We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food with a Great View”

Dry Dock Waterfront Grill
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Geckos Hospitality Group - Dry Dock Waterfront Grill features casual indoor & outdoor dining overlooking Sarasota Bay. Known for having one of the freshest grouper sandwiches on Florida 's West Coast. The Dry Dock is popular with locals and visitors to Longboat. From the dockside patio,and the upstairs overlooking the view of Sarasota Bay the Dry Dock is conveniently located at the south end of Longboat Key at the Boathouse Marina.
Midland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Food with a Great View”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We sat downstairs, outside on the deck, the food was great. Service is great also. Very enjoyable atmosphere, prices were normal. Key lime pie is very tasty. Everything on the menu looked fabulous - friendly staff. T-shirts available for purchase. Such a good dinner & being able to sit outside and enjoy the weather just can't be beat. Get directions for this place and don't miss out - we found out about it from a local who worked at the Mote Aquarium and we can't thank him enough. You know if you get a suggestion from a local, it's going to be delicioius.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,353
    586
    107
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and waterfront view”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on Monday, 11/05/12, after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The food, service, and location on the bay were all wonderful. My blackened grouper was perfectly cooked and my wife loved the grouper bruschetta over rice. It was a cool evening but we sat outside next to the water anyway. They had nice heaters to keep you warm. I do recommend his restaurant but it was a little pricey.

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Dry Dock is one of the "hidden gems" on Longboat Key. Nestled behind the BP Station at the south end of the island, it's easy to think that you're in the wrong location after turning down the access road that leads to the restaurant (which is part of a "dry dock"). However, the journey is worth it!

A warm and welcoming atmosphere awaits - either eat inside or outside on the patio, with either location offering beautiful views of Sarasota Bay.

The seafood chowder is HIGHLY recommended (you'll never want to eat the tired old "clam chowder" that you get in other establishments again!).

Staff are welcoming and service is top-notch! A "must eat" restaurant when visiting the barrier islands (and just a short drive from St. Armand's Circle!).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struthers, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Value Water Front Dining”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travel to the Sarasota area annually and this has become one of our perennial favorites for excellent value, service, food with a water front setting. Indoor and outdoor seating has a beautiful view of Sarasota Bay and although they do not accept reservations, we typically get a seating of preference in a half hour or less wait. The staff and management do an excellent job and are clearly experienced restaurateurs. My wife and I ate there on Nov 4 and the food/preparation is consistent and moderately priced compared to other locations in the area of similar ambiance. We especially like the "seafood/pasta" dishes, my personal favorite is "wild Alaskan Sockeye Salmon" which they properly prepare "medium rare" (as opposed to Bistro 17 in Hilton Head SC).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“i'll be back”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The steak & lobster were excellent - my huband and I split - lobster was the special 2 tails. Excellent service & great view- they day (early dinner) were able to enjoy the kite surfers
going by - what a sight. Would highly recommend getting there early get very busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank general001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Dock Waterfront Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dry Dock Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing