We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect beach front location and unit, especially if you have small children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect beach front location and unit, especially if you have small children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

We (young couple, 2 infants and 2 grandparents) stayed in unit 103 (beach front ground floor, closest to beach) and it was a very nice unit. It has been renovated recently, nice new tile floors, kitchen w/granite and new cabinets, both bathrooms remodeled with tile walls/ floors.
Unit has a washer/dryer, but coin operated washers/dryers available if needed.
Two large seating areas with FANTASTIC panoramic views of the ocean and beach.
Nice patio area, and close to the outside barbeque area, though it is farther from the pool.
Pool is nice-quiet, heated. Unfortunately it is not designated as a non-smoking area.
The whole place is very quite, very well kept.
Particularly nice is that they have on site office/management who were all very friendly and accommodating.
SPECTACULAR views of the sunset as you sit and eat dinner on your patio.
We would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wal1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    84
    29
    14
    15
See reviews for
227
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We've just returned today and we are already missing Sand Cay Beach Resort! We had booked our unit 212 direct through the owner & could not be more impressed! The 2BR condo with a view of the Gulf was more than we could have hoped for. It was very easy to manuever with a 4yr old & even my 19 yr old daughter was impressed!

The unit is decorated beautifully, with a european minimalistic taste. The floors throughout the main areas are beautifully glossy. The wifi & 3 hi-def TVs were a treat offering more than 200 channels! There are beach umbrellas & chairs, cooler as well as sand toys for the kids. We also saw golf clubs but made more use of the bocce ball set. The MBR has a king-sized Tempurpedic mattress that was divine!

The condo is stocked with eveything you need for a very comfortatble vacation. There are 3 different sets of china, every knife & cooking utensil imaginable. There were enough pots & pans to cook for an army twice without doing dishes. There are no clothes washers & dryers on the 2nd or 3rd floors but there is a coin laundry next to the office.

The beaches are beautiful & it only took about a minute to reach the sand from our condo near the pool. The resort even has white chaise lounge chairs for guests use on the beach.

There are grocery stores, restaurants, etc. within a very short drive from this comlex.

This was our first stay at Sand Cay & we are already looking towards planning the next here. I will gladly tell anyone more if they chose to P.M. me - this is a great place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eclectichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

If you want a condo just yards from the beach then this is your place. We stayed in condo 107. Perfect for a family with young kids, such as ours. You can open the patio doors and the kids can have a run around on the grass. The heated pool has a safety fence around it so its secure. Our condo had dish washer, washing machine tumble drier and was far larger than the photo's depict. There is also a laundry on site if you dont have washing machine in your condo A very large flat screen tv with cable helped us adults out at night when the kids were in bed. The weather wasn't great so we went to the mote aquarium (short drive), busch gardens, gwiz and the ringling museum. The staff at the reception were pleasant and welcoming and helped us out with directions etc. The only very small down side was you can hear kids running about and any washing machines from the condo upstairs also its expensive but you do pay for what you get. The beach is clean and there are plenty of chairs etc on their private section of the beach. There isn't much else to do on the island itself but it was ideal for a quiet relaxing beach break prior to our second week in orlando. Finally if you look at some of the high level monstrosity's that look onto the beach you appreciate what this place gives you as its almost a boutique unique place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dundeetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

This place is awesome! My family and extended family have a ball every year we come down. We've been coming down to Sandcay for 30 yrs now. Every year we go around late may, and stay for 17 days. The manager , Judy is VERY nice and pleasant. If u like the beach and to relax, then this is the place for u. The only gripe i have is, "Turtle Season" LOL!! Can't have any lights on near the beach. After the gorgeous sunsets, we hang out on the patio and by the pool. I just cant wait 3 months from now ill be on that fantastic beach.

Hughes Family,

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctyguy1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

While the towering high rises surrounding Sand Cay on Longboat Key are certainly impressive, I can't imagine having to take an elevator to get to the beach each morning. Grab a ground floor unit at Sand Cay and a beautiful private beach is literally just steps from your patio. Unpretentious and family friendly, we've been vacationing at Sand Cay for over 20 years.

The units are very spacious. Our preferred unit (113) can easily sleep 6-7 people, and has a washer/dryer in the condo. The second and third floor units have great balconies, many with tremendous gulf views, but the convenience of the ground floor is too great to pass up.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and I along with our 25 year-old son stayed at Sand Cay the week before Labor Day, 8/30/09 thru 9/6/09. Not many people there since this is their low season. We have stayed in several places in Siesta Key, Longboat, Bradenton and Turtle Beach and this was one of the best.

The Unit 217 was a Gulf Front with a fantastic view. We were able to watch dolphin each morning from our balcony. The unit was well equipped with beach umbrellas, cooler, games, books, etc. The great thing about Sand Cay is that they have their own beach chairs which makes it much easier when going to the beach. The unit was pretty well decorated. The bathrooms are very small but not a problem.

The landscaping was very nice as was the pool, although the temperature in the pool was more like a hot tub. Around the pool were clean bathrooms and also a very nice self-service laundry room. They also have a great outdoor grill.

We had very little interaction with the staff other than at check-in. However, there was a problem with the Dining Room light fixture in our unit. It did not work..don't know if it was simply bulbs or an electrical problem. I went to the office the first morning to see if someone could check it but, to my knowledge, I don't think anyone ever came up because the fixture never worked the entire week. We had to move lamps from bedrooms into the dining room each evening which was kind of a pain but why let something like that ruin your vacation.

I would recommend Sand Cay for a nice, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed for a week in mid August. The unit we stayed in was large enough for my family which includes a 9yo, 6yo and 1yo. Very close to the beach and our unit had beach towels and also beach toys and a cart to bring all the stuff back and forth. Staff were very pleasant and helpful at check in. On site laundry means you can pack light. The pool is a salt water pool so no chlorine issues. My only gripe with the pool is that it starts at 4ft and goes to 8.5ft. Not that kid friendly. Rip out the unused shuffleboard court and put a kiddie pool in there! The others staying there were a mix between other families from Florida, Midwesterners like us and Germans. Plenty to do in the area from St Armands to many activities along Longboat such as parasailing, fishing charters etc etc.
I would definitely rerturn to Sand Cay

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barglancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Property: Sand Cay Beach Resort
Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2129
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Cay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing