We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Awesome, Perfect”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here June 10, 2013 to June 15, 2013. The location is great, a few steps to the beach or to the pool. Our unit was totally remodeled, it was beautiful. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need to cook a meal. The resort was quiet, and clean. I booked the stay with Terry Lewis. She was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I couldn't wait to meet her when we got there. She was consistently helpful through out our stay. I am already planning to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylRxoberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    88
    30
    14
    16
See reviews for
231
76
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'm less than impressed... The only advantage is being in a place on the beach. The inside of our unit met our needs but not really a place that I felt was "nice". It has zero charm, coffee maker dirty w old coffee in it when we arrived, dead bugs in the bed and bird poop on windows. If you walk up from beach to the pool, you have to walk on grass, they don't have any path for it. We asked front desk about activities and they seemed to know less than I would... But offered Google! And the sand on the beach was dark had it has black grain to it, not at all what I'm used to seeing on Gulf beaches, I've been to Siesta Key a few times and the sand there is white like powdered sugar, I wouldn't have guessed that it could be so different here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Based on reviews found in Tripadvisor, my wife and I spent 3 nights at the Sand Cay Beach Resort ( May 27-29, 2013). We arrived at 3:00 PM, At the manager's office,Olivia greeted us and our apartment 316 was ready for us. We had a great view of the Gulf, the apartment was immaculate, well furnished and very comfortable. In the mornings, we had coffee on our patio and cocktails in the evening.

We decided to have our main meal at lunch time so we tried Harry's Continental Kitchen on day 2 and the Dry Dock Restaurant on day 3. Both were great restaurants, the food and service excellent.

I don't remember when we had a better get-away. Longboat Key is like going back to "Old Florida". It is clean, laid back, quiet and thoroughly enjoyable. This was a great vacation. Thank you Tripadvisor and all those people who took the time to complete their reviews.

Room Tip: Unit 316 has a great location and an excellent gulf view. Recently updated, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlherk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been vacationing in Longboat key since 1998. We used to stay at the Key Club until a friend mentioned the Sandcay. We were tired of overpriced drinks, so gave it a try. This past weekend was our 7th stay in a row. The value is hard to beat. The exterior is not much o look at as you pull up, but the units inside are fine. They are spacious and very convenient. The beach is literally a few feet away and there is a Hilton next door with a neat tiki bar and pool. It was a little more crowded this weekend than in the past (we go every Memorial and Labor Day weekends), but still not too crowded. In general this location is perfect for families ... not great if you are 20-something and looking for a party scene. My one reco ... spend time on their website as each unit is different (and some much better than others). Do your homework up front. No doubt you'll want an ocean view ... nothing like grabbing coffee on your deck in morning overlooking a beautiful ocean view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTraveler1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Everyone came away saying "Best vacation ever!" It was exactly what we were looking for - quiet, oceanfront, family oriented. The staff and the guest were friendly all of our encounters with the staff were pleasant. Members of my family went to the beach every day. I liked the pivate (somewhat) patio (shaded). We spent lots of time there also. I do wish that all the TVs had the same cable set up - the one in the 2nd bedroom didn't have cable at all. Luckily someone brought the Roku. While I like wildlife, seeing a 2 ft snake slither past my patio was startling. My daughter saw it again (or one like it) on her way to the garbage can. I only saw it once, maybe it had a room - I don't know. The snake stayed in his space and I stayed in mine. All in all we had a wonderful stay at Sandy Cay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a 3rd floor 2/2 condo Gulf front. The view was incredible, especially from the dining room, which was wall to wall windows on two side facing west and north - both water views. The living room, kitchen, and master bedroom were all a good size but the 2nd bedroom was miniscule. There were two twin beds and a small dresser and no room to move around. Perfect for two kids but unfortunately we had another couple with us and it was embarrassing that the master was so big and the 2nd bedroom was closet-sized! We also had plumbing problems with the master bath so all had to use the hall bath. OK for a family maybe but not with two couples. Management sent the maintenance guy immediately and again the next day but toilet still would not flush properly. Other than that, the location of this condo complex is right on the water and is beautifully kept. We did not use the tennis court, but the pool is beautiful and large and of course the beach was incredible! Sand Cay has tons of white plastic lounge chairs on the beach - just bring your own towel. I would definitely recommend this resort to a couple or families of 3-4.

Room Tip: The best view is from the 2nd and 3rd floor Gulf front units, although the 1st floor Gulf front unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkins39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our first stay at Sand Cay will not be our last. We made reservation for next year before we left. The condo units are well designed and the onsite management is very helpful. A complete resort with pool, tennis court, a very nice beach with lounge chairs, free high speed internet and free laundry. We were on the second level and the partially covered patio had all day sun. Unit 205 was well equipped and comfortable for 2 to 6 people with two bedrooms and two full baths as well as pull out couches. Unlike most condo resorts Sand Cay is very flexible on dates and length of stay so you can take advantage of midweek airfares as long as units are available. A good choice for couples and families. Between Publix and Harry's Deli we ate most meals in the condo, but there are good restaurants within a short drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sail2Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
8.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Property: Sand Cay Beach Resort
Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2129
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Cay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing