We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment!”
Review of Maison Blanche

Maison Blanche
Reserve with OpenTable
Maison Blanche is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $65
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4 miles from St Armond's Circle; and 6 miles downtown Sarasota
Description: Maison Blanche, or “white house” in French, embodies the ultimate in sophistication; simple yet elegant, a modern but still-classic approach to dining. Maison Blanche enjoys a reputation as THE BEST restaurant in the Sarasota area and one of the finest in the state of Florida due to the consistent high quality of food and service. Both the luxurious decor and the incredibly sumptuous menu bring your dining experience to life. Every detail of your meal is approached with the sole purpose of making your evening and the occasion truly memorable. With a menu featuring only the finest cuts of meat, the freshest seafood, poultry, game and produce, renowned chef, Jose Martinez creates meals that delight the palate from start to finish.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

After reading all the positive reviews, this appeared to be the destination! No ambiance whatsoever. Only wine served, however, when a local known patron requested a Martini, it was served. The food was ok, for the price I have had much better. I would not recommend this restaurant, nor will I return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dynamic6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    28
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ruined Mother's Day”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

After reading all the excellent reviews we booked for Mother's Day while on vacation on AMI. What happened?? This was not our experience. This was the worst meal we have ever had at this price. $300 later we were so disappointed especially since it was Mother's Day and we were treating our Mom. Room is odd. With views of a parking lot the room is curtained off all around. At first pass it feels elegant then just clostrophobic. The a la carte menu is very small and you cannot mix and match from the prix fixe ($65 three courses). After an appealing amushe bouche we got excited but it was not to last. First courses selected included foie gras and octopus. As you can see from our past reviews France has been frequently visited by our family. We know foie gras!! Portion was tiny, toasts were average and the foie gras tasted of pure acid creating a burning sensation when you ate it with spotty gelatin bits. We pointed it out to the wait staff and got the very frustrating "no one else complained." This was characteristic of the very indifferent service (when meals barely touched return to a kitchen don't you ask why?). Octopus was gritty questioning how well it had been cleaned but otherwise ok. Entrees were terrible. Scallops were gritty, again, how well were they cleaned? Sauce was to have had ginger and there was no trace and the leeks contained the hard, dark green tops that are inedible. My Mom almost choked. The suckling pig was a total disaster. I was presented with a slab of burned fat. I like nice crackling but this was hard, burned and inedible. When turned over there were three tiny squiggles of dried out hard pork. Where is the sweet, moist suckling pig I ordered? Cabbage on the plate was undercooked and could not be chewed. Vanilla jus had no trace of vanilla. Pork returned to kitchen uneaten and again, no questions asked. Wine is good but was not chilled enough. Dessert didn't improve. Grand Marnier souffles were not souffles. They were cake soaked in the liqueur (much too raw) and then a sad custard top. Souffles should fall the second you poke them!!! It was just odd eggy mush. Again, returns to kitchen, no questions. Overall a terrible experience that runined Mother's Day. Was the chef off that day? I can't explain why our meals were inedible and yet all the reviews appear outstanding. Won't return, won't recommend and will cringe when I have to pay the $300 charge on my credit card.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Thirstytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

You enter this sophisticated restaurant, decor all white with a beautiful arrangement of white orchids in the center of the room. The food is very refined and beautifully presented. Definitely FINE dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing again...”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our second visit to Maison Blanche and everything was exceptional. Martin was a wonderful server and helped with our wine selection. It was the perfect French white wine to complement our seafood dishes. I had the salmon special which was so fresh and tasty.
My husband loved the herb ravioli and sea bass. The raspberry soufflé was a highlight of our last meal and the grand marnier soufflé tonight was AMAZING. If you appreciate fine food, sophisticated ( but not stuffy ) atmosphere and attentive service, this is your place. Nothing else compares in the Sarasota area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBK552001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food good value- wine expensive- no wine by glass”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We were party of 4 and thought they should sell wine by the glass as bottles were SO expensive that we had to choose a bottle to suit all 4 ...
We would have taken 4 glasses of different wines but had to drink same wine ... We could not order a bottle each ..
It was the most expensive dinner I have ever had as a result . Suggest ordering dinner
with water as food is fine but wine is off the charts..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidh1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing