We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unit 103 is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Cay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unit 103 is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went on November 2012 during Thanksgiving time. It was a little chilly there. The unit 103 has a nice layout and great view. Unit is on the corner, very private and ocean front. We brought two kids and my mother in law. It was very clean beach and great for kids. This resort provides beach toys. The pool is nice and warm enough. I would recommend this resort to who wants laid back family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    64
    18
    11
    13
See reviews for
179
49
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Sand Cay in unit 306 which was a beautiful unit and decorated extremely nice.
It had a great view of the Gulf from the deck as well as the livingroom picture window. It was
a very roomy and comfortable unit that made you feel at home. The beach in front of the unit was very large with lots of lounge chairs (bring a cushon they are plastic chairs) and offered
a great sunset. Terry, the front desk mgr. was very friendly and helpful. We would like to
come back again for a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Sand Cay Beach resort unit #117 from October 20 - 27th with one other couple (no kids). This is the second year in a row we have stayed here. If you can rent this unit, you will be in for a treat as it is in a perfect location and very nicely appointed. This time of year the resort is very quit so this is a wonderful time to relax. The ocean and pool water temperature was nice, refreshing but not too cold. The ocean is 100% sand when you get past some the shells by the shore. Bring your fishing equipment as you can catch many fish wading out into the ocean. We saw a manatee and several dolphins. We also used the BBQ pits 3 different times to cook burgers, steaks and chicken which was very convenient. We used the washer and dryer a few times which was a plus. The unit had several flat screens which made it nice to watch TV in the evenings. We also used the sand chairs, beach towels cooler and umbrella provide in the room for most of the trip either on our beach or at Siesta Key Beach. The only thing to note is that the local grocery store Publix was still under construction and it was very hard to find a liquor store. We will come back again for SURE!!!!

Room Tip: Room #117 that is the closest too and faces the ocean would be my choice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilbur13Detroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited as a 3 generation family and rented 2 units. There were activities for everyone within the resort as well as much to do and see in the greater community. We had a great time! There was so much to do at the resort, and we also explored the aqarium and museums in Sarasota. The local free bus allowed various family members to do their own thing if they didn't want to join the crowd. A terrific value!

Room Tip: The grandparents stayed in a beachfront unit on the ground floor with an exquisite view. My mother w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Sand Cay during Labor Day weekend. We had two condos rented for our evergrowing family! Condo 120 was perfect for our 90+ year old grandfather as it had all the handicap amenities to meet his needs. Condo 303 had amazing views from every angle and it accomodated our 6 month baby, a 3 year old and a 5 year old and their parents perfectly. It even had a high chair and a pack n play for our convenience. We couldn't have asked for a better place to have the family all together.
Both condos had all the extras that one never thinks of, such as beach umbrellas, chairs, noodles for the pool, coolers.
Each condo is set seperately so we never felt that the resort was to crowded or congested.
Having two condos to compare, we noticed one condo could benefit from some upgrading but since each of these condos are individually owned, we understood why all weren't the same. But both offered the same "extras". I think this might become our new family vacation getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sand Cay resort was an almost perfect getaway. We stayed a week with our two teenage girls in unit 312. The condo had nearly everything we needed, including beach umbrellas (with anchor which was very handy), cooler, cart to take everything to the beach, beach towels, drying rack for wet swimsuits. Nicely furnished and comfy. There were plenty of dishes and cooking supplies. We made use daily of the patio table for breakfast. The office staff was friendly and helpful. Free washer and dryer were handy. The girls enjoyed the free paddleboards, beach toys, movies, and popcorn. The area is beautiful. We enjoyed visiting some of the other beaches close by. Siesta Key is fantastic, but for quiet relaxation, Longboat was the best.
Very few complaints:
1. Nowhere on the island to buy groceries, as Publix was closed for remodeling (not the resorts fault of course). The one in Sarasota is quite nice.
2. It made no sense that the office staff could not check the condo before our arrival to check what items were supplied already. We purchased some things on our way from the airport unnecessarily that we ended up leaving there.
3. Of things that are supplied, I think they should take the length of booking into account. We stayed 7 nights and had to buy dishwasher soap, had to wash the 2 dish towels twice. It would be nice if some very basic items such as coffee filters, salt/pepper, etc. were there.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit to Sand Cay very much, and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: 312 is very nice. In my opinion, it is not worth paying $300 extra for beachfront, as all condos her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHSsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Located mid island on LBK with beautiful beaches. If you love to sun, walk, enjoy great food options and shop - LBK / Sarasota is the perfect choice. On the beach and right next to the Hilton Hotel, location can not be better. The service is excellent and the time away is refreshing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coquina213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
6.0 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Outrigger Resort
Outrigger Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Cay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Cay Beach Resort

Property: Sand Cay Beach Resort
Address: 4725 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2129
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sand Cay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Cay Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing