We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Sand Cay. Stayed in unit 303, AMAZING ocean views from almost every room. This unit could really stand out more if they did upgrades. It has potential. There is an elevator there with bell carts to help w/ luggage if needed. It's kind of hidden. The pool and grounds are kept very clean, the landscaping is beautiful. Had fun playing shuffle board too. The weather was perfect, thank goodness. Longboat Key is one of my favorites, very quiet and private. It reminds me of old Florida.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaSunshineChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    57
    13
    10
    12
See reviews for
157
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've been coming to the Sand Cay at least annually since 2001 ... resort has come a long way in that time and is still the best value on the beach. Appreciate the care and cleanliness of the whole property and the attentive staff. Just came back from a family reunion that was fun and relaxing ... stayed in unit 103 for the second time ... well equipped, lovely furnishings, washer/dryer, great view and just a few steps to the beautiful beach. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor convenience for young children and those who hate stairs, but upper floors have great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Best deal in Longboat! Great for families. Some condos are more updated than others, but I've never had a bad one. All units are clean, have nice kitchens, wifi. 1st floor best with kids, but if you want a view go with the second or third floor. Bring your float, anchor, cooler, and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qball312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been staying at Sand Cay since I was 18 months old, and have been going almost every year since. The customer service, cleanliness, and variety of both relaxing and fun activities is phenomenal all around. I love staying in the lower level units so we can pack light and wash our clothes, towels, etc. with the washer and dryer right in the unit. It's a quiet, beautiful setting that offers fun and sun for people of all ages. Great restaurants nearby, fantastic shopping in St. Armand's Circle, the glistening pool, and the whole time you're right on the Gulf of Mexico. Absolutely LOVE this place and cannot wait for my trip in August!

Room Tip: 1st floor units have a washer and dryer, gulf front condos are AMAZING, poolside is convenient if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first trip to the Longboat Key area and this resort was wonderful! We arrived late, but that was no problem. The front desk was kind enough to leave our keys and check-in information right outside the office. We rented unit #215 and we were more than pleased. The resort is super clean. The pool area is not super large, but it's plenty big enough for the amount of units. You are only a few steps from the beach. Our kitchen had everything we needed. There are washers and dryers there for you to use free of charge by the office. There is also an ice machine. There are free beach chairs for your use as well, just bring an umbrella. :) Loved Sand Cay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geauxlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Sand Cay Beach Resort is everything it was said to be. Condo 120 was very clean, comfortable, well equipped and directly on the beach. With a family of five it was very easy for us to vacation here without being on top of each other. The kitchen had every pot, pan and utensil you need to prepare breakfast, lunch or dinner. I felt like this was my vacation home. I would do it again in a heart beat... The beach was everything and more. No need to walk with towels, beach toys, pillows, sheets and the best thing is there is a full size washer and dryer... See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cnrparris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stay over a long weekend in June not knowing what to expect. We were pleasently surprise to find this great value - better than the Longboat Key Club condos. Service staff was excellent and accomondating. Our unit #302 had fantastic views of the gulf and sunset, I never slept better in a condo/hotel - no noise despite the many families at the resort. We had all the kitchen needs that were recently upgraded. We will be back for more relaxation in the sun !

Room Tip: Take advantage of the higher floors with direct gulf views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,986 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Property: Sand Cay Beach Resort
Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing