We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Ciao Down”

Ciao Italia Casual Italian
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Ciao Down”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

For those of us with memories of the local Italian restaurants on Taylor Street in Chicago or one of many in Manhattan or Brooklyn, Ciao might not quite live up. But, those places from the past were probably not as good as our memories have created. So, Ciao is our own local Italian restaurant right here on Longboat Key, doing its best to match those distant memories. Properly cooked pastas do exist here and they know the meaning of "al dente". Pizzas are not quite as thin crust as this reviewer likes, but are as good as any in the area. Ambiance is quaint and service very friendly. So, for that quiet "couple's night out" or going to a neighborhood spot with friends, Ciao will do quite nicely and your wallet will shout for joy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    87
    36
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“celebrating the carbs”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

THe service was friendly and the ambience worked for an early evening meal. There was no such thing as a low GI alternative on the menu. My mom is mobility challenged so we stayed; I would have gone elsewhere if I'd been on my own. If you want good early bird prices and a pasta centric menu then you will like this place. Avoid the house wine and stick with a beer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“there will be a test”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The place was alright as far as atmosphere, staff was pleasant, sat down right away and that's The good. We ordered food for our 2 daughters calamari and bruschetta, spaghetti and meatballs for myself, the 10" Popeye pizza for my wife. The calamari was fine, the kids loved it. The Bruschetta was I don't know what to say other than they tried to put their own spin and add too much of just what doesn't belong.We were given the standard check back from our waitress and said that we were not happy with the bruschetta and she makes the fatal mistake of opening up the menu and tell us what we should have ordered.Bad manners, and no idea how important her position is representing the restaurant.Spaghetti and meatballs though not bad I want better than I make at home, the only saving grace was the Popeye pizza even though you can go anywhere else and get just as good if not better. Don't waste your time unless you bring a #2 pencil for your test.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Pizza on LBK!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Although we've eaten 'in', Ciao is our favorite place for take-out pizza. Our very favorite is the Margherita Pizza, but all of the ones we've tried have been excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SherryBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Small but efficient. Excellent Italian restaurant. Very attentive staff. |Apparently long waits in season and I definitely know why. The food was exceptional and fairly large servings as i finished mine for lunch the next day. Sufficient wine list. An outdoor patio but it was too hot in July to take advantage of that.
I have kept their to-go menu as I do plan to return

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Italia Casual Italian also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Italia Casual Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing