We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place hidden away”

Ciao Italia Casual Italian
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place hidden away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Cozy dining room with great food. Our waitress was a bit brusque, but there was a waiter we watched who obviously knew his stuff and was a favorite of some of the regulars. My husband had a yummy pizza and I had the penne with brocollini and italian sausage. We ended with a shared cannoli and cappucino. Prices extremely reasonable and we had two additional meals from all the leftovers!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank scgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    86
    36
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“very good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is our go to spot whenever we want Italian. Carmine is in the kitchen most nights but the food does not suffer when he takes a night off. The veal dishes are superb and the pasta is always al dente. Pizza has suffered a little but we come for the dinner menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rm209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay away.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I dined here on 3/12/14. It took several attempts to get the attention of the waitstaff as they breezed by us while we stood in the doorway of the restaurant. Finally, we were seated. Our waitress was not friendly but tried to force a smile. They only have wine and beer and a limited selection at that. My wife ordered Eggplant parm and I got the spaghetti and meatballs. The eggplant was like cardboard with sauce and the spaghetti was more like spaghetti with breadcrumb balls. Terrible. The only good thing about the meal was that the beer was ice cold. We will never go back and we STILL talk about why we even bothered to stay after the way we were ignored when we walked in. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJCjr413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
218 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This has good pizza if you like it a little thicker, small was perfect for us, good sausage, nice crust, love the wine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank italian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ciao falls short of our expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We went with our friends last night to one of their favorite Italian restaurants. When they said it would be crowded, they were not exaggerating. It was indeed packed and the tables are barely an arm's length from each other. The servers can hardly navigate around the tables, and if you are sitting on the outside end of the table, don't even lean a little bit out of "your space." As a result the noise level is quite high, and you hear ALL of the surrounding conversations. My husband had the pollo putanesca, and it was nicely prepared with great flavors. I had very bland linguine in clam sauce; it had no seasoning, no garlic and no sauce, very disappointing. There were plenty of little neck clams but that could not make up for a total lack of sauce. The other two in our party were pleased with their dinners.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Italia Casual Italian also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Italia Casual Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing