restaurant on two looks and from the dock floor. Service was excellent as was the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrington S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,284
    552
    100
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great waterfront dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We came for lunch because of reviews we read. Best lunch ever on the island. Fish tacos were awesome. My husband loved his grouper sandwich. My son devoured his entire meal. Waitress was quick and friendly. Manager made his way to every table. The view was great. We sat outside on the edge of the dock. A girl was feeding scraps (from a charter captain cleaning fish) to a huge Tarpon. An osprey, pelican and a couple of seagulls hung out. So my son enjoyed the wild life. The patio area is covered and protected from the sun and rain, so I recommend outdoor dining. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank medix12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Hamburger And Wonderful View Of Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I enjoyed great service and one of the best hamburgers I had anywhere. The views of the bay are great and you have a choice of eating outside on the deck but I chose the upstairs where the view was great and the people were so friendly and attentive. The place can get a bit crowed and you might have to wait a few minutes to get a table but you are taken care of by great bartenders and time flies when you're having fun. Easy to get to near Lido beach and at the start of Longboat. Enjoy. Prices were decent and food quality is up there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveljounalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate here while staying on Longboat Key after reading the reviews on TA. It was bigger than I'd imagined and the wait time longer too. Others didn't seem to mind the wait but I'm afraid it was so busy we couldn't even get a seat. Eventually we did though upstairs and had a table by the window. It was beginning to get dark so the view wasn't there for long. The food was good as was the service but I don't think we'd bother again if the queue was so long. There are too many other places to try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food, wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

As the #1 rated restaurant on longboat quay, we decided to celebrate a family member's 80th birthday at the dry dock waterfront grill. We didn't book but arrived early so managed to get a table (it gets busy even midweek so book if you can!) the food was amazing and very reasonably priced ($10 for an entree, $15-20 for a main and $3 for a come with about 6 refills!). Amazing fresh seafood, especially the lobster, crab and flounder. The staff were well organised, hospitable and made the family birthday very special. Would go back if we visit again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Dock Waterfront Grill also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Longboat Key, FL
 

Been to Dry Dock Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing