We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beachfront paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beachfront paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was our first visit to this part of Florida. We stayed in a third floor unit, 315. The unit matched the pictures posted on the website. Updated kitchen and appliances. The condo had a florida feel.... all white, mirrors and light laminate floors. it always looked clean with our sometimes sandy feet. It was very large, impeccably clean and well-equipped for anything we might want to cook. Refrigerator was full-size side-by-side. Cooler was available for trips to beach. We had a full to partial view of the Gulf/beach. It was the perfect view for morning coffee or evening cocktails. If we wanted to get closer to the beach, it was just a quick walk down the stairs and the beach was RIGHT there, so can't complain about our view/location. Sunsets were amazing! Close proxmity to the grills and the pool. The office was quick to offer suggestions for local activities, rentals and restaurants. The ocean varied from complete calm to big waves while we were there. Lots of turtle eggs nests. One night there was a hatching release. That was incredible for our family to witness. Residents/visitors at Sand Cay were friendly and fun. While we came in July and knew it might be quite steamy, it was worth it. Condo airconditioning worked perfectly and we were kept cool when we were out of the sun. Grounds were maintained beautifully and the handyman was available if anything needed attention. Would love to visit again during regular season.

Personal recommendations: Harry's for take out gourment sandwiches, salads. Super wine selection too. On the way into town, on Cortez Rd, right before the bridge to get to the island, we stopped at Starfish Company. By far, the best fresh seafood we had all week. Calamari, peel and eat shrimp, grouper...couldn't compare to anything else we had. Very fun and casual place. Order at counter. Bayside view. If you plan to grill at the condo, I'd recommend getting your fish from the market at Starfish. I saw some fish still flopping as they fileted it, prior to putting it into the case. FRESH! Also enjoyed The Old Salty Dog just south of condos a few miles down, for a casual lunch. Mar Vista Dockside was good too. We even saw dolphins in the bay after our dinner. Date night dinner at Dry Dock Waterfront Grill.

Room Tip: If view is important, reserve a Gulf front view. I'd look at the map and look for rooms that dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OmahaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    63
    16
    11
    12
See reviews for
175
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

First stay at Sand Cay Resort in November, 2013 for a trip with friends. Step outside and walk a few feet and you are right on the beach with great weather, so relaxing!!. Unit we stayed in was clean, comfy with new furnishings and all the basic necessities for our comfort. Plenty of places to eat in various price ranges located close by or could have cooked ourselves (but why?). Close shopping area in St. Armands as well. Will be heading back this year and looking forward to another great week of relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have been coming to Longboat for 37 years & have stayed at Sand Cay since I can remember. I now bring my own children. We stayed in 114 this summer. Love the first floor units w/ the washer & dryers, short walk to pool & beach & we can watch the kids walk in & out of units from court yard/pool. While each unit is individually owned we love them all. Some more updated then others but that doesn't bother us. This had large floor tiles through out, kitchen had everything we needed, big oversized couches, master mattress has seen better days but we weren't there for granite counters & flat screen TVs. We drive 16 hours for the beauty of the pristine beach, alone time with our family, love meeting all the new people, grilling out while watching the sunset, dolphins swimming near the sand bar, plenty of beach chairs already on the beach,watching our kids look for lizards & the sea turtles hatched their eggs so we watch 2 baby turtles released into the ocean. I love Sand Cay, would & always recommend it!! Thanks for more wonderful memories! !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetsandsunrises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our second stay at Sand Cay with our young children (ages 5 and 8). We enjoyed our first visit so much that we returned a year later and stayed in the same unit. As others have noted, some units have been recently renovated and others have not. Since the units are individually owned, they vary greatly in furnishings and decor so be sure to look carefully at the pictures on the website of each unit. Our unit (306) was beautifully decorated with a coastal/beachy theme, with high-end furniture and decor. The kitchen was newly renovated with granite countertops and stainless appliances. The bathrooms, although tiny, have also been recently updated. Overall, the unit was very clean and well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, etc, as well as beach toys, beach umbrellas, etc. The location is great - right on the beach. The beach is beautiful and clean with free lounge chairs for guests' use. There is also a large bin with beach toys that you can borrow and a shower to rinse off the sand. The property has a pool but it wasn't ideal for our family because the "shallow" end was still pretty deep for our kids. Although the property is older, the grounds are nicely landscaped and well maintained. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our third floor unit had cathedral ceilings, which made it seem larger and more open/airy. Choose a...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank finchray9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I rented unit #114 from June 7-14. My experience at that unit was miserable. The bed linens were awful. They were harsh and the bed cover was thread bare. No ceiling fan in the master bedroom. Luckily we discovered a table fan and used that to get some relief. The master shower was a joke. If you have hair then don`t stay here because there is no pressure to be found with this antiquated shower head. The 2nd room had a set of twins set up so there was no access to the closet. Both beds had to be pushed together to barely access the closet. In that room you could only stand sideways to use the closet. Again no ceiling fan. The place was crawling with Palmetto bugs. I would never rent this unit again. I hope you heed my warning because I know you are spending your hard earned money for an enjoyable experience. You won`t find it there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sharynmack50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortGM2, General Manager at Sand Cay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We have tried to reach you by email and phone. Please contact me direct so that we may work out a resolution. My contact information is (941) 383-5044 ext. 23 or email me direct at manager@sandcay.net.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been visiting the Sand Cay for over 20 yrs and would not stay anywhere else on LOng Boat Key. It is midway down the key and so evenly available to whatever you decide to do. The beach is great and just a short walk, the pool is great and just a few steps, and we always play shuffleboard. Stayed in several first floor condos and each has been great. I love , love this place. Didn't make it last year because of my health but hope to return this year.

Room Tip: main floor if you like to sit outside, upper if you love a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've stayed at Sand Cay every year for several years now. It's an "old Florida" type of place that is relaxing and attractive, although it has its problems.

In February 2014 we stayed in unit 318 for the first time for three weeks and were very happy with it with one large exception (more later). The view is lovely. The unit was clean (both owner responsibilities and cleaning staff are iffy when it comes to cleanliness in these units), attractively decorated a la Florida and it was very relaxing being there. We liked the way the rooms were laid out, the appliances all worked, the kitchen was fairly well stocked, and there were no obvious repair needs. The problem we ran into was we had planned on the use of the advertised sofa bed for a few days and imagine our surprise when we opened it up for our guest and found it was broken and unusable. Our guest wound up sleeping on the floor!!! We told the office about the problem, but no one came up to help us. They did, however, guarantee that the sofa would be repaired by our next stay, and we booked another three weeks on that belief. If this problem hadn't occurred I would give the unit a "5."

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank podykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Property: Sand Cay Beach Resort
Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2129
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing