We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation - Relaxing - Spacious Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation - Relaxing - Spacious Accommodations”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Sand Cay was absolutely beautiful. The condo was spacious and perfectly furnished , extremely clean and well kept. Our patio led to shuffleboard and a heated pool. The white sandy beach was private and so relaxing. The kids enjoyed body surfing, swimming, fishing, and beach combing. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing vacation.

Tim and Kathy
Roanoke, IL

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    90
    31
    14
    18
See reviews for
238
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I have read the reviews, here is my take on Sand Cay.
We have been going to Sand Cay Unit 101 for about 7 Years in a row. Each time I must say is better than the last, the entire management team lead by Judy is the greatest!!!!

They will do anything within their sights to make youre stay the best. Trust me, Judy and her team are dedicated to your vacation and coming back is their #1 priority!

I hope Sand Cay is your place to visit, you will be 100% happy like my wife and I have been- Unit 101 has everything you need including washer and dryer in their condo.

No need to bring anything else, except - your enthusiasm for fun in the sun!
My challenge, we found 14 sand Dollars, try and beat that! :)

Glenn & Marilee

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLHOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We just returned from Sand Cay last night and I felt compelled to review. We had a wonderful time. Two adults, two kids (ages 6 and 3), we stayed in unit 204 (Gulf Front). This was our first trip to the Gulf side of Florida and we loved it. I selected Sand Cay after much review here and elsewhere, we were delighted with our choice. After driving/walking around the island I believe we really made the best decision on price for value, it's clearly one of the nicest facilities there. I can't speak for the other units but ours was just fine....a bit dated perhaps but clean and the views/sounds were perfect. The landscaping here is as nice as anywhere on the island, extremely well-kept.

We used primarily the beach, jumped in the pool a couple of times, played a little shuffleboard, and certainly the patio. We also used the community grill one night. Other guests were nice (and quiet). It's about a 20 second walk to the beach, and really made us feel that we were in the Carribean with the turquoise water and the dolphins swimming by. We were only able to stay for 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back for sure. Though I didn't interact with staff much, they were pleasant and helpful.

Note: If you're looking for a ton of kid-friendly restaurants or take-out locations, Longboat Key is not for you. Lots within a 20 minute drive but on the island itself, pretty limited. We went to the Dry Dock one night (great), the Hilton next door one night (extremely convenient, decent food), and cooked in the other nights.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BldrGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We have been going up and down the gulf coast from Gulf Shores to Naples and I can honestly say we have never enjoyed our stay as much as we did at Sand Cay. The appearence alone so well tells the story of how well management and staff are dedicated to your comfort. Price per unit is well inline with any in the area and the furnishings make you feel right at home. Needless to say wer'e looking forward to coming back next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budlyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Our stay at the Sand Cay was very relaxing and enjoyable. We had a unit on the ground floor and it was such a pleasure to walk out and look directly at the gulf. Our unit was very clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed to be able to enjoy the beach and surroundings. The abundance of lounge chairs on the beach was great. Lots of space to enjoy a meal outdoors with picnic tables and grills. There were many other nice families there too. Beachlover in Illinois

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisCubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We have been coming to the SandCay Resort for a few years now. It is right on the beach. The condos have individual owners so each one is different. Right now I am looking out my window at the beautiful blue water of the Gulf.

We had some issues with the condo we are staying in, broken blinds, no clocks or clock radios etc. These issues were resolved almost immediately. The front office staff was very helpful. The blinds were fixed, and the missing items were put in. I actually think most of the problems were due to the guests before us. The office couldn't believe the condo didn't have one clock and the blinds were obviously pulled off, a couple of them on the floor. We got an apology saying it should have been caught before we checked in but I had no problem with it as it was immediately fixed. We have had the same experience in the past. We did have a cable problem one year that lasted much of our stay but I believe it was an external problem with the cable company.

I love the fact that beach chairs are provided and there are beach umbrellas in the condos. The office also has DVD's to borrow. The landscaping and grounds have been recently updated and it looks beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Just returned from Sand Cay. This was my 2nd trip, last year during the construction. This complex is beautiful-great landscaping, new paint and awnings. Everyone in the office were very friendly and helpful. Great location with the ability to walk out your door and right onto the beach. Really appreciated the many beach chairs set up on the beach. No more lugging rusty chairs, coolers, etc. for a beach day. Free internet access was very convenient.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.1 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
17 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
949 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
1,752 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
1,527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Property: Sand Cay Beach Resort
Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2129
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Cay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing