We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in family atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Don Giovanni

Cafe Don Giovanni
Ranked #17 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food in family atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Terrific little family run spot. Food is top shelf. Ravioli to "die for". The room is so comfortable you feel like you are in a good friends kitchen.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 44Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We dropped in to Don Giovanni very early one mid-week evening in November, so early that we were greeted and served by the owner (Emilio) himself as the waiter had not yet arrived.

Our favourite 'Italian' dish is Veal Parmigiana. While in North America (dish is virtually unknown in Italy!) it is most often served with pasta mariana, Emilio was pleased to serve it with our preferred pasta bolognese. Everything was cooked to perfection and very delicious.

We will be back to Longboat Key this fall and expect to revisit Don Giovanni on arrival.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Xring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superior Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a great surprise. Authentic Italian culinary dishes in Long Boat Key. Specials include lobster bisque, pasta and fagioli soup, eggplant parmesan. All terrific. The veal is tender and wonderful. Osso bucco falls off the bone. The veal cannelloni is as good as any cannelonni we have had in Italy or in NYC. It is the real Italian dish, not an Americanized version. PEI mussels with pasta are superior. Chef Emilio is Italy trained. The service provided by Tom and Molly is simply great. When you take a break from the seafood houses, this is the go-to place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

It's fair if you are not from places like Chicago and New York. I am from Chicago.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

After reading such glowing reviews for this restaurant on Trip Advisor, we were quite disappointed after eating there.
Ambience is not charming, just old and tacky(dirty carpeting, tacky colored lights).
Food is not very good - just ordinary food of the corner pizza place quality, and although there were hardly any people here when we received our order, it was difficult to call back the waiter for something that was missing. Wine list was poor and expensive. There are so many far better Italian restaurants in Sarasota area, why would anyone want to dine here?

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Don Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing